We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raise View delivered excellence, yet again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raise View House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raise View House
Save
You added Raise View House to your Saves list
White Bridge, Grasmere LA22 9RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Raise View delivered excellence, yet again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just recently stayed at Raise View House again after staying with them a couple of years back; this was our second visit to this beautiful B&B located in the heart of Grasmere. We absolutely loved our time at Raise View first time round, so had to go back when we were visiting Grasmere and the Lakes again. John & Karen (hosts/owners) are extremely friendly and helpful which really makes you enjoy your stay even more. It creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere from the first second you walk in their door. The cleanliness standards of Raise View haven’t dropped over the years as it is still immaculate throughout. The rooms are maintained to the highest of standards. The breakfast selection at Raise View is great, I myself enjoy their full English breakfast with proper Cumberland sausages, but if you are after something a bit lighter or veggie they cater for everyone. The location of Raise View is perfect, there are lots to see and do in the surrounding area(s). I would highly recommend this B&B to everyone; we loved our time there again and have already booked our next visit.

Thank you to John & Karen for making us so welcome, yet again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Andy

You were the first guest to write a review about Raise View House so it was a pleasure to welcome you back and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay again. We have made a few changes over the years so it was nice that you mentioned that Raise View House was still spotlesly clean.
Our Cumberland sausages are from the same bucther Freddie Garside in Ambleside and I have to agree with you they are delicious.

Thanks once again for yet another positive review.

Best wishes

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
168
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Echo previous guests - this is a top quality bed and breakfast establishment, run by friendly and assured hosts. Lovely, quiet room with amazing views (and sounds) of the fells - thorougly recommend for a walking holiday in Grasmere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear October03

Thank you for your very kind review. Lots of guests mention the great view we have but you're the first to mention the equally wonderful Lakeland sounds we enjoy.

Hope to see you again.

Best wishes

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very professionally run B & B which is just far enough away from the bustling village centre. Our room had an excellent view of Helm Crag and the surrounding fells. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection. Friendly and helpful host always a bonus. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Willowyman46

Many thanks for your great review. Karen and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding on how clean our B&B was is very much appreciated.
I've said it before but the view we enjoy from our back garden is very special and one all of our guests comment on.

Kindest regards

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is my second review of Raise View and yet again my stay was very comfortable in nice surroundings, The food at breakfast was good and plentiful and the hosts were, yet again, good company. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Philip

It was great to see you again and thank you for taking the trouble to write another excellent review.
It's always nice to welcome someone back who has stayed before and we enjoyed talking to you as we know how much you love the Lake District.

Hope to see you again next year.

Best wishes

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just had a wonderful stay with my husband in beautiful Raise View. John and Karen made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived and this scrupulously clean and stylishly furnished home, at the edge of the village, is a credit to them and their hosting skills.Thank you, John, for the e-mailed info. ,sent in advance, showing us the view from our room and detailing the many eating places in Grasmere.Our room was a delight with comfortable beds and an immaculate modern ,ensuite shower.The lovely dining room was just the place to enjoy a delicious breakfast of fruit, yoghurts,cereals followed by well cooked full English and served in such a lovely atmosphere. This is a little gem of a place not to be missed. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Room Tip: Magnificent views from rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear JayGee095

Your words are very kind indeed and much appreciated. It was our pleasure having you to stay at Raise View House and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Karen takes a great deal of pride in her home and it's very satisfying when we get such wonderful feedback.

Breakfast is such an important meal and sets you up for the day and it's always nice when guests enjoy each others company and makes for a loverly atmosphere in our dining room.

We do hope you enjoyed your few days in Lytham and will return to see us again soon.

Very best wishes

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely town house on the edge of town. Bedroom top floor really small. Fantastic views . Tea and coffee. Tiny bathroom with shower. Very comfy but small. Beautiful breakfast room with amazing china and breakfast beautifully presented. Landlord friendly and helpful - dried boots overnight. Good location to centre of village and good pubs to have lunch and evening meal. WIFI free but only available in communal sitting room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear tatterrsp

Many thanks for your review and your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your one night stay with us while walking the coast to coast and I was only to happy to help dry your boots and make you feel welcome.None of our bedrooms are particularly large but as you said the view was amazing.

Our tariff does include VAT possibly unlike many of the B&B's you stayed in on your walk which does make us a more expensive than other similar guest houses who are not registered.

Thanks also for your feed back on the wifi we have now installed a TP Link Powerline Extender which has improved the signal strengh.

Hope your enjoyed the rest of the walk.

Kindest regards

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are some really nice places to stay in Grasmere, but this is possibly my favourite. Comfortable, clean, well presented rooms, friendly owners, a good breakfast...I cant really think of any aspect which I'd change. I will certainly be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Owner at Raise View House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Brucemoose

Thank you for your kind words. Grasmere is very fortunate to have so many excellent places to stay and we are delighted you think Raise View House is possibly your favourite and would be only too pleased to welcome you back.
Karen and I really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write such a generous review.

Best wishes

John & Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raise View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raise View House

Address: White Bridge, Grasmere LA22 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raise View House is situated at the northern end of Grasmere, yet just five minutes' walk from the village centre. We enjoy uninterrupted views of the Easedale fells, including the famed Lion & the Lamb. John & Karen look forward to welcoming you to Raise View and to helping you enjoy your stay in this beautiful area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raise View House Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raise View House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.