We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel with Welcoming Staff and Exceptional Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Daffodil Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF - EARLY BIRD
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Hotel with Welcoming Staff and Exceptional Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of superb, relaxing nights at the Daffodil. We have regularly visited the Lakes for many years and congratulate the Daffodil in providing a hotel that provides all our luxurious needs under just one roof. Having been lucky enough to stay in many 5 star hotels in Europe I can honestly say that this hotel ticks all the boxes. The Hotel is welcoming and the staff are only too pleased to assist in making your stay special - Just ask! The restaurant offers a menu of good quality, locally produced foods which when served is presented beautifully. In addition to this the restaurant boasts fabulous views of the lake and mountains with ample window seating to watch wildlife including Deer saunter by. Early this year we called in for Dinner as non residents which is also worth doing as the prices are very competitive. The rooms are very spacious and designed to a high standard, with a luxury choice of hot beverages and tasty treats and the bathrooms are complete with a choice of Molton Brown products. I have recommended this hotel to 'everyone' and hope you too choose to stay here one day - You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 114 - A standard superior room, which had fabulous views of the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    286
    131
    47
    24
See reviews for
111
786
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

New hotel in a great location just outside Grasmere. The hotel is spacious light and bright very modern My wife first comment was it reminded her of a type of hotel you get abroad. our room was gorgeous and spacious with a huge and comfortable bed, large bathroom and very large bath, but the storage space was inadequate, three coat hangers in a badly designed wardrobe with half the wardrobe allocated to a safe, Ironing board and Iron the room only had three draws and with a view of the air con units I would say its not a view you would pay for, didn't bother use to much because the weather was great and we was out all day. the bar and restaurant has a friendly atmosphere, breakfast was a buffet style with a good choice and a member of staff topping everything up not everybody's cup of tea, I notice some guest expected better service. The grounds of the hotel need landscaping, but because everything is so new I would expect the that is the next job. The staff are very friendly and efficient.
On reflection it is modern so therefore lacks charm, and the ground let it the exterior down, but has the potential to be a great hotel.. I would stop again but would ask for a room with a better view.

Room Tip: book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Two night stay. Hotel and grounds really nice and five minute walk to Grasmere. Grasmere is a gem of a place. Highly recommend The Potting Shed Bistro. The staff at the Daffodil so friendly and polite. The hotel is all newly furnished, the room was very spacious and the bed was enormous, very comfortable. Breakfast excellent. The Spa so relaxing. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a super newly renovated hotel in a beautiful location just outside Grasmere!
I do not live far away and have been keeping an eye on its progress throughout the renovations!
I thought to myself..one of these days I shall book a stay there when it is opened!
The whole feel of the hotel is spacious,light and bright,very modern but not over the top!
On arrival the reception ladies were very pleasant and soon had us checked in and we were soon opening the room door!gorgeous room,beautifully appointed,spacious,huge bed with fresh white linen...until we looked out of the window...ugly!ugly!ugly!views of the unattractive bins and air con units..plus the staff accommodation quarters and their windows slap right in front of us...several sitting outside smoking directly out of the window..eyes then slightly right to see boarded up windows and smashed window!!where are we??beautiful Grasmere or an inner city cheap and cheerful hotel?? I have to say we were both so disappointed!!the bathroom and shower were fab with fluffy towels and high quality bath treats...only problem there was the cleaner had forgotten to clean the toilet!which was not pleasant to see!howver reception were great and acted on that immediately!
We felt we had to draw the curtains to afford any privacy!!what a shame!the whole hotel is just perfect for a relaxing stay,spa and steam room and sauna are a delight to enjoy...the bar and restaurant are very nice with lake views and a friendly atmosphere,staff again lovely too!the eve ing meal was also very good..and breakfast super duper!with such a splendid choice,whatever ones taste!I think the whole hotel has been designed to obtain the maximum enjoyment from a stay..but the rooms overlooking the bins etc need some screening or quality voile drapes to afford those guests a far better experience of their stay..Thankyou to the family for carrying on with the project after such the sad death of their family member..I most certainly will return and stay..but please not in room 119..

Room Tip: Please ask where room is situated...best avoid room mentioned and those nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - fabulous hotel - the staff were all so polite, helpful and friendly. No hesitation in recommending this hotel - you will not be disappointed. Wonderful breakfasts - sets you up for the day ahead. Can't wait to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: room 112 was a corner room with views ofthe lake and hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Amazing hotel. Beautifully designed and completed to a high quality finish. Contemporary modern style but not minimalist. Very, very relaxing. We had a room overlooking the car park, yet the view of the hills was beautiful, I can only imagine how lovely the view must be from a lakeside room.Our standard room was very good, 7 foot bed! Beautiful bathroom. Furniture was high class. Service was friendly and very accommodating. The huge collection of art work is very amusing and invites the guest to follow the imaginary trail of wanting to see every picture to have a good giggle. The restaurant has its own style of framed retro photographs of famous people that fill the walls enticing you to identify all of them. The spa pool was fabulous, so was the steam room, so relaxing. We very seldom return to hotels as we enjoy finding different luxury getaways, however we loved it so much we have booked to go back in July. If I was to say anything bad about it, we both feel that although the english breakfast was lovely, we chose to stay for dinner the first night and were very disappointed. It was just 'ok' and unfortunately the food did not match the quality of the hotel. We had a much better meal in nearby grasmere village (10 min walk) the next night for a third of the price.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters as we had probably one of the cheaper rooms as it was a last minute off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Daffodil Hotel & Spa in Grasmere for two nights in May. If you like a modern hotel with all the amenities then this is a great place to stay. The hotel is on Lake Grasmere, across from Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum, convenient and easy short walk to village. We LOVED the thermal pool, steam room and sauna - fantastic after a day of hiking in the fells. Had a 30 min massage - ok but not great. Breakfast was delicious - we chose to eat in the village for other meals. If you like ultra modern then this hotel is a great choice but if you are looking for a more traditional, quaint Grasmere hotel the Daffodil may not be for you. It really depends on personal preference. The convenience and the spa pool definitely make up for what the hotel lacks in character and atmosphere. We had a Superior room with a valley view (also overlooked parking lot), it was spacious and comfortable. Complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies were provided in the room. The bathroom was big and modern - bath with separate walk in shower. Shampoo, shower gel, body lotion and soap provided, no conditioner. They also provide hair dryer and iron. Prior to arriving I was concerned that this hotel might be too far from main part of village but it was an easy 3-5 min walk. The service was good. There is a bus stop near the front of the hotel so it was easy to get to other areas of the Lake District.

Room Tip: Superior room with valley view was great, but we were also overlooking the parking lot (room 208). I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
8.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#5 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#4 of 12 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#5 of 12 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.