We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, warm and comfortable with very friendly welcome to match - excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunmail House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunmail House
Save
You added Dunmail House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean, warm and comfortable with very friendly welcome to match - excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Rooms very clean and comfortable, lovely decor lots of cushions! Spacious comfortable lounge and beautiful garden, all rooms have stunning views of fells and makes for a very peaceful stay despite proximity of main road. Car parking is easy with main road easily accessible. Very warm and friendly welcome with little details that make visitor feel comfortable, at home and that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is absoutely excellent with wide range of choices/menu, fresh food very well cooked. Homely is a cliche but in this case a comment very well deserved. Although this is situated a little outside main village, it is a little jewel! Once we found this B&B we have returned year after year, I can well recommend this to others looking for B&B at Grasmere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Friendly, caring and hard working hosts, very tasty breakfast, comfy bed, huge selection of DVD's to borrow, beautiful garden... many walks can be set off directly from Dunmail House and it's within walking distance from pretty Grasmere. Really to be recommended!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

This excellent b&b in the lovely village of Grasmere is a far cry from the commerciality of Ambleside as it nestles in the valley a short walk from the shops and restaurants. A fantastic welcome, everything clean and tidy with a very comfortable bed and good storage space. The breakfasts are excellent and will set up any walker for the day - packed lunches are also provided for a small sum and are excellent value as well. We were here during lambing so there was some late night farm traffic but all in all very quiet, the double glazing and thick curtains taking care of any disturbance. A great place to come back to and wake up in. I will definitely recommend this.

Room Tip: One for the address book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed only one night on our holiday but left wishing it could be many more .. Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful area, we woke to watch and listen to the sounds of a herd of cows heading towards their farm (or just out for a walk..).. Shirley & Tony are warm and helpful owners and we would certainly recommend Dunmail House to everyone. Good valus for money as well ..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Our first visit to Dunmail - we received a very warm welcome on arrival and during our visit we were made to feel at home. It was like home from home, the rooms, including the guest lounge, were very comfortably furnished. The breakfasts were brilliant, enough to last the day, even if going on a long walk. we definitely recommend this B&B and we will be returning to Dunmail on our next visit to the Lakes.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011 via mobile

We are in our 40s and felt a bit strange here at first as everyone was 60+ which was kind of nice really, allot like a visit to Nanna's on school holidays.
Dunmail is a lovely old place and apart from the shower being a tad on the small side it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Just got back from a weekend at dunmail. Theowners were away and it was being looked after by a friend of theirs dorothy. Dorothy was very welcoming. I thought it was a lovely b@b in a great location, grasmere being one of my favourite places. Room was ok but i really like a bath and i think bacause it is rated 5 star it should have a bath and shower. However this would not stop me returning. we were in room 1 a double and a single and the shower was not the best but lovely view of the mountaims made up for this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunmail House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunmail House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.