We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and plentiful soup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greens Cafe & Bistro

Greens Cafe & Bistro
College Street, Grasmere LA22 9SY, England
015394 35790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Grasmere
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Friendly local cafe and bistro specialising in home cooked meals and home baked cakes. Wide range of special diets catered for including gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan and meat lovers too!
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty and plentiful soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Service was a bit chaotic in here, despite it being only half full, we had to approach the counter to get our food order taken after waiting a while, whilst others were served at the table promptly. However, the gluten free selection was brilliant and the food we had was very tasty. I ordered the bowl of soup, rather than a cup, it was more than enough and the bread roll accompaniment was warm and delicious. We ordered some gluten free cake to take away and it was wrapped in celophane and tied with a bow.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    83
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful! Warm and cosy just what you want when its chucking it down with rain outside. We visit every year, usually in October, accompanied by the grand parents. As usual the hot chocolate was superb, the cappuccino a coffee lovers delight and this year the sausage rolls and scones with jam and cream hit the spot. Well worth the visit, we look forward to next October.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Greens was recommended by the owners of the guest house where we were staying due to my wife's gluten intolerance. When we arrived, not only was there just as much choice for gluten free and vegetarian meals as there was for the normal menu, the food was absolutely superb, so much so that we returned every night. All too often, those with special dietary needs are left with very little choice but no so here. All the food is home made and so tasty that I also had two meals from the gluten free choices. The service is excellent, no long waits between courses and the owners, Robin and Karen, go out of their way to make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Whether you have special dietary needs or not, I would recommend Greens for a lovely meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They remembered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Grasmere during a rest day while walking the Cumbria Way. While ordering lunch the owner/cook came out and asked if we had walked the Coast to Coast Walk two years earlier. Remarkably we had, and she had remembered us. Wow! This is a great place for fresh, high quality food. We have eaten there three times and would make special trip to Grasmere to eat there again. The food and service make this restaurant a cut above.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea and hot chocolate/cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stopped here after a windswept walk on the fells and the hot drinks (chocolate) and cake/brownie combination was a real hit. Service was good and cafe had a nice ambience and attentive service. My son could not finish his brownie and they kindly wrapped it for him to take away. A nice touch.

Would go back if in the area again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greens Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Greens Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greens Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.