We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Save
You added Grasmere Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned home after 1 nights stay at the hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary. Rob and his staff were very attentive and made us feel special. Thanks again Rob for the card, a lovely gesture and we will enjoy the Bucks Fizz at our leisure. Our room Beatrix offered everything you could ask for in a hotel room with a spectacular view of Helm Crag. The menu offered something to suit everyone and the food was outstanding. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and wish our stay had been longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
349
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from celebrating our silver wedding anniversary, we stayed for 2 nights, but would have loved to have stayed longer! From start to finish the weekend was magical. Rob and his team were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Shelley room, lovely view of the garden, so clean and fresh. It was a lovely touch to have a card, chocolates from the Hotel and champagne (family organised this!) in our room when we arrived. The food was amazing, loved the canapés whilst deciding our menu choice. We ate in both nights, definitely worth doing. The food was superb. Breakfast was super too esp Bucks Fizz on one of the mornings, so many nice thoughtful touches that helped to make our weekend magical. Grasmere is such a lovely village too, we walked, explored and shopped! We cannot wait to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Myself and my mum stayed here for 5 nights last week for a relaxing girly break and it was wonderful. Rob and Anton have perfected their hotel. Their team are a great asset as they provided impeccable service throughout our stay and were always so friendly and accomodating. The room (Dorothy) was spacious, comfortable and very clean with en suite shower room finished to a high spec. The rest of the hotel was gorgeously decorated, particularly the dining room which faces out onto the large garden. The weather was in our favour for the whole week so we sat out in the pristine garden a few times and were provided with coffee and cake, bliss!!
The food overall was perfect, with many tasty options at breakfast and a dinner menu which spoiled me for choice! Sitting in the lounge after dinner with a glass of wine was always a great finishing touch to the day.
Overall a fabulous place to stay in the lovely village of Grasmere, a great base for exploring the lakes and having a relaxing break away, look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Been here before on several occasions, this time my wife and I took my father and sister along as well. My wife and sister both have dietary requirements that have proved challenging elsewhere, but not here! Nothing was too much trouble. Anton adapted several dishes to their dietary needs, which was greatly appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed! The food experience, as usual was 5 star!
Rob is the perfect host, with a great team behind him. Everyone was friendly, welcoming and helpful. We have already booked our next trips…can"t wait. Excellent Hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days in June and loved this hotel. We arrived an hour before the official check-in time but were given a very warm welcome by Marzena who produced tea and cake for us in the garden. Everything was perfect and of a very high standard. It was a very comfortable bedroom, wonderful ensuite shower room, with everything looking new and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts and evening meals were delicious.
The hotel is on the edge of the town but was quiet and peaceful and set well back from the road. There are many walks that can start from the hotel itself, and we enjoyed not needing to use the car every day. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We celebrated our first anniversary with a stay at the fabulous Grasmere Hotel, admittedly we were concerned at first as we were in the Wordsworth room on the ground floor, this looked to be near a toilet and the dining room but we did not hear 1 noise, the room was lovely and the bathroom more than suitable, especially the shower which was excellent., the room opens out to the garden which is another reason to stay in this room. We recommend everyone to stay for dinner, the 4 course meal was fantastic, especially the lemon meringue pie with gingerbread topping! After a great nights sleep we went back into the resteraunt for breakfast, again a great choice to be had, I would highly recommend the Cumbrian breakfast. The staff were so friendly and seemed actually interested in us and made us feel very welcome indeed. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Wordsworth room is the one for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights Bed and Breakfast and Dinner. Everything was of a very high standard,food amazing and Management and Staff so very pleasant-nothing too much trouble. We hope to return. A real gem.
ROZO N Ireland

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.