We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rothay Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rothay Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Rothay Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
U.K
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We were booked into one of the Langdale rooms and it was lovely. Modern and beautifully done out but very cosy and comfortable with a view over the river. The staff were very helpful and efficient. We opted to eat out for dinner as we couldn't face 5 course dinners! We had two fantastic meals at Tweedies Bar and The Jumble Room. Both very relaxed places ambience-wise but the food at both was wonderful as were the staff. My only tiny quibble with the hotel was the scrambled egg at breakfast. My travelling partner had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg as she didn't want a big cooked breakfast. But the eggs were very dry on both mornings....not smooth, soft and creamy as good scrambled eggs should be. She wouldn't complain which is why nothing was said at the time but it surprises me that a chef at such a good hotel would have let that pass. But as I say a very tiny quibble and the rest of the stay was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    136
    46
    23
    9
See reviews for
34
461
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We have just returned from a week's holiday which we enjoyed very much. We found the staff pleasant, jolly and welcoming. This was our third visit over several years and it was interesting to see the new decor which had obviously been professionally designed. We always enjoyed what we chose from the menus and dined in the hotel most evenings, though did try the other Grasmere outlets now and then.
Our room was on the first floor with a lovely view over the gardens to the hills in the distance. It was well equipped and very comfortable.
If we (or rather I) did have any complaint it would be about the enormous bath we had which had very steep sides and took a bit of an effort to 'climb' into!! Taller husband had no problem though. It must be said that of all the hotels in Grasmere over the week's period of our stay, every evening the car park contained more vehicles than the others which must speak for itself.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We recently stayed four nights at the Rothay Garden Hotel in Grasmere where we decided to go on a half board basis as we had heard that the food was incredible and incredible it was. The service was exceptional, the staff couldn’t have done any more to help, they were so friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend anyone to stay there for a truly relaxing holiday. The Hotel is well positioned for some fantastic walks and then going back to the Hotel to relax in the beautiful gardens sipping incredible wines whilst waiting for yet another outstanding meal. To stay there is an experience. Please stay there in your lifetime if you don’t go anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed at the Rothay Garden Hotel for the one night on a special deal, (£119),and found the staff very welcoming and the room was great, well appointed and set out. Would definitley go back, on a deal.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed here on a 'Red Letter Day'. The only thing I would improve would be the car park - we got the last space, we would have had to find somewhere else to park if we had arrived any later. The staff are courteous. It's maybe true that they could smile a little more but this certainly would never spoil my stay and having worked in a customer facing environment there is nothing worse than having to wear a false smile. The staff are polite and will engage in conversation if you make the first move! Rooms are perfect, clean, lovely bathroom, real luxury. Food lovely, though not superb, possibly a bit over presented but maybe that's just me. Breakfast was superb though. Overall a great place, would highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Me and my wife(in our 50's) stayed in the Stone Arthur Loft Suite as an anniversary treat,on arrival the staff was nice and pleasant.Our room was amazing and ultra clean(as is all of the hotel),nice touch with the chocolates.The bed was huge,so was the bath.Room was large and had plenty of storage.I have read past reviews about this hotel saying how bad this hotel was,if I had gone on their reviews we would have not stayed here(glad we didnt).Some reviews moaned about the meal prices,on one occasion we had homemade soup with numerous homemade rolls at £4.50, could have gone down the road and had soup in one of the caf'e or bistro's and paid £4.00,have soup in a lovely plush hotel or in a bistro with plastic tablecloth's(Mmmm no brainer).Even met the infamous owner Chris,who was as nice as his hotel.The room was pricey but to us it was worth every penny.Will visit again,and many thanks to Chris and his wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Clean and friendly with good food and a picturesque location. Breakfast can be tailored to suit your appetite - from the large Fellwalker grill through the Cumbrian grill to smoked salmon or bacon and eggs. The staff were always willing and helpful whilst not obtrusive. The key phrase was "ask and you shall receive". Slightly off the beaten track so is tranquil and thoroughly relaxing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#2 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothay Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.