We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, excellent facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, excellent facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is perhaps the fifth time we have visited Tony and Shirley in Grasmere and this trip did not fail to impress. They make a point of welcoming their guests with some refreshments and a good update on visits and walks which might be of interest. The accommodation is warm, well appointed and has stunning views. The bedrooms have lovely bed linen and warm, fluffy towels, and absolutely everything you might need in order to relax. Nothing has been forgotten, and attention to detail is key. The location is superb and the road not too busy, so that the guest achieves the quietest night's sleep possible. The gardens are delightful and it still amazes me that just over the wall are fields and mountains. I have visited hotels which have not been nearly as comfortable as Dunmail House. Breakfast: what can I say! If you can't find anything to suit your palate, I'll be amazed. The best breakfasts ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It was really great to see you both and thank you for staying with us again and taking the time to post such a glowing review.
Attention to detail is important to us and we are delighted you found time to relax in our home and beautiful garden.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We revisited Dunmail House in May this year (this is possibly our 10th year visiting this B&B, we would stay nowhere else in Grasmere!) - Shirley & Tony made us feel at home, as always. They keep a very warm, friendly B&B where you honestly feel as though you are going home. Boots are even carefully dried overnight ready for the next day. Warm, comfortable rooms all have excellent views and the breakfast is to die for with wide menu and homemade jam!!! There is plenty of parking without having to 'jostle' cars. Quiet back road behind Dunmail makes you straight onto fells with lots of bird life and red squirrels. We highly recommend Dunmail - it is a little jewel and if you have not visited yet you don't know what you are missing but the biggest plus is the relaxed friendly atmosphere - thanks S&T you make the holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear are quieter and have closer views of fells behind but all have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you both for your review, we really appreciate each one. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, but it was also a pleasure for us. We like to spend time in the lounge and catch up with our guests. This is part of our life here in the Lakes. We look forward to seeing you both again.

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us.

Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tony and Shirley gave us a really warm welcome serving us tea and home made cake. Superb location on the main Keswick Ambleside road and only 10mins walk into the village centre. The accommodation was second to none with wonderful views from our bedroom which had everything we needed. The breakfasts were fabulous with plenty of choice. Nothing is too much trouble for Shirley and Tony who make you feel part of their family. I would certainly recommend this venue to family and friends. A good indication of how good the guest house and the hosts are is the fact that during our stay there every guest who arrived were repeat visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Anne and George for choosing to write your first review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and it was a pleasure to meet you both.
It is good to hear you enjoyed our Award winning breakfast. We do try to source the majority of ingredients locally.
We would love to welcome you back to Dunmail anytime and thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite four days of rail, hail and a little sun, Tony & Shirley always had a warm welcome. Their breakfasts were superb and we had a very enjoyable stay in their home. Our room had everything we needed and a comfortable guests' lounge. The views from our room were stunning even with low cloud! Would certainly recommend this B&B in Grasmere where it was only walking distance into the village for a number of very good restaurants, thereby leaving the car parked at Dunmail House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It was our pleasure to meet you both and we are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

The views from Dunmail are as you say still beautiful even in poor weather and we are pleased the sun did show its face for a short while for you. As we have individual car parking spaces leaving your car is never a problem.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do appreciate your comments and hope we see you again next time you travel to Grasmere.

Thank you again
Tony and Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friend and I received a lovely warm welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits- really appreciated after the long journey we had. The room was really clean with a lovely view of Helm Crag. It was a five minute walk to Grasmere where there was lots of shops and restaurants.

Breakfast was fabulous and lots of choice too.

Shirley very kindly gave us some information on walks. We managed to comine a walk of Helm Crag, which had an amazing view of Lake Grasmere with a walk up to the Tarn which was stunning ( even in drizzly rain!) recommended to take a picnic and have lunch at the Tarn then walk back down by the waterfalls. We also had been given details of a lovely walk round the Lake the day before.

Thought Grasmere was fabulous. Perfect for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet you Giselle and your friend from Catalonia. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery around Grasmere and complete some walks from our door.

We really appreciate you kind comments and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Best Wishes

Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have stayed at Dunmail House 3 times now. We are always given a very warm welcome by Tony and Shirley. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the bed linen and towels are of the highest quality. Breakfasts are superb, with lots of choice. Nothing is too much trouble, and there is much attention to detail, which makes this B and B stand out from the rest. A large guest lounge, and facilities to leave boots and wet clothing add to the attraction. A lovely garden with wonderful views is a plus when the weather is being kind. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much Ann and Greg for staying with us again and for taking the time to write such a super review for us.

Our garden is certainly a great place to relax after a days walking on the fells and enjoy the views. Watching the Herdwick Lambs in the field behind the house is very entertaining.

We are looking forward to seeing you both again next year and thank you again.

All good wishes to you

Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at dunmail for 5 nights, we were given a warm welcome, cases taken to our room, tea & coffee and cakes in the lounge then we were left to our own devices. When we went in our room the 1st thing we noticed was how clean it was, the rooms are quite small and bathrooms even smaller but as you are only in the room to sleep it wasn't a problem. The breakfast were lovely everything very fresh and nothing to much trouble. There was a guest lounge &as the rooms were quite small this was great..
Thanks Shirley & tony for a great stay

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would ask for room 3 as this is at the back so you can't here the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you were able to meet up with your friends John and Val in our comfortable guest lounge and chat about your days walking. Your knowledge of the local walks and how many of these you managed to complete during your stay, despite inclement weather on some days, was impressive. We are pleased we could help with dry boots and coats.
Dunmail House was built in the early 1900's as a traditional lakeland home and the rooms reflect this. We are pleased you were able to relax with friends and enjoy a good nights sleep in one of our new five foot beds.
Thank for taking the time to write a review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Shirley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunmail House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunmail House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dunmail House to your Saves list