We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as i expected !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Daffodil Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF - EARLY BIRD
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as i expected !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived here late on a Monday evening, was given key to our room and went up there.
Decided to have a wash after a long drive from Midlands, My husband used the tap and these where loose and very unstable ! ! ! ! ( Room 331 ) We called reception and they sent someone up and then they moved us to another room on the floor below ( Room 230 ).
This was ok the heating on the room was not on and room was cold, we turned this on and it took a good hour for the heat to kick in. And then was quite noisy so we decided to turn it off.
We ate out that night, but decicded to eat in the restaurant the next night, Food was good but we where sat next to a window that was incredibly cold and even though i asked for heating and to move neither happened !!!!!!
Breakfast was ok, not amazing, standard buffet and luke warm.
This was a hotel that i had followed from the start of the rebuild, and was very excited to be staying here, but sadly did not live up to way that i truly had hoped it would.
Rooms where cold and this made it rather uncomfortable.
Too much like a conference hotel and not enough on making people feel special on a occasion that they where aware of ! ! ! ! All seemed to money orientated !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    211
    90
    31
    18
See reviews for
82
588
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

went to this hotel for a 2 day weekend break. upgraded to a superior room. the view was fantastic over the lake, juliet balcony, beautiful mountains all around whichever way you look. Room was spotless and massive bed which was so comfortable. bathroom was great, really fab shower and bath big enough for two.Resturant food was gorgeous as was breakfast. Good bar with extensive wine list and reasonable bottles of bubbly. Walk into Grasmere took 5-10mins along a lovely quiet road. Nightime in Grasmere quiet but good, Live music in Tweedys bar on sat night. Spa was wonderful place to chill after day of walking and prices werent too bad for treatments, try the mud rasul for two.

Room Tip: upgrade if you like a little balcony with a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early October. Hotel is modern with great rooms, super bathrooms. The terrace bar has lovely views & is a real suntrap. Food was good, reasonable choice for breakfast. We received an upgrade to a fell view room, which was very thoughtful. The spa is lovely. Large car park which is great. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends & hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sounds like we got the same or similar room as Simon G!!! I had a KGB deal and an email confirming that I had a lake view room as requested at a charge of £100 extra for the 2 nights. Normally, wouldn't splash out this much but thought it would be worth it. I'm only writing this review as my experience is the same in that I argued that a lake view should be just that, not a partial lake view with the main road at the side. Duty manager then proceeded to show us the alternative room which was much larger but over the air con venting system!!! Naturally we decided to stay with original.
It turned out that my debit card details were not taken for the upgrade charge - mistake on part of admin. So in the end we weren't charged any extra. We were offered the chance of a lake view room for the second night with the extra charge but it wasn't worth it.

Just highlighting this for the hotel staff to clarify what the lake view in this part of the hotel, as Simon G also suggested. If you know what to expect then you should have less chance of being disappointed.

The hotel has had a massive financial investment and the decor and furnishings will not be to everyone's taste. I personally liked it but at this time of year when it is quieter, you are bound not to get the ambiance or atmosphere. Also, Rome wasn't conquered in a day so possibly when the little touches have been added, it might have more of a feel to it.

I loved the quirky and humorous paintings in the corridors.
The rooms were very comfortable and the bed was massive.
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good - and we didn't experience the chaos of the previous morning.

We didn't use the spa or eat in in the evenings. We wanted to eat locally then finish off in one of the pubs!

We would return one day at the right price as it is a lovely hotel and we wish them all the best for success in the future.

Hope this helps!!!

Room Tip: Clarify which part of hotel your room is in. Higher rooms best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I spent a few days here with my wife and children. It was really nice hotel in a very clean and quiet environment with some particularly beautiful views over the lake. We stayed in one of the suites (201) and therefore it was very spacious. It was well equipped with two high-spec televisions and I was particularly impressed with the fact that there were HD connections built into the walls allowing access via computer or Apple TV had we thought to bring them. There was free Internet access throughout the hotel and a good mobile signal. The bathroom was lovely and our bed was huge.

The children had a sofa bed arrangement on the other side of the suite, which was perfectly adequate and was separated by sliding doors. As they are 2 and 4, they particularly loved the toy story artwork and other marvel comic style art in the room. Their room had a wonderful view over the lake at the back of the building, which also overlooked a courtyard area, where there were tables and chairs arranged for the guests to enjoy the lake and wonderful views as the sun goes down of an evening.

Finally I would comment on the restaurant and breakfast experience, which were both great. Despite my children being somewhat noisy in what was a very lovely atmosphere, the staff were wonderful. One of the waitresses took a liking to my children and really made the evening lovely for us all by not only playfully entertaining the children, but also allowing my wife and I to eat whilst the children were somewhat distracted promises of with ice cream If they were good boys...

All in all I would say that we had a great time and I would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: The suite 201 that we stayed in at the back of the building just had a lovely vantage point overal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Myself and my friend recently stayed at The Daffodil Hotel for two nights (25th/6th Oct) as part of a KGB deal and really enjoyed the experience. Check-in was straight-forward and easy. When we reached our (rather lovely) room and realised we would be sharing a double bed we thought we'd ask, on the off chance, if we could have a twin room. They immediately sorted this out for us. The second room was just as nice, thankfully. The spa was lovely and very relaxing. Just what we were looking for as a pre-birthday treat! We ate in hotel restaurant on one evening. Again we found the staff very polite and accommodating. The food was lovely too! The hotel is in a lovely setting and I can see it doing well as a wedding venue. Grasmere village itself is only a short 5 minute walk from the hotel.
Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff, which is refreshing as often when using a "deal' based offer you can be treated as as second class punter. Overall, we had a very, very nice time there and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent a week and a half in th lakes district in October, 2012 and this place is the best that we stayed in. At 6' 5" with a bit of a back problem, I found almost every bed during our stay to be too small (standard double) or too soft to sleep comfortably. The Daffodil Hotel has modern rooms that are beautifully appointed with the all important large, comfortable bed!

The staff are courteous and accomodating. I wish we had found this hotel earlier in our trip. It would have been our "home base" for exploring the area.

Room Tip: There are three views - lake, mountains and highway. We enjoyed a corner room with a view of both t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.