We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite recommendation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Moss House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Moss House
Save
You added White Moss House to your Saves list
Rydal Water, Grasmere LA22 9SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“A definite recommendation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Just a quick note to say a massive "thank you" to our wonderful hosts at White Moss House. Thanks for your outstanding hospitality; the amazing food and sharing with us your knowledge of the local countryside and history. We would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to others. We had such a great time and have raved about the food in particular since our trip! We particularly enjoyed cosying up in front of a roaring log fire at the end of a fabulous walk. Our bedroom was peaceful, warm, cosy and perfectly equipped. Having a bath tub in the en-suite (which not many B&Bs have to offer)was a particular treat after trekking through the snow! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeloverGrasmere, owner at White Moss House, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    21
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Fantastic location, easy to find, parking facilities (difficult in the Lakes), friendly staff, great food, very clean...........

Greeted with a smile and a well needed cup of tea after our drive from Edinburgh (had to call for directions, after a few map reading arguments- which were very accurate) in the gorgous lounge in front of an open fire.

What more can I say, thanks for a lovely stay to celabrate our Wedding Anniversary, we will see you again next year.

Mr and Mrs Wilson

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeloverGrasmere, Owner at White Moss House, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford upon avon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

White Moss House having by all accounts been one of the best rated B&B's in the country is now rather old fashioned, no more than average and showing its age.
Our room, number three, was large with a comfortable mattress and modern tv but there the positives end. The room is on the front near the road and double glazed except that one of the panels was missing, the furniture was very old fashioned dark wood, the two chairs threadbare, the mirror marked through age, the bedding - sheets and elderly blankets.
The bathroom was tiny and accessed through a sort of cupboard door situated very close to the bed, had an avocado suite, mixer tap shower, badly needed regrouting around the bath, and had a washbasin that was stained brown and cracked.
The residents lounge was furnished with identical chintz covered chairs and reminded me of an elderly persons day centre from 30 years ago. The breakfast room sported elderly dark wood tables and chairs badly in need of woodstain.
Breakfast itself was ok, except the porridge was watery and bland and the portions of the full english somewhat nouvelle cuisine, a tiny bit of scrambled egg, and the smallest piece of black pudding i've ever seen.
White Moss House was clean and the staff friendly, but overall it is well past it's sell by date and cannot possibly justify the price of £108 B&B per night for a double room, despite the free bottle of wine apparently offered to all guests in November.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeloverGrasmere, owner at White Moss House, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
We are sorry this guest did not enjoy his stay. The guests who stayed in the same room the following weekend have already rebooked it for 2010! We have been waiting for the made to measure replacement double glazing for some weeks, and it should be in place very soon. The lounge and dining room are furnished with antiques in keeping with the age and history of this Wordsworth house.
It is clears that most guests love it, but some don't!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Moss House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Moss House

Address: Rydal Water, Grasmere LA22 9SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the poet William Wordsworth, now an historic AA 4 star Guest House. Located between Rydal Water and Grasmere in the heart of the Lake District. Large Wordsworth lounge with log fire, garden and terrace for guests. Licensed for guests to enjoy an excellent selection of reasonably priced wines, spirits and bottled beers. Free use of local leisure club, free fishing, large free car park. Wonderful walks from the door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Moss House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.