We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our forst trip to the Red Lion and would definitely go again! The hotel lobby and lounges were excellent providing lots of room on very comfy furniture. This was especially welcomed after dinner in the evening when we could have coffee in the lounge. The reception staff were even kind enough to loan us a pack of cards to play with in the lounge over coffee in a very relaxed atmosphere. The food in the restuarant was of a very high standard, and varied, and the wait staff were superb. Klaudia, Tamas and Connor could not do enough for you and were most courteous, knowledgeable and attentive. Breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from and certainly not rushed, with once again the same attentive staff.
We only used the pool and leisure facilities once and they are looking a little tired but the pool was a good temperature and the steam room I had to myself. If I had gone to the hotel just for those facilities I would have been a little disappointed.
The room was lovely, clean and well decorated. My only complaint was that the shower ran a little hot and cold which we did mention on checking out. We oly ate in the bar/Lamb Inn one lunch time and that to be honest was enough. It felt a little lacking in atmosphere and the food was poor. The couple on the next table also complained about their food so we were not the only ones to be under impressed...this was a real shame when compared to the high quality in the restuarant.
All in all a very good stay with excellent staff in reception, the restuarant and housekeeping, very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    260
    105
    46
    22
See reviews for
124
442
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birkenhead
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We're to begin?Check in ok,room dated and smelt of dog,breakfast good,the pool area must contravene certain health and safety rules,the stairwell leading down to it is has cracked and broken tiles which when combined with wet feet is an accident waiting to happen.Jacuzzi has stained sealant around it and the changing room you couldn't,t fit mor than three people in it.I tried getting a drink in the pub next door one afternoon but found the bar staff in the hotel watching football.The car parking is poor but worst is the dog friendly avenue the hotel has decided to go down,dogs barking,being let loose to run up the stairs while their owners chatted in reception and worst of all shaking water off their wet coats over other guests.Stayed here a few times over the years but never again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A few galleries, a coop and lots of hotels. Good bars good food but nothing else. A walkers retreat. Red Lion has a good pool but its all a little dated now. I was here on business. Cant compain, very relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our fourth or fifth visit to the Red Lion. The hotel was as good as ever. Our room this time was 'Coleridge', a beautiful room with fantastic views. The soundproofing could have been better but that did not spoil our stay. The staff at the hotel are very good in particular the staff in the restaurant. (Klaudia and Tomas were very caring and attentive) All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms and Coleridge on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. Great location.
Parking limited, but not too much of a problem as hotel staff can point you in the right direction.
Room - hot! No aircon (it is UK). Good size 'suite' with a sofa bed.
Pool OK. Fitness suite - poor. Treadmill, resistance machine and stepper/climber all non functional.
Sauna and steam rooms small!
Breakfast was good.
Redeeming features revolve around the friendliness of the staff. The place could do with a makeover as its a bit tired.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great central location for Grasmere and surrounding area. The Hotel is fantastic - a little tired in places but this doesn't detract from its charm. The staff are all extremely helpful and very polite. We have visited three times before as a couple - this time we brought the children and they asked to stay another night they loved it so much. The pool is brilliant and entertained the children when it rained. This time we had dinner in the Lamb Inn which joins the hotel - again fantastic food, service and value for money. On previous visits we have eaten in the main restaurant and the service and quality of food has always been impeccable. Breakfast can be tricky if you go at the busy time between 8-9, service then can be slow but not through any fault of the staff - its just because its very busy. The children loved the fact they could choose their own cooked breakfast and loved the sausages......We have a fabulous stay and will definitely be back - thank you to Chris and the team.

Room Tip: Avoid the breakfast room if possible during the busy time. Ruskin is the best family room - double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Undoubtedly the least value for money I have ever experienced in any hotel anywhere. The plumbing was appalling, the shower ran from freezing to nuclear, the taps ran constantly and the room itself, whilst clean and nicely decorated was ridiculously small. This place clearly lives off it's location. Breakfast was the highlight. The attached hairdresser is not very good either. There are many good hotels in the village and the general area, use them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#6 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a taste of luxury in the glorious heart of lakeland. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic Inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful.As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the Hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. The Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our Courtyard Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, Four Seasons Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for.. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind.. Most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk.. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.