We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greens Cafe & Bistro

Greens Cafe & Bistro
College Street, Grasmere LA22 9SY, England
015394 35790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Grasmere
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Elloughton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Food and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a fantastic place. Great food and great service. Very friendly staff. The chef uses only the best ingredients and local produce.

It was also good that they accepted dogs. I saw a previous comment on here who down graded this restaurant based on this. YOU'RE IN THE LAKE DISTRICT!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    84
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Menu not extensive but the food on it is excellent. Well prepared and presented. The cheese board is also worthy of a mention , nice selection of cheeses with grapes , apple and chutney and also homemade biscuits. Prices average and service very good. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Desserts amazing - even with no egg or dairy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A great find in Grasmere. I can't eat dairy and egg and Karen was great in accommodating this and I even had a different dessert every day! Friendly, enthusiastic and nothing was too much trouble. It made my holiday and I'd highly recommend it for others to try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“GREAT cheese scone and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We visited Greens on a wet lakes day, halfway round our loop walk from Ambleside. Despite the pouring rain the outdoor seating was very well sheltered which allowed us to enjoy the view of the cells whilst refuelling.

Fresh coffee and great hot chocolate complimented the excellent cheese scone which is served with a generous slice of local cheese to compliment the cheese in and on the scone and all at very reasonable prices.

Service was efficient and greens is easy to find overlooking the green in the middle of Grasmere .

Following our scrummy pit stop we continued our loop via red banks and round Rural Water returning to ambleside. A very pleasant 9 mile walk.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasmere England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There is not much more that I can add to all the other reviews...........fantastic home made food......warm and friendly service ....great choices for vegetarians, vegans and gluten frees.........We had such a lovely evening at Greens this week, all five of us loved every mouthful of our food, thank you Karen and Rob for making going out for supper a memorable occasion.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greens Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.