We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 meal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Rest

Travellers Rest
LA22 9RR, Grasmere, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 36 Restaurants in Grasmere
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is already listed as an Inn/B&B but I want to write a review for the food only, as I just had a meal there.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family of 4 meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

2 adults and 2 children.
Over priced, average of £7.00 for starter, average mains around £15.00
Staff spoke very little English, hard to understand them, resulting in not getting what we thought we had ordered.
Potentially great traditional English food executed poorly, pudding was burnt (sticky toffee pudding) and the Eaton Mess certainly was a poor show ...
Certainly wont be returning :-(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    18
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adlington, Chorley
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Consistant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Eaten here twice during our trip, went for the 2 course 'steak' special. I had steak one night, pork chop the other - both were lovely, may partner had the ham and thought it was too dry, the onion rings also on the first night were a bit rubbery, the rest was good.

Quick service, friendly staff , prices for food OK - give it a try!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have eaten here quite a few times and every time the food was wonderful, great portions and good value for money. Very friendly staff. We will be returning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsbottom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Truly Truly Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went here for an early evening meal on Saturday 13th July as this was our last night of a great weeks stay at Skelwith fold. What a truly awful way to end a great week.

The menu reads great, if only the food on the plate was anything like it reads.

Myself and my wife shared a starter of Ham Terrine with Piccalli and ermmm, Artisan bread.

That was actually quite good apart from the salad having Heinz salad cream all over it (why not buy a decent dressing from Booths if you can't be bothered to make one) and the Artisan bread was just a normal white bloomer. Ordered a decent bottle of red which they didn't have. Nothing majorly bad so far so I suspect the terrine and piccalilli were bought in.

THEN THE MAINS. Truly disgusting. Looked and tasted like a dogs dinner. I ordered a lamb shank with spring onion mash with roasted vegetables and a red wine and rosemary jus. Every lamb shank I've ever eaten has been slow cooked and falls off the bone. This was as tough as old boots, I really struggled to cut through it as it had obviously been roasted quickly. The mash was submerged, and I mean underwater, below a watery greasy brown liquid that tasted of watery Bovril. No hint of red wine and definitely no rosemary. The mash contained no spring onions, they cut a few bits of spring onion all over the plate. There was no roasted veg (which I love) just boiled bits of broccoli and carrots that were not even served separately, just plonked in the brown soup floating on top. After attempting to eat two forkfuls I sent it back and got a very average steak and kidney pudding with hand cut homemade chips..............That's what they say on the menu, they were frozen horrible chips.

The wife ordered the fish in beer batter with hand cut homemade chips, she got the worst homemade batter she's ever eaten. Not fluffy, and soggy in the middle. The fish inside was soggy and still had it's black skin on. It looked disgusting and they had the affront to say it was supposed to be like that as haddock needs it's skin on. What, go to any decent chip shop or even a rubbish one and you'll never get the skin on. Chips were frozen not hand cut or hand made as advertised. The kids fish is frozen Findus like fish. If you are frying fish, why not just do the kids the same but smaller.

If you enjoy your food, STEER WELL CLEAR of this place. The location is amazing, but that's no excuse for serving the muck we were subjected to. They gave us the kids desserts for free and 10% off as way of an apology. If they'd give us the meal for free it would still have been a rip off as it put a damp squib at the end of what had been a great holiday.

The only reason they've got 1 star is because zero stars isn't an option. Tip for the place, stop hiring cheap foreign staff. Try hiring a CHEF who know's what they are doing. My 4 year old has better cookery skills than were on show. Needless to say, won't be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A great bar manager - spectacular views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a fine refuelling spot after a day walking. The beer is well kept, the food is competently cooked. The bar manager was an enthusiastic welcoming man who was definitely the highlight of our visit. I would not recommend this pub as a destination experience, but if you are passing, you could do worse than drop in - did I say the views are great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Travellers Rest also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.