We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banerigg Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banerigg Guest House
Save
You added Banerigg Guest House to your Saves list
Lake Road, Grasmere LA22 9PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Southend-On-Sea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Although we arrived early we were greated by Angela with smiles and cake! Angela showed us each avaliable room and we got to choose which one we liked best. We chose the room with a magical view over the lake. It also had an amazingly comfy bed and powerful hot steamy shower which was a god-send after a day walking around the beautiful surroundings. I must say we had no trouble sleeping and weren't disturbed by the traffic.

We were very pleasantly suprised at every turn by Angela and Martin's generosity; offers of lifts to a restaurant, flowers on our anniversary, and help planning our walks and visits came in very handy. They went above and beyond to make our stay special.
Breakfasts were so yummy they kept us going all day and there was so much choice and top ups!

I really cannot rave about this B&B enough! You simply cannot stay anywhere else in Grasmere!!!!!

  • Liked — Angela and Martin
  • Disliked — N.A
  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The next time we book a room at Banerigg it will be the 9th year we will have stayed with Angela and Martin at the Guest House. To us the hosts are second to none. Bedrooms - en suites are superb . From the rooms the view across the water is stunning. A good choice of Breakfast. Cereals, Fresh fruit and of course a full English. And full you will be.
When you take the walk round the Lake you will take in some of the nicest scenes you will see in this country. The walk takes you through Grasmere Village where you will find loads of places to eat and have a beer before you settle down for the night .
It does rain , if it did.nt there would,nt be any lakes ! Always have a coat in the car and with a pair of walking boots you can explore we think some of the most stunning views in this area with out driving to far from the Guest House.
Like us a lot of people find the Lake District a very special place . Thats why we try and visit two or three times a year. And with our home from home we will do it for many years to come. We love it

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My husband first stayed here when he was 9 and we have carried on the tradition for the last few years. Angela and Martin are the ones who make this B&B the best in the Lakes. It's like coming home each time we walk through the door.
The rooms are spotless and comfortable with amazing views of the lake from the front and a chance to spot badgers in the evenings from the back rooms. Breakfasts are enormous. We have given up having lunches as they fill you up so well and even our suppers only consist of a sandwich. However, Banerigg is only a 5 minute walk away from a lovely Italian restaurant and if you head into Grasmere don't miss the opportunity to have a meal at the Jumble Room - it's excellent.
We spent our evenings in the lounge. It was lovely to have the peace and quiet and no TV - bliss. Angela taught our daughter a great game called 'Spoons' and on our last visit another guest taught us the game 'Werewolves'. That has become a must and we had some great acting from fellow guests who fell victim to the creature!
Finally a special thank you to Angela and Martin for going above and beyond the call of duty on this visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We have just come back from a much needed 3 day break in the Lake District. Our first visit to Banerigg guest house and we have to tell you everything written by past Tripadvisors about Angela and Martin is true!!!
They are the most generous of hosts willing to go to any lengths to ensure your stay is a great experience and really couldn't do enough to ensure we were happy. Within an hour of arrival we felt we were one of the family.
Our room, overlooking the lake, was the last available for our stay and whilst it was compact (which we had been advised when booking) it had everything we needed for our stay. The shower was extremely powerful with plenty of hot water, just what you need after a day walking in the hills. The room does overlook the lakeside road but even with the window open we were not disturbed by passing traffic. This might have had something to do with all the fresh air and superb walks. The lounge had plenty of seating space as well as books and games. Breakfast should really have its own Tripadvisor report. Needless to say it comprised of the very best ingredients beautifully cooked - thank you chef!
The bedroom and all public areas were immaculately clean.
Located 5 minutes walk from a local restaurant and 20 minutes walk from the centre of the village. There are plenty of nice restaurants to choose from in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Are Angela and Martin Clark the nicest people in the world? Stay at Banerigg guest house, and discuss! The warmest possible reception in this lovely house on the lake just outside Grasmere village. A short walk into the fabulous Bobbin Bistro restaurant (the best food in the UK?) completes the picture.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Very welcoming, clean and tidy B&B in a great location just far enough our of Grasmere to be quiet but close enough to walk into the centre with ease. Recommend Villa Colombia for reasonably priced dinner and only 5mins walk away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

My Fiancé and I very much enjoyed our stay in Banerigg Guest House. The couple who run the place are very friendly and made our stay all the better. They happily let us borrow their canoes for a few hours to paddle around Grasmere Lake. There are also some excellent walks nearby for all levels of ability. The rooms were very clean and beds comfy. Also the view from the rooms overlooking the lake are exceptional in only the way the Lake District can be.
The only downsides were the road just outside can occasionally be noisy if you have the window open, plus it's a 15 min walk to Grasmere so bring your touch as it's pitch black at night. Grasmere is also an expensive little town due to it being Wordsworth country and a popular tourist stop. That said it would still be my number one recommendation for anyone staying in Grasmere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banerigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banerigg Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Grasmere LA22 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Banerigg Guest House Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banerigg Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.