We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our daughters wedding day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wordsworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wordsworth Hotel to your Saves list
The Wordsworth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Cumbia, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our daughters wedding day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a fantastic weekend for our daughters wedding. Everything went smoothly all the staff were very helpful nothing is too much for them Caitlin was a great help particularly with the organisation of the wedding we couldn't have wished for more

The hotel is charming and all the rooms are great very clean and absolutely the most comfy beds

The food is of a very high standard at our wedding breakfast everything came out boiling hot and the barbecue we had later was of the same high standard we couldnt have asked for more
I would recommend this hotel for weekend breaks and especially have the hotel for exclusive use which we did for the wedding.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    144
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
99
377
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed at The Wordsworth Hotel from 5th to 9th August with my mum. We booked a courtyard room which had no view and was a very small room for 2 people. One of the main reasons for booking the hotel was for the wifi (which was supposed to be throughout the hotel), but it was virtually impossible to get it in the bedroom and very patchy in the rest of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing, although there was also the option of a cooked breakfast too. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and also in The Dove Bistro which was also good.
The bar and lounge needed to change the music each night as Frank Sinatra became a bit repetitive !
It felt like the hotel were trying to save money in a number of areas - no nuts/crisps were served with bar drinks and bathroom accessories were very limited !
We were sick and had to extend our stay and the staff were very helpful and kind in giving us a reduced rate on the extra night and throughout our illness.
Grasmere itself is definitely the most picturesque village to stay in in The Lakes having visited there many times before. I will be coming back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us your thoughts, we are very glad to hear you and your mum enjoyed your evening meals with us and it was a pleasure to organise support for you from our local medical centre and help you through your illness.

Our courtyard rooms are the smallest in the house, we do not pretend they are anything else and this is reflected in their pricing and the way we describe them on the phone and website. These rooms do not have views as they look onto an internal courtyard, we wish all of our rooms could have the views, living rooms and spacious bedrooms our top rooms have but unfortunately in a historic building such as ours this is not possible.

I am very sorry to hear you did not like our buffet which is intended as a starter to the freshly cooked hot breakfasts. We get lots of positive feedback on the buffet which includes cereals, berry compotes, fruit yoghurt, natural yoghurt, prunes poached in earl grey , apricots poached in syrup and vanilla, Platters of cured meats, selection of British cheeses, pan au chocolat, croissants and fresh fruit juices.

We are in the process of looking at our Wi-Fi system which has been intermittent over the last week, we are very sorry this affected your stay and we are actioning the work to give us better consistency throughout the building.

We have not attempted to save money in the areas you suggest in fact it has been quite the opposite. We have recently moved our toiletries to Temple Spa who offer excellent quality premium toiletries and we also serve handmade canapés in the bar each evening to our diners, we have considered serving nibbles but feel canapés are a nicer treat and crisps and nuts are available for purchase from the bar.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a wonderful venue for our wedding, the location, hotel, gardens, staff and food were all excellent. The staff were on hand 24/7 to ensure our every need was met, nothing was too much trouble and every one of our guests commented upon the excellent service. We couldn't have chosen anywhere better to return to celebrate our future wedding anniversaries, however we are certain to go back more often than that. Outstanding!

Room Tip: Certain rooms have views of the fells, ask reception when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Wordsworth Hotel and Spa from 2 to 4 August, after booking a last minute break earlier that week. All I can say is that, after visiting the Lakes since I was a child, this was by far the best hotel in the Lakes in which I've ever stayed. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very nice too and came with complimentary Temple Spa products.

The swimming pool and jacuzzi were excellent and my wife also had a massage at the hotel spa, which she said was brilliant. We also had breakfast each morning (which was included in the price) and this consisted of a cold buffet and a hot breakfast, cooked to order. We were very impressed! Plus the location is ideal - it is right in the middle of Grasmere, which is one of the most picturesque little villages in the Lakes.

We will definitely be coming back to the Wordsworth in the future and we would certainly recommend it to any travellers, young or old.

Room Tip: We had a double room with a village view, which was on the top floor of the hotel and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not usually one for writing these things but had such a fantastic time at this hotel. My husband booked us a one night DBB deal for our wedding anniversary and it was a pleasure from start to end, beginning with a complementary room upgrade to a suite on check in. Room (Ruskin Suite) was lovely with views from every window. Hotel is great, spa great, food divine, location fantastic but what really made this a weekend to remember was the friendly, helpful staff and exceptional service. They really go the extra mile. My husband and I rarely visit the same place twice, preferring to find new adventures.. But will definitely make an exception in this case. Wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Location, location. Excellent food, the best from breakfast to evening meal. Lounge and bar to leave to a wonderful bedroom. Well worth a visit, best hotel I have been to in the lakes.

Grasmere is an ideal location to travel the Lakes or just stay and enjoy the local area.

Oh and the staff can not be more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding and the service was exceptional, the public areas beautiful but our room whilst nicely decorated was a bit dated, particularly the bathroom. One issue was changing for the wedding, getting offered the communal changing room for the leisure facilities just isn't good enough, trying to get into a kilt when folk are milling around with small kids is horrendous. The food was brilliant too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear funster147,

We are very glad to hear you were impressed with the service, food and success of your friends wedding, unfortunately we can only guarantee all our bedrooms by 3.30pm and as the ceremony was at 1.30pm it does inevitably mean that some guests attending need to arrive dressed and ready to go or alternatively as you mentioned we do have the leisure facilities changing rooms which are available.

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review and we hope to see you soon

Joe Nichols
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Ambleside Cumbia, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasmere’s Wordsworth Hotel and Spa is a legendary 4 star hotel in the heart of The Lake District. We have carefully refurbished this historic hotel retaining its great ambience, character and charm whilst ensuring it has that stylish and luxurious edge that you expect.Family owned and operated with special attention to detail, we always aim to exceed your expectations and many of our guests return time after time.Beautifully set in two acres of riverside gardens, we have amazing views of the mountains and Grasmere Vale providing the perfect spot to relax, explore, indulge or pamper.We are located next to The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop and St Oswalds Church with shops, Dove Cottage and other delightful attractions all in close walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wordsworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.