We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterhead Hotel to your Saves list
Waterhead Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Waterhead hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and enjoy our first break with our baby. I am sad to say we were disappointed.
We booked a family room (travelled with our 9 month old). The room was not suitable- no bath, very small amount of floor space once travel cot was up, and worst still it was on the top floor (which the lift does not access)- the pram had to be left on the first floor landing because we couldnt carry it up the stairs. Its not just the 'baby' issues we had, the general decor looks dated and lots of untidy parts to the room i.e nails hanging out of wall with no pictures on and damp around the window. Also ridiculously creeky floors.
We asked to move rooms but couldn't move until the next day. Our next room was on the first floor but still no bath and the shower handle was broken. Again small and dated.
I have to stress that the staff were lovely and very helpful, and the bed was extremely comfortable. They also provided a travel cot which was very clean and much appreciated.
Breakfast was fine, and the surrounding area is stunning.
We did not eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast because we found it to be very expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or first floor room if you have a pram with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    161
    66
    24
    14
See reviews for
50
263
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have just returned home from a 3 day break and am sorry to say we found the hotel to be completely over priced and disappointing. This was meant to be a very special trip to the lakes- our wedding anniversary and first break away with our baby son.
I have no idea what the KGB deal is that lots of residents seem to book under, and i can only assume that they get better rooms/deals. We chose this hotel because of the great reviews.
We booked a family room months in advance, but on check in were told our room was on the top floor (but the lift only goes up half way so have to leave the pram on the middle floor) Totally inpractical with a 9 month old! Also no bath, which having read the other reviews i was certain we would have one. The room was very small- barely enough room for travel cot. Decor dated and just not to the standard that is advertised.
We asked to move rooms and the staff really were lovely and moved us the next day. The room was slightly bigger, but again dated decor, no bath, barely room to move around once the travel cot was up.
This hotel really isnt child friendly- the staff are lovely and very helpful but everything else is simply average.
I hate writing negative reviews especially when everyone else has said how great it is. Judging by the other reviews i believe we were put in their worst rooms (room 20 and room 9) I saw none of the 'extras' that other people write about? and would appreciate some feedback from the staff regarding our disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Lift does not access top floor. Room 20 has unbearably squeeky floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The good things are the fantastic location and the room was a good size with an excellent shower. They did, at short notice, put on a buffet breakfast early on Sunday morning for those of us heading out on the Fred Whitton Challenge, which was very much appreciated.
The hotel did feel a wee bit tired, but not too bad. Dinner was passable, although they did bring my starter and main at the same time?
Overall it was fine and a good base for exploring the amazing location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We arrived quite late on the Friday evening and the receptionist couldnt do enough for us. We stayed in the Rafters Suite and would highly recommend it as it was so warm, cosy and clean with a brand new bathroom suite. The breakfast was beautiful, and the hotel is only a short walk from Coniston village where all the locals are so welcoming. We had a takeaway pizza from Harry's wine bar which was beautiful. Such a nice relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Rafters suite (Room 24)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great location and classic old school style British hotel with no phoney aspirations. Friendly welcoming staff. No surprise that the group it belongs to should be called "Classic"
A very comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Frankly, whilst out and about you'll probably have overdosed on views so may well be more intere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is part of the Classic hotels group. It has a lot going for it. A great location on Lake Coniston, with it`s own jetty for the ferry, and less than half a mile from Coniston village. The grounds are immaculate and there is plenty of parking. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The large dining room has views of Coniston Old Man.
The entrance hall, with a grand piano, could do with some attention, even if it was just to remove some of the certificates from the walls.
Our problem was our room.
We had room 25 which is a courtyard suite and which cost an extra £20 a night. It consisted of three separate rooms. It was cosy and warm and looked as if it had been recently redecorated. It had a great bathroom. The bed was comfortable.
So what was wrong. It was difficult to get the shower to work. There was no bath which was what we needed after a long day on the fells. We even took Radox with us.
The sitting room was comfortable and had a TV and a drinks tray but the window opened onto the main road and cars parked outside and had a good view inside. This was the same for the bedroom. Everyone could see in. Although it was on the main road there was no problem with traffic noise.
The noise problem came from upstairs. Every time anyone moved the floors creaked, loudly.
This was OK during the day but not at night. We lost two nights sleep. The first night from 4am to 6-30 am and the second night from1 am until 4am. It was a different couple each night!!
The dinner was just OK but not worth £26. That was why most people ate out in the village.
The breakfast was good but the staff needed training. Our cooked breakfast was plonked on the table before we had finished our cereals.
The toiletries were not replaced in the bathroom when they were empty.
It is in a good location if you want to walk up to Tarn Hows.

Room Tip: avoid room 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked our night at this Hotel because of its location which I must say was fantastic, the booking was made through laterooms and I requested a room with a view of the lake. On arrival we were dissapointed to be given a room at the back of the Hotel overlooking the roof on the second floor. On my retrun to reception we were quickly offered a better room overlooking the lake on the first floor but we charged an extra £20 for the pleasure. The room was clean and tidy and the breakfast was great. The shower over the bath didnt work on hot but did cold very well. The place just seems to lack that sparkle one would hope for when spending that sort of money on a nights B&B. We were offered an evening meal in the Hotel but wrongly decided to go for a meal at the Sun Inn hotel in the village. I had wanted to eat here for some time being a Donald Campbell fan but we recieved a frosty reception from staff and customers and I would not go there again even though the food was good. So my advice is make sure what type of room your getting before you arrive to avoid having to move rooms and eat at the hotel. Lovely grounds and staff

Room Tip: Ask about your room before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterhead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.