We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dove Cottage. Very atmospheric and personal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dove Cottage

Dove Cottage
A591 | 1 mi south of Grasmere, Grasmere LA22 9SH, England
015394 35544
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 Attractions in Grasmere
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take guided tours of the home and garden of William Wordsworth, who lived here from 1799 to 1808.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Dove Cottage. Very atmospheric and personal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

William Wordsworth's inspirational home for about eight years. Entrance to the Cottage and Museum was £7.50 for adults. I thought that it was a little expensive but, after visiting both attractions, it turned out to be a bargain. You can wander around the Wordsworth Museum and Art Gallery unaccompanied but you must take a guided tour of Dove Cottage itself. We loved the personal effects and photographs of Wordsworth, his sister and contemporaries, some of whom were drug inspired. We were a bit disappointed that we could not take a few photographs in Dove Cottage though.

The guide was excellent. She had a lot of knowledge of both Wordsworth and his friends but also of the world in which he lived. Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    81
    21
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Part of our Heritage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What interesting morning we spent looking and being part of the home of one our most famous poets. The guide was not only interesting but had a great wealth of knowledge about her subject. She not only knew about Wordsworth but also the times he lived in. We went on a misty, dank Saturday morning which in truth added to the experience as it made Dove Cottage the dark atmospheric place it used to be. Worth a visit and the price was just as we expected.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We're not huge fans of the poetry of William Wordsworth but this was extremely interesting all the same, especially when combined with the Wordsworth museum next door. We'd avoided Dove Cottage in the past, imagining that we'd be herded round as quickly as possible in a huge group of tourists, but this wasn't the case at all. The tour took about 25 minutes and the accompanying talk was extremely informative and humorous too. It provided a real insight into the Wordsworths' lives and I've now bought an edition of Dorothy's journal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Atmospheric visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved this, and were lucky enough to be part of a very small group of 7, which allowed us to feel the beauty and atmosphere. Abby, who did the tour, was super. She was very knowledgeable, but delivered it with laughter and a lightness of touch which made the past seem very close

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Think that my kids were probably just slightly too young for this, but it was interesting. The tour round the cottage was enlightening but there wasn't that much in the museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dove Cottage also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Dove Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dove Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.