We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cream tea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere Tea Gardens

Grasmere Tea Gardens
Church Bridge, Grasmere, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Grasmere
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor cream tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited here recently on a Saturday lunchtime. Fancied a traditional cream tea - scone, cream , jam etc. Very disappointing and not what you would expect from a "tea room" in the heart of the Lake District. Cream was from a spray can, and was given a tiny sealed plastic carton containing a cheap jam which was tasteless. Surely a bit of effort whipping up some proper fresh cream and putting a lovely fruity conserve in a pot with a spoon would transform this into the English treat we are famous for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Really yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner had a Cheese, bacon and a amazing chilli chutney, then we had choc brownie and hot choc. Staff brill! Service fast! Food yummy!

Very very good thank you

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Returned to the tea rooms after a great previous visit in 2011. It was Sunday lunchtime around 1pm. We opened the door and were greeted with a curt 'we're closed' from a lady behind the counter. This seemed odd as the place was full and there was no sign to say closed... Anyway, the lovely garden village garden centre were happy to serve us, across the road.
I realise some places have winter hours but you would think Grasmere on a Sunday would be an ideal time to open.
Won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great quick snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

When you want a quick snack - then its definately worth a stop - want to try again in summer - really great place for a snack after a walk

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Welcome Cup of Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stopped by on a showery afternoon for a very welcome pot of tea for two. The cakes on the counter looked very appealing - only full tums from lunch stopped us tucking in! The staff were friendly and helpful and very efficient. We also loved the photos round the room. Thanks - we will be back on a sunny day to sit out in the garden.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasmere Tea Gardens also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Grasmere Tea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere Tea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.