We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sliver Lea, Grasmere a great base to visit the Lake District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Lea
Save
You added Silver Lea to your Saves list
Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sliver Lea, Grasmere a great base to visit the Lake District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Silver Lea is a great place to stay and we would defintely strongly recommend it. The location is perfect, situated on a quiet lane, just a short walk from the village of Grasmere. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are delicious and the owners, Bill and Gill, are very helpful. We'll be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have stayed here for a week in a suite. Room 1 which is at the back of the B&B. Great views. The sitting area is not very large but it gives you the extra space for your walking gear. The two chairs are not very comfortable. At least not for me. (I am almost 2 meters tall and weighing 120 kg) The bed however is very comfortable. The shower didn't have much power. This problem is now solved according to the comment made by Bill on an earlier review.
Breakfast is ok. I missed my sausage. This was my first cooked breakfast without one.
The location of the B&B is excellent. Not too far from the village and you can start your walk straight from the cottage. There is a COOP in Grasmere (Here we bought our milk for lunch) and there are a few shops where you can get some sandwiches or baguettes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Attractive house with great views. Very welcoming and comfortable room with all amenities. Easy walk into the village for dinner and right on the Coast to Coast route so, all in all, a good place to stay.
General note: We only did the 1st half of the Coast to Coast from St Bees to Kirkby Stephen. Our trip was organised very well by Mac’s Adventures. In addition to the accommodation reviewed here, we also stayed at the Jolly Farmers, Kirkby Stephen, The Stork Hotel, Frizington/Ennerdale Bridge, Yew Cragg Guesthouse, Rosthwaite, Home Farm, Patterdale, Crown & Mitre, Bampton and Barnhouse, Orton.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Bill and Gill, the owners, offer spacious, comfortable, no-frills and spotlessly clean accommodation with a substantial and beautifully cooked breakfast - packed lunches are available upon request. Silver Lea is a short walk from the pretty village of Grasmere which has interesting shops and places to eat. There are plenty of walks in the vicinity - setting off from Silver Lea - and Bill and Gill, who are both keen walkers, are always happy to advise and help plan your route. They also give you a daily weather report which is most valuable! Our large room had a huge and comfortable bed with lots of windows and fantastic views onto the fells and we especially loved the 'sitting area' with coffee and tea making facilities, tv and books - a place to chill and relax after a day's walking and before going out to eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed in room 1 which is a suite. This room has an amazing view. It is a twin room but the beds were put together to make a very comfortable and spacious king size bed. It is a very comfortable, clean and quiet room. The bathroom is rather dated and the shower was piddly. It is a only a few minutes walk to the centre of Grasmere where there are some reasonable places to dine in the evening. The owners, Bill and Gill are friendly and helpful but unobtrusive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverlea, Owner at Silver Lea, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Silver Lea. As you kindly pointed out we did have an intermittent plumbing issue in your room. This has now been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Silver Lea. Just a short walk from the village, it's position was perfect. Our room was lovely - it was clean and well maintained with good facilities. It also had beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Breakfasts were delicious and more than set you up for the day ahead. We were welcomed warmly and advice on walking/weather/places to eat/things to do was readily offered.
We would highly recommend Silver Lea and plan to return there ourselves again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Silver Lea will definitely exceed your expectations. Really nice, fresh, clean rooms and an excellent breakfast is on offer at this delightful B&B in Grasmere. The owners are very friendly, but discrete and offer very good advice on many fell walks and best routes to take. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Lea

Address: Easedale Road, Grasmere LA22 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Lea is a traditional detached Lakeland house situated in a quiet location within easy walking distance of Grasmere village (300m). Our rooms are all spacious and comfortable with excellent views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.