We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Restaurant at Lancrigg Vegetarian Country House Hotel
Easedale | Grasmere - Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9QN, England
+44 (0)15394 35317
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
chennai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yum :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The 3 course choices, plating and the service :)
All the meals were wonderful, and served in hatted restaurant quality.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    11
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We returned to Lancrigg for a 50th birthday family meal last weekend and weren't disappointed. We stayed here for my husband's 40th birthday & decided to return to Grasmere ten years on. Although we didn't stay at Lancrigg this time we were delighted to eat in the restaurant. As a family of vegetarians it is wonderful to have such a choice of delicious food. It is a little pricey but we enjoyed everything that we ate. We paid comparable amounts at other restaurants in the area for a very limited range of veggie options of a much poorer quality. The hotel is in a beautiful location and feels a little remote in the dark. The walk back to Grasmere was quite an adventure- thank goodness for the torch app on our I-phones! We will definitely be back at Lancrigg (hopefully sooner that the 60th birthday!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant over the August BH weekend. I travel the world extensively and eat at vegan restaurants on a regular basis. I found Lancrigg to be dull and old fashioned in the food they served, not to mention over priced.

I mentioned on several occasions that I required vegan and wheat-free food, but my starter still arrived with sourdough bread on it and had to be sent back. I chose the falafel for my starter and found it tasted overwhelmingly of mint. My main course was a puy lentil shepherd's pie. It was very under-seasoned, came with a measly portion of steamed veg, and tasted overwhelmingly of celery. For desert I chose the chocolate, toffee nut sundae. The waitress told me it was layers of ice-cream, cream, toffee, nuts and biscuit. I was presented with a glass of melted ice-cream with no sign of toffee, nuts or biscuit, but plenty of ice-crystals. I left most of it - there is nothing more unpleasant than melted ice-cream. The meal came to £30 (not including drinks). It was certainly not worth this. The food was average to say the least, and very over-priced for the quality.

Wheat or dairy must have gotten into my meal at some point because I was sick as a dog the next morning. This infuriates me when you clearly state that you are vegan and wheat-free when booking and when ordering your chosen dishes.

Lazy, dull food with a lack of imagination. Could do much, much better.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Afte a hike up to easdale tarn we came across this wonderful hidden treasure. I cannot express how beautiful the grounds are and how friendly the staff were. We also asked to look around the rooms while we there and we're equally impressed. Food reasonably priced (all veg) and very imaginative. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Not sure what the other reviewers are on about but all I can say that the two evening meals we had were excellent. A litttle expensive but the quality and choice of dishes are surberb.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Lancrigg Vegetarian Country House Hotel also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Restaurant at Lancrigg Vegetarian Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Lancrigg Vegetarian Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.