We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B on the lake.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banerigg Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banerigg Guest House
Save
You added Banerigg Guest House to your Saves list
Lake Road, Grasmere LA22 9PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B on the lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

You will not find a more welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and hospitable couple than the couple that runs Banerigg. They know every inch of the Lake District and have insider knowledge on all the sights and activities. This is the only place to stay if you're in the Lake District. The breakfasts are incredible too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chesham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Absolutely superb and totally recommend it.

Fantastic location within 10 metres of the lake and a fantastic walk / run around it.
But even better than the views is the wonderful hospitality that Angela and Martin provide.

Nothing is too much trouble for them and they make you feel like you are part of the family.

Add to that the superb cooked breakfasts with as much to eat as you want...and more...and you have the perfect place to stay.

You can walk into Grasmere, where I strongly recommend Tweedies bar - ask for the "Bat" - three x one third pints of local real ale ~(you choose which ones) - all served in a mini cricket bat with holes - Brilliant!

Stay at Banerigg - you will NOT be disapointed!

Steve & Nicola - Aug 13

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Banerigg is one of the friendliest, most easy-going guest houses I've been to in England. Nothing is too much effort for the warm couple owners who feel instantly more like close relatives than the usual cold hoteliers you might encounter.

Angela and Martin will go out of their way to ensure that you get the best out of your whole holiday, of course in addition to enjoying a comfortable stay in the house. During our stay I simply could not find anything whatsoever to fault; a statement I rarely find myself using!

Location is perfect. Banerigg is right on a main road in Grasmere which is pretty much central to the whole of the lake district. Not only do you have a lake right in front of you, within an hour you can drive to anywhere from here.

Car recommended but public transport is also relatively near. Breakfast most definately makes up for any walking you may need to do!

Enjoy your stay and don't think twice about staying here.

Thank you Banerigg, please keep doing what you're doing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had a very pleasurable stay with Martin & Angela Clark at their Banerigg Guest House. The B&B is located in a quiet and scenic area about a 10 minute walk outside of Grasmere. The home faces Lake Grasmere providing a lovely view. Martin and Angela went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. The room with en suite bathroom was large and clean with an additional bathroom, sitting area, and hot water kettle with tea just down the hall for guests to use. They guided me on the best trails for hiking. The full breakfasts were delicious. What a wonderful stay to remember!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Angela & Martin,

Thank you so much for the wonderful hospitality that you both extended to my friend and me for three nights in July! The breakfasts were superb and the walks that you recommended provided gorgeous scenery! Our room was large and the view from our window of Lake Grasmere was breathtaking! You treated us so warmly during our visit which was a huge blessing to us!

Thank you again,
Michelle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Looking for somewhere cosy and convenient to take my 89 year old Mum for a few days, I happened upon Banerigg Guest house on the shore of Grasmere. It turned out to be everything I had hoped for, with a warm welcome, hearty breakfasts and a lovely large room. Our hosts, Angela and Martin were delightfully welcoming and very helpful with suggestions for our stay. They always had time for a friendly chat, whilst looking after us as if we were family. The Guest House is in a great location for walks along the beautiful shore of the lake or into the village. Only possible inconvenience, if you are a nervous driver, is the slightly tricky turn out of the driveway, but no problem if you just leave the car behind and explore on foot as you are only about 10-15 mins walk from Grasmere village. I would love to come back again to explore the lake in one of Martin's kayaks and catch up with some red squirrels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived after a hard days climb and found this little gem of a B&B overlooking the lake. As the village of Grasmere itself is a little away from the lake it was lovely to actually have a lake view.
The house was clean and warm and had excellent shared living space for the walkers/guests to relax in. We even found some sample menus of the local restaurants and picked somewhere to eat before we left the house, and we got a discount by mentioning we were guests at Banerigg.
The breakfast was delicious, a full cumbrian! hehe

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banerigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banerigg Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Grasmere LA22 9PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Banerigg Guest House Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banerigg Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.