We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend of fine dining, scenery and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Bank Hotel
Save
You added Oak Bank Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great weekend of fine dining, scenery and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our third stay in the Oak Bank Hotel over 18 years, and the third owners, but the character of the hotel and the high level of service remain unchanged over the years.

Glynnis and Simon Wood are now the owners and Glynnis looked after our booking superbly and didn't mind the odd ways we split the bill at the end and transferring deposit to Twixmas.

Simon knows his wines and the wine list reflects both his knowledge and the high standard of food the wines are served with. We had the Italian Millefiori, the Saint Clair Pinot Noir from New Zealand, a dessert wine from Chilie and Banyuls a red French fortified wine.

The food was eclectic, beautifully produced, prepared, cooked and presented. The amuse bouches served in between courses were equally stunning. The flavours intense and the colours delightful. Dining here is a must and following the house rule of dinner is included in the accommodation rate is no hardship at all. Non-resident diners are also welcome.

The bar was well stocked with especially well balanced collections of gin and whisky.

Dogs are allowed in some rooms and the lounge.

We are looking forward to our return in December.

Thank you to Glynnis, Simon and the staff.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room. If you are a dog owner, some of the rooms are dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    80
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
393
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great location for walks and sightseeing, lovely village, hotel is known for great food and it certainly delivers on this, friendly owners. Recommended to us and we would also recommend. Lovely break.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

thoroughly enjoyed out break here, staff could have been a little more friendly though. other than that would return. location was superb and the sun even made an appearance while there. second visit to grasmere and we have enjoyed it just as much as the first time

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Oak Bank for one night on 22 May 2014 and enjoyed the friendly service, comfortable standard room and exceptional food. The menu was imaginative and delicious, served efficiently and without fuss. Our only gripe was that breakfast is served rather late. We wanted to get away by 8am as we had a long drive and a ferry to catch in Scotland but breakfast did not commence until 8.15 and the proprietors had to be summoned to prepare our bill. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had an excellent couple of days in early June 2014. The food was the best aspect and was simply superb. The choice was varied and the chef is to be congratulated on top notch quality throughout. Service was friendly and efficient and knowledgeable (the wine waiter certainly knew his wines!). The rooms were not over-large but we reckoned you only use them for sleeping anyway so it was not a problem. The seating area was comfortable and well stocked with local magazines. The hotel is very well situated and a one and a half hour walk around the lake from the front door is a great way to start your trip especially just before a fantastic dinner. Well done! This should win awards for its dining!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a shower and has a double aspect overlooking the car park. Room 9 is very purple! Room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only stayed here for one night while travelling but felt very comfortable, relaxed and well looked-after. The room was not huge but perfectly adequate and the bed very large and comfortable. The decor is slightly unusual (dated?) but perfectly acceptable. Our greatest memory however was the food and wine which were both absolutely superb. Some may find it a bit fussy but I really enjoyed the perfectly cooked, beautifully presented plates that were almost a work of art. The mix of flavours was also excellent. I really liked the additional touches like an "amuse bouche" before the starter and a "pre-pudding" (not sure what you call that!) that arrived unexpectedly. The wine list is not massive but very well put together, varied and pretty reasonably priced. We managed to try three wines that we had not come across before and all were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Having visited the Oak Bank Hotel a few times before, we arrived with great expectations, and we were not disappointed. On this occasion we opted for a Standard Room - slightly more compact than the Superior rooms we had stayed in previously but nonetheless very comfortable indeed and with the bonus of excellent views of the fells over the surrounding rooftops.
Glynis, Simon and all their staff deserve a big thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. Every aspect of the Oak Bank experience is up there with the best but as with most reviewers the food deserves particular praise. A new chef seems to have brought a few menu changes but the quality of the food is still outstanding - every dish we tried was absolutely delicious.
So thanks Glynis and Simon for a great few days and we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bank Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Family Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Grasmere Village in the heart of the English Lake District, Oak Bank Hotel is perfectly placed to explore the surrounding lakes, fells and tarns. Oak Bank has two lounges both with plenty of comfy sofas and armchairs to relax in. The front lounge has a converted range and the bar lounge has a real log/coal fire. Breakfast and dinner are served in our Two AA Rosette awarded beautiful dining room and conservatory. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Bank Grasmere
Oak Bank Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.