We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as they claim it is” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Daffodil Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF - EARLY BIRD
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Scotland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“As good as they claim it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a new hotel (only open for three weeks when I visited with my partner) so there are still a few things needing attention - and which they are entirely open about, so for that reason I didn't find that a negative, they positively welcomed (asked for) feedback on everything, and did it in person rather than box ticking questionnaires. So that tells you the sort of people who are staffing the place - genuinely wanting to have satisfied guests. And we were indeed very well satisfied. Stayed in a room overlooking the lake, with a small balcony, and the view was stunning. Inside, the room was large and well equipped and as comfortable as any I've stayed in, including others at more than twice the price. The grounds are still in the process of being landscaped, but they are so big that unless you're hard to please that isn't likely to affect your stay. The food in the restaurant has a lot of locally sourced ingredients and traditional dishes, is well cooked and served up by pleasant people who are up for as much or as little conversation as you want to have. And the ambience of the restaurant, like the rest of the place, is well designed and congenial. The only thing we didn't try out was the spa facility, but that looks to be as impressive as the rest of it. Grasmere village centre is a short walk from the hotel (five minutes or so), and that is one of the less commercialized places in the lake district. Overall, a great venue: I can confidently say that we'll be back - and it won't be long before we are.

Room Tip: The view over the lake is stunning, and I would definitely go for one of those on any future occasio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    211
    90
    31
    18
See reviews for
82
588
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

we stayed at the hotel on 16-18 Aug. We had a lovely time. The rooms were beautifully furnished and to a high standard. The artwork around the hotel is quirky and brings a smile to your face. The spa was relaxing yet energising! Dinner was fantastic, very reasonably priced- the ultimate steak burgers are huge! The staff were accomodating and friendly.

The bathrooms are tastefully designed, the Molton Brown accessories add a real touch of class!

A special thank you to Warren - he was exceptional. He demonstrated excellent customer care skills, he offered suggestions on places to visit and went the extra mile in making us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay.

We would definitely choose the Daffodil Hotel again

Room Tip: You will need to pay a premium for an exceptional view of the Lakes. However room 114 offers a prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this hotel particularly for the spa. However the steam room was out of order and the thermal pool was not thermal. The water was not warm and engineer was onsite fixing it. These are teething problems for a new hotel but the staff should warn you before you get in. The spa also closes at 6 and if you are out during the day you want to use the spa before dinner. Our free pimms on arrival did not materialise. When asked if we ould have this on the second night I was sent to the first floor bar to get it myself and then take it outside as the downstairs bar was not serving the bar staff the promptly followed with a bill. Staff are extremely friendly but a number of things were just not up to scratch. Kind of feel they opened a little early and they needed a little trainig. Our room was very small and the view terrible. We booked on a deal so was good value but the dinner on the first day was tasty but cold and waited 45 mins to order.


May be will get better with time

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Bought a Groupon deal for this hotel 2 nights for £129.00 and called the hotel prior to purchase to check availabilty as we were wanting to visit the following week, got the dates we wanted with no hassle whatsever.... great start ....

The Hotel is stunning and finished to a very high standard. Please take the time to check out the wall art every picture tells a great story, some very comical, a lovely touch when walking around the Hotel.

As previous reviewers have stated the Spa is not open until 28th August although this did not hinder our stay and I dare say once this is up and running then it will be a lot busier....

Reception staff and Restaurant staff are very friendly and always have a smile on there face.
Food from Breakfast to Evening meals was outstanding each time we ate, no complaints at all!

The hotel is in a wonderful location with beautiful views and once the landscape around the hotel has been completed the whole complex will be a wonderful first class venue for any special occasion.

As previous reviewers have stated Molton Brown products in the rooms, Huge beds , plasma TV on walls and retro art and very clean and rooms have loads of room to walk around...Bathrooms very nice and power showers easy to use when you get the hang of the temperature gauge! .

I would highly recommend this hotel to any one who wants a luxury break away the food and rooms are all top quality ..If you do want to venture away from the hotel then a small stroll into Grasmere and you will find a few pubs and hotels with restaurants attached I would recommend Tweedies Bar for food and drink you may need to book a table as it does get very busy but if the sun is shining it has a wonderful picnic area full with table and chairs and is a lovely sun trap as we found on our trip, again wonderful food, try the belly pork and poached egg......yummy !! .

Whilst we were at Daffodil I celebrated my 40th birthday and although my partner ( without me knowing) made the reception staff aware of this he was slightly dissapointed that no mention was made during our dinner that night, this being said was his only gripe with our whole stay, I however was pleased !

Do not hesitate to book this hotel it will soon become #1 in Grasmere without a doubt and well deserved, LOVED every bit of it !

Room Tip: Room 310 overlooks the car park but wondeful views of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Picked this Hotel up on a deal and it was superb - rooms tastefully furnished with quality at every turn - bed so comfortably - bathroom had everything and more.

Restaurant view over the Lake or sitting out on the Patio with a cool drink is sublime (yes some work still to do on the landscaping ) but the view was tremendous.

Spa facilities great way to relax with Sauna and Steam rooms and staff were very pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel.

If this modern Hotel does not meet your standards you must be impossible to please - I would go back anytime whatever the weather !

Room Tip: Ours was a room without a view but it was still a pleasant view out over trees and fells, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had been glued to the TV for two weeks whilst the Olympics were on so decided we needed a break. We booked our stay through Booking.com secret deals. Paid £149 for two nights bed and breakfast. Our room was booked as a classic room but when we arrived we were given a superior room with a lovely view. (Room 214) Everything in the room was really superb and new. The bed was enormous and really comfy. The complimentary tray was well stocked and both still and sparkling water were left in the room. The bathroom was really lovely. If I have one little niggle about the bathroom is that the shower was really difficult to control and was far too hot for me. In fact at one point the water was scalding and I couldn't find any way to turn more cold water on. My partner prefers a bath and he loved the lovely deep bath.

We stayed at the hotel both nights for dinner. The food and the service were really good. The staff were really friendly and made us feel they cared about our enjoyment. All in all I think the food and drink were excellent value for money. We will definitely go back at some stage. I think it will be interesting to see the grounds finished and the landscaping around the hotel completed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a KGB deal and it was lovely their was a small amount if work going on but that didn't affect the hotel at all, the staff were also excellent :) already recommending it to all my friends and family

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Daffodil Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodil Hotel & Spa

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daffodil Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Grasmere Water, The Daffodil Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of the Lake District. Surrounded by stunning Lakeland scenery, The Daffodil is the Lake District's newest luxury hotel. The hotel reopened in July 2012 after a major redevelopment which has resulted in 78 new bedrooms including 14 luxury Suites, a Spa with thermal suite, extensive function rooms and a lake facing restaurant serving fantastic British food with a contemporary twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Daffodil Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodil Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.