We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wordsworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wordsworth Hotel to your Saves list
The Wordsworth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and felt that this hotel is really doing its very best to provide a good customer experience. All the staff are friendly and helpful. When the morning paper wasn’t delivered, the receptionist was all for popping out to another shop to see if she could get it there.

The hotel itself is lovely with comfortable sitting rooms and bar. The dinner both nights was very good indeed, especially the dessert for 2 with a selection of 6 different items. Most places would charge a supplement for this. To have it included just gave it the wow factor. Breakfasts were cooked to order; so much nicer than items sitting around on a hotplate. And there was plenty of fresh fruit. There were even bowls of fruit in the lounge.

Super bathroom, with a good shower, but shower gel and shampoo were not replaced on day 2.
In view of the fact that there was a spa, it was a pity that they had sold out of swimsuits and failed to restock.

Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    164
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
105
447
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at a last minute pre-Christmas break and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated lovely for Christmas with a roaring log fire in reception. Our room was large with a 2 seater sofa easy chair and massive comfy bed. The lounges were lovely as was the bar with plenty of comfy chairs. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and we enjoyed breakfast each morning with plenty of choice you couldn't wish for more. Our second day was dreadful weather wise so we enjoyed a couple of hours in the spa all by ourselves. We also hsd a very nice meal in the adjoiningDove bar. Our only niggle was the heat in our room, heating off fan on window open it was still too hot, but all in all a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in this traditional hotel on a deal including Dinner on the first night.
We paid to upgrade to 'Village View' - (Room 10, above reception) - , . Bedroom was of a good size and traditionally furnished, and a large contemporary bathroom with quality finishes. Public rooms were welcoming and log fires gave a terrific ambience.
Restaurant Staff, service and food were excellent. So much so, we chose to repeat the experience on the second night. Pre-dinner drinks in the conservatory, a leisurely browse through the menu, and complimentary canapés set the tone for two lovely evenings.
The great location provides varied walks and things to do in the village without getting back in the car. Try the walk past Dove cottage, along the 'coffin route ' towards Ambleside, and dropping down to complete a circuit of the lake. Or the (more challenging) circular walk up to Alcock Tarn....plus many more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Wordsworth, we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in a village view room at this lovely looking hotel next to the famous Gingerbread shop. The staff were all most obliging and helpful - especially Kim and Susan on Reception and the Maitre d' was delightful. The room, although unremarkable - a rather shabby carpet and an extremely limited amount of actual hanging space for dresses (about 6") vying with an ironing board and shelves full of bedding items in a very small wardrobe, no full length mirror plus very dim lighting - was extremely clean and comfortable. The immaculate bathroom was newly renovated and was excellent. The four course dinner was fabulous as was the service in the restaurant. The breakfast was pleasant especially the delicious croissant which would rival any served in France. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how well you were looked after on your recent visit and our pastry chef will be delighted to hear your comments on the croissants! Have a great Christmas and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

After having a not so fab experience earlier in the year felt it was time we went back as we had stayed so many tomes before and been very happy. What can I say so glad we returned! Stayed in garden room no 7 (must have been an upgrade!) and what a room, the bathroom may be small but why would you need a large bathroom? The room was airy and light and comfy and the views were amazing slept soundly both nights which is rare for me.
We stayed for dinner in the Signature restaurant both nights and the service and food were excellent and we both enjoyed all the courses. The staff throughout were polite and friendly and we felt welcomed (which had been a little worry of mine after my airing of my issues last time - wasn't sure we would be welcome back).
Breakfast was a challenge for the staff everyone came down in the same 15 mins! but they dealt with delays with smiles and apologies beautifully and the breakfast are always worth the wait.
Defiantly five stars and can't wait to return

Room Tip: room 7 - lovely not quite a suite but feels special enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed for our 5th year running and we were not at all disappointed. For the first time in five years we were upgraded to the beautiful Scott Suite which made our stay even more special.

Food as always was fantastic (compliments to the chef and his team). We were looked after very well by all staff but Dom and Alex stand out above the rest.

Receptionist staff are now so much more friendly than previous years we have visited.

Having stayed at other hotels in Grasmere, in my opinion this is by far the best for food, rooms and overall experience.

Thank you for a beautiful stay, see you in 2014.

Room Tip: Village view are nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slaidburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

What can I say... this is a wonderful hotel. My wife and I married there in 2002 and it was flawless. We return every year around our anniversary to the same room we had for our wedding weekend. We have stayed at this hotel 13 times in total!! The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. We have seen it change management and more recently, owner over the years and can honestly say it just gets better each time we visit. Mr. Garside's investment in the hotel has relieved a slightly tired (but reassuringly "homely") feel, and not now feels like a true 4* hotel again. The food is amazing, and whilst one may doubt being "able to be full" at the end of it, the meals are genuinely filling. It is more a case of being full on the magnificent flavours, rather than quantities. Having said that, since Mr. Garside has taken ownership we have noticed that the portions do appear to have increased in size! The best of both worlds! The grounds are beautifully kept and the "gym" has seen a modest increase in equipment. Catalin (the manager) and his staff are magnificent. We cannot really fault this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wordsworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.