We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and not returning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed and not returning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed here many times but will not be returning. We booked this trip several months ago using a special offer e-mailed to us by the hotel in lieu of Christmas presents to each other
We arrived in the pouring rain at 2.30 on Jan 28th to find no car parking although people had parked in two bays. Staff advised us we would have to park in the public car park some distance away at our own expense and were unable to locate the selfish parkers to make them move over. We did not get a space for two nights. We could not park on our last trip in September until one of the staff moved her car so this is not a new problem
This creates problems for us as we need to leave our dogs in the car while we are in the dining room. Staff will bring breakfast into the conservatory so we can eat with them present but we prefer not to do this
On our first night the hotel was fully booked through Group- on offers although one of the lounges was closed as it had been flooded and the staff clearly could not cope with the room cleaning as linen in black plastic bags was all over the corridors on the second floor until after 6pm.
The spa bath in our room was known to be out of order and the heated towel rail had been disconnected-not good enough!
We decided we would not spend anything in the hotel in protest so cannot comment on the food except breakfast which was good as usual. However we did find some nice places in the village so will look elsewhere for our next trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very sorry to hear you won't be returning to the hotel and had pretty much everything wrong with your stay.

We do manage to get all our guests parked and also accept special requests to reserve parking near the front entrance for issues such as you had with your dogs. We also allow our guests to use the conservatory when wanted to have breakfast or other meals with there dog's.

Kindest Regards

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    227
    94
    40
    21
See reviews for
110
397
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't understand all the negative reviews on here!! This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and everything was as good if not better than last time. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant and bar first class. Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We also had the snow and it was a lovely weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your great feedback. This is much appreiated and is very rewarding for the team.

We look forward to your return and behalf of the entire team thank you kindly for your kind words.

Please contact me direct for your next booking.

Kind Regards

Chris and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to THE RED LION. Both visits have been in January to celebrate my birthday. The lounge had been flooded when we arrived but the staff soon had it dried out and running again. On our first visit we were in the Ruskin Suite which was an enormous suite at the top of the hotel. We were delighted. This time we were in 216. We had booked a Club Double. Well, the carpet wanted a good clean especially round the edges. The bed was not made well and the sheets were not tucked in. The bed itself looked lovely but sleeping on it was a different matter. It was very old and uncomfortable. We got no sleep the first night. The second night we slept on top which was slightly better (We nearly left after the first night). It was so disappointing after our first visit.
We had no complaints at all with restaurant or reception staff. All of them were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were excellent and well presented. We may return if we could get a better bed. We have a Best Western gold card but this didn't help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Dorothy,

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

Looking at your comments. We very sorry regarding the flood this was obviously out of our control due to the terrible weather that hit us over that weekend. We did get this all sorted promptly and have now made the decision to refurbish all of our lounge areas and conservatory. This work will be completed in the coming months.

With regards to your room 216 this room has the same bed in as Ruskin and were both bought just last year. Your comments have been noted and we will look at replacing this bed. All our regular guests tend to request certain rooms. This is not a problem and we are very happy to accommodate any requests.

Many thanks for your positive comments regarding the staff this is much appreciated and always comes very rewarding to our team.

I do hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards


Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Only the beauty of Grasmere saved this break. In a nutshell,here is what my wife and i thought of this hotel. Arrived at the hotel and everything looks fine,looks can be deceiving. Was given a refurbished room on the 3rd floor,first impressions were ok,after travelling,was tired and didn't take to much notice. That is until i wanted a shower,the bath was what you would call dirty, but the view out of the room was good so could grin and bare it. The most important thing for me is having a good nights sleep,this is impossible if you are 5'11" and over as your feet hang out the ends which you have to untuck just to fit in.The spring mattresses are past there sell buy date by a few years.While sitting still i could feel and hear the springs going boing. This did make us laugh though. Moving on,the best way to start a new day is a good breakfast. I would recommend filling up on cereals as full breakfast is minimum especially the beans.I thought i would be smart the second morning and ask for more beans and an extra sausage as i did not want eggs,mushrooms,blackpudding or hash browns. Not a big deal, until it came i had an extra
sausage but it was at the expense of bacon and bean were still minimal.This made me laugh again. Hence to say i went walking on an empty stomach. If you have a little work to do while you are there,forget it.The wifi didn't exist even though i was told it is all over the hotel and someone will look at it. Sat next to a range extender in the living room still had none. This is the first time i have been without in a hotel which proclaims to have it.The steam room has seen better days and if you must use it bring a lock for the lockers as they are not provided. I hope this review helps you to decide if you really want to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear James

Many thanks for posting your review.

I would however like to discuss your issues further as I'm confused regarding a few comments you have made.

All our rooms have full size beds also third floor rooms tend to be all Super King-size. So being 5ft 11" this should not of coursed a problem. The mattresses were also newly placed just last year.

Our Breakfast is basically helping yourself to the buffet and if you would like a grill this is ordered by the guest stating how much of each item they require. The hotel would not refuse any guests requests. I do believe your review is unjustified and some what exaggerated.

I would like to discuss this further.

Please contact me direct at the hotel.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here over CHRISTMAS for 5 days. Decorated beautifully, staff very friendly and helpful, making for a relaxed atmosphere, large room with comfortable bed, food excellent with great staff, brilliant entertainment and very helpful housekeeper. A very enjoyable break for our 30th wedding anniversary. This hotel has a great team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many Thanks for taking the time to share your great review.

Your comments are great feedback for the staff and much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing again.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Yet another visit to Grasmere and the Red Lion, always found it a nice clean comfortable welcoming hotel, the pool is a welcome place after a good day out, the rooms are always clean and nicely presented, no problems getting wifi wether in room or down in lounge areas, the lamb inn is a nice bar area and really nice food at a very reasonable price too. The location is spot on right in the centre of the village although not always a parking place there are plenty around the village. We will definately return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words.

It is very rewarding to receive such great feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a three night break at the Red Lion, our fourth stay there. This is probably our favourite UK hotel for a short break, principally for its location right in the centre of the village with easy access to a range of walking from a stroll around the lake to as high and wide as you wish to go followed by a pint in the Lamb Inn, the hotel's pub. It is also well placed to visit other areas of the Lake District. The hotel isn't perfect, some of the rooms are a bit on the small side but that's not unexpected given the style of the place although all rooms seem to have spa baths which are great for a soak after a walk. The staff have always been great, very friendly and helpful, including the lads in the Lamb. The lounge area to the right of the reception is very comfortable for sitting with a drink or cup of tea to read a book or newspaper if you just want to chill. We haven't used the leisure facilities, always forget to take swimwear but the pool looks very inviting. The Lamb was closed for refurbishment on our previous visit and sadly I don't think it has been an improvement, it feels somewhere between a lounge bar and a restaurant but not certain which and seems to have lost the feel of a village pub which is a bit of a shame in my opinion and it didn't appear to be used much by locals, although that observation is only based on this one stay, but it is comfortable and the food we had on the two nights we ate there was good and reasonably priced. Overall a very welcoming hotel in a lovely Lakeland village to which we will no doubt return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks

Chris & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel

Address: Red Lion Square, Grasmere LA22 9SS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US A TRY A TASTE OF LUXURY IN THE GLORIOUS HEART OF LAKELAND. Set deep in the heart of Wordsworth country, our privately owned Lake District Hotel, traditionally an historic Inn playing host to travellers for centuries, offers you a warm, genuinely hospitable welcome that makes you feel instantly at ease and at home as soon as you step through the door. Idyllically situated right in the centre of Grasmere, with magnificent views of the hills all around, you can enjoy being part of village life one minute and the next, be miles away, with just the fresh Lakeland air and glorious open countryside for company. Here, life is beautiful.As you would expect from the long traditions, our service is friendly and attentive, the atmosphere relaxed and easy where you can enjoy a board game or two in the air-conditioned lounge area or browse the papers, while from the conservatory you can gaze at the ever-changing Lake District landscape. At our luxury Lakeland Hotel we provide you with all you could wish for - richly furnished, beautifully appointed bedrooms, an excellent choice of food, a gorgeous indoor heated pool with spa bath, steam room, sauna and fitness room. For centuries the Hotel has been a haven for travellers, with tasty fare, great ales and warm hospitality. Today we pride ourselves in offering traditional food in harmony with modern cooking. The Lamb Inn, our traditional village pub. Enjoy a cosy and relaxing atmosphere in the snug Lamb Inn with a pint of hand-pulled traditional beer and a tasty bar meal to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. Dine in splendor in our Courtyard Restaurant with our table d'hote dinner menu offered every evening, where the menu is depicted by the seasons and the fresh produce available. Our Chef will cater for any dietary requirements and is always happy to cook your favourite dishes (with a little notice of course). The Easedale Bar, Four Seasons Conservatory and Helvellyn Lounge offer a comfortable spot to watch the world go by, enjoy a scrumptious snack at lunchtime or a spot of afternoon tea. We provide you with all you could wish for.. Richly furnished, beautifully appointed rooms in which to unwind.. Most with sparkling spa baths to ease tired limbs after a wonderful day's walk.. And friendly service to bring you a refreshment, while you drink in the Lakeland panorama. All rooms have en-suite facilities, television with satellite channels, wi-fi, CD player, ipod docking station, a welcome refreshment tray, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and trouser press. Our Club rooms feature separate comfy seating areas with television, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary bottled water and daily newspaper. The view from these rooms is of the village and the lush green fields beyond. Some of our rooms enjoy small balconies where you can sit and enjoy a relaxing drink, read a book or simply take in the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Grasmere
Best Western Grasmere Hotel
Grasmere Red Lion
Grasmere Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Grasmere Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.