We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Farm & Nice Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yew Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yew Tree Farm
Save
You added Yew Tree Farm to your Saves list
A590, Coniston LA21 8DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Coniston B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Farm & Nice Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in May 2012 and really enjoyed it. An authentic farm with very warm friendly hosts. Beautiful surrounding to start a hike. Caroline, the landlady, gave us a very nice welcome to the house. She also ensured that each room had cakes and milk everyday; even if we were out and coming late we would find a tray in the hallway with cakes and milk to help ourselves. The ginger and chocolate cakes were delicious, but the ginger one particularly was to die for!! Breakfast was really good too. Better to choose in advance to ensure it's prepared on time the day after but you'd have to be up at the required time for breakfast, where we also got the chance to meet nice people. Caroline gave us good recommendations where to dine in the area and neighbour town.
We chose the Yew Tree Farm based on the very good review from Trip Advisor and are pleased to have made a good choice. It's a nice retreat to be in the countryside and have a taste of farm life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Once again a very memorable stay at this historic and stunning farm. If you like IKEA, and plastic modern decor this is not the place for you. Low ceilings and doors, squeaky floors and very big comfy beds are what Yew Tree Farm is all about. If you are interested in history it is a must. If you love England and all that is good about it, this place must be on your itinerary.
Caroline and Jon are very friendly and welcoming. Tea and cake awaits everyday when you get back from your hikes around Coniston. The breakfast is delicious and stars their fabulous heritage meat. Port available in the cosy lounge to warn you after those cold rainy days. A must stay for anyone visiting the Lakes; we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Friendly, helpful hosts, Jon & Caroline made us very welcome!
Clean and well cared for B&B with history and individuality. William Morris wallpaper, grandfather clock and handsome stuffed foxes! Authentic, attention to detail in all areas.
Nice touches... fresh flowers, locally sourced toiletries, freshly made cake, complimentary Port.
Generous breakfast using Heritage meat's delicious bacon, free range eggs..
All in a stunning location.
We could go on, but the best thing to do is to go yourself. We know we will be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Caroline and Jon are very hard working young couple raising two children and tending to their farm as well as running a first class B&B. The rooms were what you would expect from a near original farm house that is 300+ years old. Very quaint and unique and kept very clean, with modern bath facility. If you like history you will be right at home here. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed trekking around the farm.

Room Tip: The Tarns Hals room is very quaint and is in the oldest part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here on our way home from Scotland. What a wonderful place! We only wish we'd been there for longer! Caroline and Jon are great hosts. Breakfast was delicious - pancakes with fresh fruit was just one option! The rooms are delightfully special with a lovely touch of homemade cake! The house has a lot of history, but Caroline and Jon have made it a really special place to stay. The location of the farm is beautiful and is in the heart of the Lake District. We'll be back for longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We seek out accommodation with character and a sense of history, and we wanted a place to stay from which we could go for walks in the beautiful Lake District countryside without always having to drive to a starting point ... plus we are very concerned about animal welfare and sustainability. All these factors come together at Yew Tree Farm.

The building is fascinating and atmospheric. The copious breakfasts, with meat from surely some of the most contentedly free-range and sustainably farmed animals on the planet, were delicious and kept us going until afternoon teatime. Walks and restaurants/pubs recommended by the owners were perfectly judged. It is worth mentioning that people who like making noise should not consider staying here: some of the room divisions are plain old wood panels, blackened with age. Consideration of other guests is important on this front - but we had no problem at all with it. Our room (Wetherlam) was smaller than it looks in the photo on the website, and rather dark, but well furnished and comfortable, with a luxurious bathroom. We also enjoyed the guests' lounge with open fire and complimentary port; and the slices of home-made cake that appeared in our rooms each day for tea were a pleasant surprise. Altogether highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived and were promptly met by Jon, and then passed along to the "official" greeter of the farm, William, the turkey and his mate, Lady Kate. Right on their heels was a collection of dogs, ducks and chickens, and beyond, beautiful hillside views and herds of sheep and cattle, all with perfect manners, by the way.
The 1693 house was beautifully kept and very comfortable. Our home comprised of a dining room easily accomodating three parties. On the opposite side of the hall, a tea room with Beatrix Potter's belongings. Toward the back of the original home was a cozy lounge with overstuffed furniture, a wood fire was laid for the cooler evening hours and soothing bottle of port awaited our visit.
The second floor had the three guest rooms. Our room was large, and cozy (after you learned to "Bend or Bump" under the beams and through the doorways. The fourposter was much too large to fit in any of our suitcases, but not for the lack of trying. So it is still there for the enjoyment of others. We both slept like babies for four wonderful nights.....then in the morning, used the "rain shower" with plenty of hot water. Every day we had five choices of hot breakfasts (the crepe type pancakes with fruit and honey were my personal favorites) along with cereal, toast, fresh fruit and juices, all of which you shared in the company of the other guests. In our case, it was a young mother from southern England with her very pretty daughter and a charming couple from Australia (we would have loved to have spent more time with them.)
At the end of each day, we unlocked the front door with our own keys, making us feel very much at home, and wondered to the parlor to relax in front of a wood fire with a generous serving of port. Then off to our rooms. Each night a small table was set with tea and coffee and fresh milk as well as homemade shortbread. One evening it was shortbread with caramel topped with dark chocolate. Caroline nearly had a knock on the door with me begging "Please ma'am, may I have some more?"
If you are looking for granite counter tops in the bath, plush carpeting, floor to ceiling windows and a 42" TV.....this is NOT the place for you! But if you want to snuggle into a piece of late Victorian farm life with the company of the wonderful Robyn, Caroline, Jon, the children, William and Kate......then sign up quickly... this is perfect!
A note of warning though.....if you wish to be greeted by William....don't arrive in the rain. He doesn't like to get his wattle wet!
There was one teeny tiny problem......I kept watching for Beatrix in the front tea room. I have a wonderful story line I wanted to share with her about some royal turkeys, six ducks who sleep in the driveway and two baby black lambs. She never showed!
Thank you all for a wonderful stay, If we ever have the good fortune to return to your beautiful lakes district, you know we will be there!
Judy and Duncan
Coast of Maine, USA

Room Tip: Tarn Hows has a wonderful king sized bed and overlooks the farmyard and driveway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Yew Tree Farm, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Well what can I say! I was completely blown away by your wonderful comments, this sort of review really makes all the hard work worth while. Thanks you so much for the time and effort you have put in to review us, you really have cheered me up on a gloomy day. I very much hope we see you again. Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Farm

Address: A590, Coniston LA21 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Beatrix Potter and used as Hill top in the film 'Miss Potter' Yew Tree offers a unique place to stay. We offer luxurious historic guest accommodation in the Farm house, you can take a break from the modern world and step back in time. Our guest quarters have been exquisitely refurbished working with all the original features we have interior designed in period style giving the house exceptional character and a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Farm Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yew Tree Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.