We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothay Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rothay Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rothay Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Grasmere
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at this contemporary hotel with old fashioned values.
From the porter who insisted helping with luggage to the receptionist who found a birthday balloon with very little notice, you felt that they were there to make your stay easy and memorable.
The food was outstanding, tasty, beautifully served and presented and ample portions.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The river view suites are lovely. Room1 is quiet and out of the way of people going to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    114
    37
    21
    9
See reviews for
31
379
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This privately owned hotel is well run and very well equipped having been the subject of a £5 Million refurbishment only a few years ago. It has one of the loveliest restaurants with huge picture windows overlooking the delightful gardens so that breakfast and dinner can be taken with the feeling that you are almost sitting outside. The spa is compact but very well equipped with a superb hot tub, sauna and aromatherapy room, perfect for relaxing those tired muscles after a day on the fells. We stayed in the Garden Suite overlooking the lawns and close to the spa and were pleased to find a drying room just opposite our room where we could dry out our walking gear overnight and the room was very comfortable only a little dark with low voltage lighting which was my only criticism. The service was excellent although the staff are young and some had limited command of English so casual banter with your waiter is not on the agenda here but they were well drilled and if anything a little over-enthusiastic at times as they seemed to be in a hurry to move us on from our table when we wanted to linger but this was not a major issue. The food was consistently good although I found the menu a little limited in variety but the breakfasts were very good indeed. The last time we came to Grasmere we stayed at the Wordsworth however this hotel is definitely superior in all respects and is slightly removed from the centre of the village which adds to the peace and privacy.

Room Tip: I did not see a lift so if you struggle with the stairs make sure you are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before when visiting Grasmere and enjoyed our recent 2 night stay.Our room, which was a good size, had a riverside view which we found a bit dull. The rooms overlooking the garden are brighter and we would opt for that location in the future.
The food was good and the dining room staff were excellent, very pleasant and friendly. Reception could improve in this area.

Room Tip: we found the riverside views a bit dull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here in a beautiful room overlooking the river.
Friendly staff and excellent food.
Dinner was very good, although portions were small. Breakfast was of very good quality and quantity. Perfect location for wandering into grasmere. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wife and I took a spa break in October. Hotel is quite beautifully situated and the interior is designed with panache. Service was crisp, polite and exceptionally efficient. We ate for one night in the hotel and the menu and food was a delight, although not cheap. A perfect location amid glorious mountains and hills, for a relaxing and romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is anlovely hotel, excellent food. Bedroom large , great views and fabulous bathroom, Didn't like having to walk through hotel in dressing gown , and spa could have done with a wee changing room , so that I could at least have combed my hair before walking through hotel .Staff were attentive . It was a very pleasant stay . Ideal location on edge of the village, quiet but not remote.

Room Tip: A riverside room with a balcony would be nice, Our room was great but if older and lacking mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Rorthy is by far one of the the best all round hotels in the Lake District The rooms are fantastic no matter what price range you choose power showers in all fabulous views from the spa and I love my food and my wife and I believe this is Rorthy strong point brilliant chef ..staff and management Elliott so genuine I think he got that from is superb boss Chris who as put so much into the success of my favourite hotel in the Lake District thanks. ..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rothay Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothay Garden Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothay Garden Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Rothay Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothay Garden Grasmere
Hotel Rothay Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothay Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.