We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just smile!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn Coniston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crown Inn Coniston to your Saves list
Crown Inn Coniston
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Coniston B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just smile!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Would rather eat her food at the bar than serve us to book in!
I will be with you soon, when she did she was still chewing on her dinner while taking our order!
Room ws great and clean.
Food over priced, better value over the road at the Black Bull for us....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    67
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
37
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were staying locally so ate out at a few of the pubs and I can honestly say this was the worst for food . The food was just presented badly and very over priced for what it was considering the lack of business. We called here after a long walk expecting better after reading other reviews. Well overpriced but average bar food. There are better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Crown is centrally located in The Lake District, so ideally suited for days out in all directions. If you want to give the car a rest there are 2 bus services which facilitate good connections throughout The Lakes.

The accommodation is clean and attractive. The staff are friendly and helpful and give good service. Wonderful evening meals (large choice of dishes), marvellous breakfasts - good sized portions.

A nice bar with good beers etc - nice mix of locals and visitors. We feel very at home here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesborough
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

18 of us stayed here for two nights and it was my second visit.(the first about 7 years ago) Ideally situated with clean and comfortable rooms. Food ok, not a fantastic choice and quite expensive for typical 'bar meal food'. My friends and I thought the bar man was totally miserable, (the older one) even though between the 18 of us we were spending hundreds! In fact they lost our custom on the Saturday night due to him, and we went elseware for a drink. No music and not much atmosphere. The restaraunt staff were fine, and we had a great weekend despite the negatives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good parking, good rooms, Food is a bit expensive for what's on offer, but it was Ok.
The bar itself was fine apart from no music option. The worst part was the service in the bar, the staff behind the bar were so miserable that it was a good job we all remembered we were there to enjoy ourselves.
A customer care course wouldn't go a miss

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Just had a 2 night stay at the Crown Inn. Good value for money and a perfect central location with ample carparking space. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and even though the radiators didn't seem to be on, was very warm. (Would have been nice to open the window a little but couldn't manage it). We had great view of the hills. Couldn't fault the breakfast, all fresh ingredients perfectly cooked and the staff were very attentive. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Great area for walking, sketching and the beer's excellent too!!

Room Tip: Room 10 was fine with view of hills and could just see Coniston Old Man.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Good foods beers and atmosphere makes this place a place to visit.
Car park ok and out door seating is a bonus.
Staff great and for us they are dog friendly so we will now spend more time here.
Top marks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Inn Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn Coniston

Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn Coniston 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description for Crown Hotel, Coniston - Twelve comfortable ensuite bedrooms offering 24hr reception and daily housekeeping.The Crown Hotel Coniston situated in the heart of the English Lake District surrounded by some of the worlds finest scenery. The Lake district is ideal for all outdoor interests such as walking, fishing, sailing, and mountain biking, or at a slower pace you can enjoy visiting Brantwood (John Ruskins home), Hilltop home of Beatrix Potter, The Ruskin Museum, or take a trip aboard the steam yacht Gondola. A warm Lakeland welcome to the Crown Hotel situated in the center of Coniston village. Offering fine ales, good food and superb hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Inn Coniston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Coniston Hotel Coniston
Crown Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn Coniston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.