We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Daffodil Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF - EARLY BIRD
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights, Friday & Saturday. This is a beautiful hotel, everything about it is lovely. Firstly ALL the Staff are lovely but we must mention Ebony, the waitress who took care of us on our first night in the hotels restaurant, she also looked after us the next morning at breakfast too, she's a lovely girl. The breakfast is lovely but Dinner was exceptional. If the seasonal specials are available, try the roast pork belly, mmmmmmm! The rooms are to a very high standard, we had a lake view which was beautiful. The rooms are larger than the average hotel, so is the bathroom and the bed. The Spa is wonderful, especially after a long walk! all the girls here a lovely too. We will definately return. Just one tip, if you want to eat in the restaurant please book, it may look like there are plenty of tables but on the Saturday evening some people were turned away or asked to return after 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    248
    111
    37
    22
See reviews for
91
696
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are thinking of staying here dont have your expectations high its a lovely hotel which opened two months ago but lacks that bit of extra quality and furnishings for what they are charging. The room was a superior looking on to the lake it was very modern but did not have the final touches that you would expect for the price ie: poor room lighting, no where to sit apart from two dining table chairs, patio door windows were dirty, mirror was in wrong place we had to keep asking for bottled water, I appreciate this is a new hotel and would expect a difference next year. The staff were friendly but did not seem to have any leadership, the food menu very poor, the breakfast was self service but the hot food was not hot they need to look at this. We also got this deal from KGB

Room Tip: If you want a corner superior room 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stopped in the Daffodil Hotel on a 2 night break with KGB deals. We too were upgraded to a lovely room and although overlooking the car park did have the backdrop of hills beyond. The rooms had a contemporary design and were absolutely spotless. The breakfast was fab, not only could you have a full english breakfast but you are able to pre-order other things as well, i ordered smoked salmon and scrambled egg and it was yummy (no extra charge). The service in the dining room was 1st class and everyone was very attentive.

There is a lovely seating area at the back of the hotel were you can have a drink or afternoon tea and once the landscaping has been done will be lovely as it overlooks the lake.

I have just one negative comment and that is i think the main reception area could be made to look a little more homely and would benefit from large plants, palms etc as at the moment looks a little cold and bland as it is such a large area.

OVerall a great new hotel and would definately return.

Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed as part of a 2 night deal. There are some mixed reviews which I am surprised at really but I suppose there is just no pleasing some people. We had a great stay, the rooms are modern and a lot of thought has gone into the design. Breakfast was great, and dinner was fab. We also used the spa which was again very well designed. All in all we had a great time and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here for two nights as part of a kgb deal. On arriving at the hotel we were upgraded without request and were situated in a very large end room that had two sets of double doors giving us a fabulous views of both the lake and the amazing valleys. The bed was a super king and most comfortable, could have done with a choice of pillows as the ones we had were a little soft for personal taste.

We enjoyed the location an took strolls into the nearby friendly grasmere village before setting out onto our daily walks.

My partner enjoyed the use of the spa and the only thing he could fault was that whilst other vistors were using the end jets for massaging in the pool you were unable to use the loungers as the water back sprayed.

The breakfast choice was fantastic which showed on the scales when we got home. We were very fortunate to get situated at a lake view on both days.

The bar sitting room is presently under utilised which i can only assume is because it is on the first floor which is also carpeted making it hard to just pop into before/after your walks.

The reception staff were most helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble in particular a gentlemen called ''Warren'' we were advised on local restaurants to eat in and Warren also took an invested interest in the local walks etc which enabled him to engage in conversation with all guests.

All in all a lovely stay in the lakes and the daffodil hotel.

Room Tip: its worth paying for a lake or valley view starts and finishes the day off perfectly... what a visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just back from four very good days at the newly opened Daffodil hotel,if you get a chance, have a read about the hotel before the stunning refurbishment,it sounds as though the old Waterside was falling down. The new hotel is finished off to a very high standard in all areas from the restaurant through to the wonderfully comfortable bedrooms, we have never seen such a big bed and very cozy as well, shower a bath were great with a very powerful shower. Breakfast, all self service was very good with a great selection to choose from both english and continental, our only criticism was that the food wasn't very hot but thats something that no doubt will be sorted, I would expect one or two teething problems with a new hotel. We also had dinner each night which was again very good. The restaurant was nice, on the first floor, try and get a window seat with a lake view,,stunning views. The enormous sitting room,well furnished but seemed to lack a bit of atmosphere, having said that we were the only ones in on one of the evenings. Reception is a bit stark at the moment but work is still in progress both inside and around the grounds, when the gardens are established the Daffodil will be excellent.
I used the spa pool and sauna, again,very good but the pool water was quite cold, again,we were told there had been a problem which had been sorted but the water wasn't expected to be up to temperature until after our departure. We wish the Daffodil great success, we look forward to returning. By the way, we had room 223 which overlooked the road and the hills complete with Herdwick sheep, being on the roadside was not a problem, perhaps next time we'll afford a lake view.

Railton Howes Chester le Street

Room Tip: If you can afford it,go for a lake view room, having said that , all rooms are finished to a very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great stay here. Room was large and the bed was the best we had in our stay in the UK. Would have liked to stay here longer. Reception was friendly, but wait staff during the meals was the best. Make sure you book dinner reservations when you check in. Breakfast started a little late if you want to make the most of your day going on one of the wonderful walks in the area. The art work in the halls makes you laugh.

Room Tip: Lake view room was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.