We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, personal and first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Save
You added Grasmere Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, personal and first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A week here is as good as a week in the sun (good weather is a bonus but by no means necessary). Even better since the refurb last year, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious, traditional without being overblown with all the comforts you would expect. Anton's cooking is superb as ever and Rob's front of house management gets the perfect balance of friendliness and seemingly effortless efficiency; nothing is too much trouble. The staff are relaxed, friendly and obliging, and the whole operation is seamless. Dog friendly too, what more could you want? We've already booked in for same time next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
349
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a 5 week holiday through France and the UK. I can honestly say it was one of the highlights of our trip. Grasmere itself is an absolutely beautiful part of the world, and this hotel fits perfectly. Our room was relatively large by UK standards, with an extremely well appointed bathroom, but it was the service that makes this establishment even more special. If you are considering booking this hotel you must, must include dinner. The four course dinner, with pre and post drinks in the lounge, was the ultimate English hotel experience, only topped by the exceptional quality of Anton's cooking. We also appreciated Rob's deft management and the attentive service of the delightful Barbara. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Wordsworth room on the ground floor. Separate doors open directly onto the delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Rob and Anton are to be congratulated upon this welcoming and very well run hotel, a most pleasant refuge from the Lakeland weather.

The hotel was beautifully appointed. Our room was very comfortable and well maintained with an excellent en-suite.

Under Rob's management the hospitality was attentive and courteous without being intrusive. The young staff were very pleasant, hardworking and well organised.

Breakfast and evening dinner were served in an attractive restaurant overlooking a beautiful garden. We looked forward to our meals and were never disappointed. The evening meal was a particular feature. Good quality fresh food was prepared and attractively presented to a consistently high standard by Anton who is obviously skilful and has pride in his work.

We intend to return next year when, hopefully, the weather will be kinder to us but nevertheless we are confident that we will enjoy our stay at the Grasmere Hotel.

The Kelsalls

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We we had a warm welcome and were asked if we would like tea and coffee in the lounge - for which we were very grateful. Our room was perhaps smaller than average but beautifully appointed and clean with a stunning bathroom. Our evening meal was oustanding and breakfast too was lovely. We only booked an evening meal on one of our two nights which we regretted. We will definitely revisit The Grasmere - a beautiful spot for exploring the Lakes.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of a very high standard as you will see from the hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for a short break trying to combine a walking trip with a bit of luxury. We couldn't have been more delighted with our choice! This is a great find- a superb hotel ideally located in Grasmere (we did 2 walks onto the fells from the door). The staff were welcoming and friendly- even when we returned wet and muddy (wet boots and coats happily transported to the boiler room to dry overnight!). The whole hotel whilst smart and beautifully decorated has a very calm and relaxed feel. We loved our room (deQuincey) which was very tastefully furnished with a large en suite, comfortable bed and excellent free Wi Fi even on the 2nd floor! The food is simply outstanding -- plenty of choice and beautifully presented. The breakfasts are very tasty and generous and the evening meals are delicious - a real treat! We would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in De Quincey on the second floor- no lift but staff happy to help with luggage if require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while hiking the C2C. Rob welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room. The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable. The hotel is quiet and has a nice location in town. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was outstanding. The restaurant has a nice view into the garden. Breakfast was also very good. Anyone staying in Grasmere would find this place to be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Discovered by googling and chosen from Tripadvisor comments. This was our first stay at Grasmere Hotel. In the mid-summer it was wonderful, excellent service and facilities. We will most certainly book again in this coming late autumn and winter time. And no doubt in the early spring too. If you love Lakeland you will adore the Grasmere Hotel.

Room Tip: Which room? Any room! Just turn up and be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grasmere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.