We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, plan to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wordsworth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Wordsworth Hotel to your Saves list
The Wordsworth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambleside Cumbia, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Grasmere
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing, plan to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for one night Sat 3rd and have to say we could not have been happier.
Room was beautiful
Food was stunning, hot, sufficient a nd served professionally

The staff were fantastic
Liked it so much we hav booked a three day break for our Silver Wedding in Oct

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    144
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
99
377
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at The Wordsworth for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The location is so beautiful and peaceful. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. We must also comment about the fabulous staff who were very helpful, warm and friendly as was the lady at the Spa were we had a wonderful relaxing massage. The food was first class.
We would highly recommend The Wordsworth for a first class experience.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is superbly loacted right in the centre of Grasmere and has ample parking. The staff are friendly and courteous. The hotel has obviously had a lot of money spent on it recently and the fixtures and fittings seem new. Our room was well equipped, comfortable, and the wifi is a bonus, especially as the mobile signal (tmobile/orange) is non existent in the village.
On the negative side, this hotel is expensive for what you get - for me it just didn't represent value - but that is true of the whole of Grasmere, a pretty place but definately not light on the wallet.
The breakfast was average in quality and the service slow. Our room was not cleaned at all on the Saturday. You cannot access the sauna from the pool without dripping down a carpeted public corridor - and then you have to turn the sauna on and wait huddled over it for warmth. As its on a 20 min timer, its just about hot enough when it switches itself off. The whirlpool is more of a warm bath than an invigorating experience.
All pretty minor points that had this place not been charging top whack I wouldn't have minded - but if you want to bill yourself as four star and charge four star prices, you have to ensure the standards and service match up.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
I'm sorry you were disappointed with The Lake District as whole, with regard to your comments on the hotel: sorry for the slow service at breakfast everything is freshly prepared to order which is why there can sometimes be a short delay. I am shocked your room was not serviced, did you put the do not disturb sign up? If not you should have told reception and housekeeping would have cleaned it immediately. The sauna is new, and as we have built a mixed one due to health and safety you cannot access it from the changing rooms. Phone service can be poor in the area, but it is the most beautiful part of the country and I'm glad we do not have phone masts everywhere spoiling this wonderful part of the national park. As you will see from our other reviews most people think we are deserving of 4 stars and 2 AA rosettes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in July 2011 for my Mum's wedding. We phoned a few days before to ask for a nice room and we were given a room upstairs that had recently been renovated. It was a lovely room with nice decor. Not much of a view, but we didn't mind. We requested a fan as it was a muggy weekend and the rooms can get very warm. We got one of the last fans and some of our family members were stuck without one. My sisters and Mum and I all got manicures from the beauty therapist attached to the hotel (Lime), which was first class. We also enjoyed the use of the spa (swimming pool and jacuzzi) and my sister used the gym facilities. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a lovely gazebo for outside weddings. Unfortunately it was a wet weekend, so the wedding had to be indoors. However, the Wordsworth Hotel had a lovely room for the wedding ceremony with a large bay window. The reception was held in the conservatory so it was very light and the next best thing to being outside. The wedding came together beautifully on the day thanks to the hotel staff. The canapes and wedding meal were excellent. Breakfast was a bit of an issue - the breakfast orders took a long time to come out and mistakes were made. Our cafetiere was leaking grains of coffee which made it undrinkable, so this had to be changed a few times before I was happy with the coffee. But the staff member sorted this out for me herself and was very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again - it is a lovely charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for you kind words, we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This hotel is in the beautiful village of Grasmere in the Lake District. We checked in for 1 night and was told the room was £120.00 per room per night. After accepting the very nice lady upgraded us to a suite on the second floor. The room was beautiful, very well decorated with a lovely large bed although I think for a suite it was a little small. When we arrived the restaurant was really busy which I would think was a good recommendation although we didn't eat there. We ate in the Red Lion but felt this was a big mistake and wished we had made every effort to eat in the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was a really relaxing experience. We didn't use the swimming pool and spa but it looked fabulous and when we have a return visit we will definitely give it a go!! I would definitely recommend this hotel in a beautiful area of Cumbria.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
I wish you had eaten with us, you definitely would not have regretted it! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Wordsworth for a last minute family get away with myself, husband and four children. staff great, suites are perfect size for large families, sofa beds fold out to have 2 extra double beds. Restaurant food excellent, bistro a little pricey for what you get, but still good. only complaint was that in pool changing rooms there is nowhere to change/dry a baby. overall very good!

Room Tip: ruskin suite has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We are glad you had a good time with us at The Wordsworth, thanks for the comments about baby changing - they are new changing rooms so all opinions welcome as we don't learn what they need unless you tell us so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

v lovely staff, the restaurant serves excellent excellent food - enjoyed all the meals we had there. v peaceful place to be, try to enjoy a afternoon walk by the lake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
I appreciate your positive comments, however was a little insulted about being referred to as a cross between a B&B and a hotel. We are a 4 star 2AA Rosette and one of the best hotels in the area and have just been short-listed as hotel of the year for the Westmorland Gazette business awards! Although I'm sure you didn't mean to offend us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Ambleside Cumbia, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#3 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grasmere’s Wordsworth Hotel and Spa is a legendary 4 star hotel in the heart of The Lake District. We have carefully refurbished this historic hotel retaining its great ambience, character and charm whilst ensuring it has that stylish and luxurious edge that you expect.Family owned and operated with special attention to detail, we always aim to exceed your expectations and many of our guests return time after time.Beautifully set in two acres of riverside gardens, we have amazing views of the mountains and Grasmere Vale providing the perfect spot to relax, explore, indulge or pamper.We are located next to The Grasmere Gingerbread Shop and St Oswalds Church with shops, Dove Cottage and other delightful attractions all in close walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wordsworth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.