We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bad surprises with the Red Lion.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No bad surprises with the Red Lion.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Location is very good, being in the central of the village. We arrived about 1:30pm and were told to wait until 3pm for our rooms. Saying that we did get our rooms about an hour later. There seemed to be a problem with a broken soap dish that they wanted to fix right then but I asked if we could just get into our room. The room was average, two twin beds which were very comfy. A old wardrobe that had those horrible hangers without hooks. Bathroom was fine, even without the soap dish. All in all the room as a bit tired. The breakfast was good the next morning with a fine choice. Parking is an issue, one has to be lucky in order to find a parking space. Very few spaces. They do take dogs, I have to say in the room across the hall from us the dog they had barked every time any one walked by, this was pretty regular and was not welcome at 630am one morning. The downstair lounge did look very nice but we didn't use the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    226
    94
    40
    21
See reviews for
109
396
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wanted somewhere central in the Lake District but not in a busy town such as Ambleside or Bowness. The Red Lion fitted the bill as it is centrally located in the pretty village of Grasmere so there are things to walk to in the village and it is easy to drive to other parts of the Lakes.

We arrived later morning after an overnight flight from Abu Dhabi to Manchester and then a 90 minute drive. We realised that check-in isn't until 3pm so went for an early pub lunch then tried to check-in at 2pm. We were told by the very unfriendly jobsworth receptionist that we would have to wait until the official check-in time of 3pm to get a key to the room. She really was as terrible first impression and should be kept out of sight of customers.

Anyway after a slow walk around the village we got the room key. We were in the old part of the hotel which meant the room had character but was very small. The bathroom was even smaller - probably the smallest bathroom I've ever seen and they really should just change it to a shower room...

After a rest we had dinner in the Lamb Inn, the pub attached to the pub, which was very pleasant and in fact we ate there for the next 2 nights as well. The food was reasonable and the atmostphere good as it is clearly one of the 2 pubs in the centre of the villlage (Tweeds at the back of the hotel being the other).

Staying at the Red Lion you soon become aware that there are rules to be followed and these rules are designed to make life as easy as possible for the staff, regardless of convenience to the guests....

One such rule is that you should aim to have breakfast between 8am and 9am as apparently the dining room is very busy between 9am and 10am. It is a small dining room but why they cannot for example use one of the many other ground floor rooms as an extension at busy times or even extend breakfast beyond 8am to 10am (everyday its the same) is a mystery (well it's not really - it would mean more work for the staff). Anyway we complied with the rules and had breakfast before 9am all 3 days. Breakfast was good, as to be fair was service from the Eastern European waiters/waitress (shame the management don't ask these staff to work on the reception as they would create a much better first impression of the Red Lion).

I can imagine that parking could be difficult if you return to the Red Lion late in the day. There is only a small car park out front and a few spaces around the side. I heard the "charming" receptionist telling other guest that it was their hard luck if all the spaces had gone (she gave no suggestions where else they could park).

Wifi is free and supposedly available throughout the hotel. In reality there is limited wifi around the reception desk and in certain areas of the very pleasant residents' lounge.

We were told by one of the more pleasant members of staff that the Red Lion is currently changing hands. The new owner will need to spend a lot of time training the local staff how they should serve customers properly. There is also quite a lot of money needs spending to bring the Red Lion up to scratch. Lots of potential given its location and character but not somewhere I would choose to stay at again until there have been some big changes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were en route to Edinburgh and wanted to break the journey, and chose this hotel on the basis of reviews. We found it delightful - the Seat Sandal room (named for a nearby geographical feature, we're told) was comfortable and equipped with a decent-sized shower (other hotels please, please take note!). The restaurant fed us well - a 5-course meal for GBP26 is good value, the food is good, and the staff attentive and accommodating. We looked at the gym, pool and sauna arrangements (but didn't use them); on a longer stay we might have taken advantage of them. Contrary to other reviews, we found the room and the restaurant to be clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Red Lion is situated right in the centre of Grasmere and has an old world charm with a pub attached to it called The Lamb Inn which is also owned by the hotel. You can move freely between both premises. The Red Lion has plenty of space downstairs in the lounge for socialising and drinking with a great view of the hills on one side and it has a relaxing air about it. The staff were all very pleasant and professional. There is also a small gym and swimming pool which is adequate with a Jacuzzi, small sauna and steam room (though neither got very hot). The first night we ate in The Lamb Inn and the food was good, the second night we ate in the hotel itself and the food was excellent - we had a 5 course meal - priced at £26.00 a head which we thought was reasonable. Out hotel room was a family room and it was lovely and spacious with an additional extra room at the end which could have been used as a lounge type tv sitting room but was being used by my daughter sleeping in the sofa bed. The only downside was the room was extremely warm - we discovered we were directly upstairs from the swimming pool so reckon it was probably that though there was a fan in the room. The bathroom was very small with a spa bath (which didn't work) though I'm sure if we had asked for it to be fixed it would have been dealt with. The breakfast menu had plenty of choice - Lakeland Grill amongst other things and a help yourself island with plenty of yoghurts, cereals, drinks, fruit. Grasmere itself is a very small village, there is no bank only a Link machine in the Post Office across the road. We did plenty of walking while we were there and if you are intending to climb a fell then the Easedale Tarn is the nearest. Other than that there are a couple of shops, hotels and cafe's to while away the time. If you want more entertainment then you would have to drive to get there but there appeared to be plenty of options available for trips out.

Room Tip: If you are not bothered about paying additional cost then a family room is a nice big size and the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Helpful staff but the food in the bar an main restaurant was "freezer food" as my wife would call it. Basic but a bit tasteless. The room was nice and they are dog friendly which is nice. We did not get to try the spa. Parking was limited

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Best Western Grasmere Red Lion on 24th and 25th June for a much needed short break. It was a very disappointing visit.
We had a catalogue of errors which started when we were given our room
at 3pm (which is late for a check in anyway) and found it had not been cleaned from the person before (how can a receptionist give out a key for a room that has not been serviced)? to being given a meal in the bar which could have made my husband ill. The meal came with bread, we had asked for glutton free bread to have with it, as he is a celiac, when the meal came the bread
did not look glutton free. I asked the waitress to check and, sure enough, it was not the glutton free bread we had asked for, the meal was whisked away and returned with the correct bread. If my husband had eaten this he would have been ill all night. This combined with other issues such as nowhere to park, empty sachet of shower gell in bathroom clearly left from the previous occupant and no new ones left for us to use, dirty glasses in the bathroom, and no glasses at all in bedroom despite two bottles of water being there (are we to swig from bottle)? The room was small and very dark, also humid and smelling of chlorine due to swimming pool below. The wardrobe was squashed against the bedside cabinet so only one door of the wardrobe would open. Guests came in at 3am loudly laughing and waking us up. The ladies toilets in the hotel reception area had a dirty white towel for guests to use, I commented on this to the (frosty) receptionist on the first day of our stay and she said it would be changed, it remained there for the whole of our stay, surely for cleanliness paper towels should be used not a communal towel! My husband used the gents toilet in the same area and
he said it had a very bad smell to it and to top it all we were given a bill when we left for a meal we had not had, in the hotel restaurant. Not good enough when they are charging £90 per night. I have stayed in many hotels over the years, both for business and pleasure, this hotel
was by far one of the worst. The issues above could all have been dealt with very differently and given us a better experience. On a good note however,the breakfast was good but the vegetarian sausage was not a sausage at all just a bit of veg pate rolled up in a sausage shape (there are so many veggie sausages they could have used, quorn etc) but the staff who served breakfast were very attentive and polite.
The view we now have of this hotel is poor and we would not return despite it being in such a beautiful village

Room Tip: Do not get a room over the pool, hot, humid and smelling of cholrine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion over a bank holiday weekend for a family birthday. There were 12 of us including 2 young children. The hotel staff were very helpful when we requested a private area for the meal and in helping us decorate the venue. Everything apart from that was quite poor.

Our hotel room was quite small and shabby. The hairdryer on the wall was broken with exposed wires coming out of it. The bathroom needs an urgent revamp.

The worst part of the stay was the service. Whilst we were having our family meal the waiting staff began to clear the plates of people who had finished the starters whilst others were still eating. They then left the other starter plates on the table while they were serving the main. This was repeated for dessert. At no point were we asked if we wanted more drinks, we had to request this.

The service in the bar was even worse. We sat there for about 2 hours at the end of the night. A member of bar staff asked us if we wanted anymore drinks before they closed, when we said we did we were told to go to the bar as they didn't do table service. Fair enough. When the bar closed the staff simply pulled the shutter down, turned off most of the lights and walked off. Every single glass we had used in the 2 hour period, including tea and coffee mugs, were still on our table. We didn't see another member of staff that night.

The breakfast was average. Most of our party ordered poached eggs and every single one was like a snooker ball.

The 3 stars are for the help we got before we arrived and for the odd member of staff who were helpful. This is a chain restaurant and the service reflects this. It was like staying in a travel lodge in the lakes without the discounted prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US A TRY A TASTE OF LUXURY IN THE GLORIOUS HEART OF LAKELAND. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic Inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful.As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the Hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. The Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our Courtyard Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, Four Seasons Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for.. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind.. Most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk.. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.