We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely traditional lakeland hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yewdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yewdale Hotel to your Saves list
Yewdale Hotel
Yewdale Road, Coniston CA21 8DU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely traditional lakeland hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights at the Yewdale hotel in one of their family rooms. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Coniston and is clean and traditional. Our family room at the front of the hotel gave us a wonderful view of the Old Man of Coniston.
Parking at the front of the hotel is limited to about four cars. However it's managed well by the owners as guests out walking can just leave their car keys at reception and staff will move the car if it's blocking in other guests. This might not be to everyones liking but we thought it was practical and sensible. There is alternative free parking about 200 yards from the hotel in a nearby country lane.
We did not have an evening meal on site but the breakfast was excellent. We had a problem with the shower on our first morning but once we brought it to the attention of the owner he quickly fixed it himself whilst we had breakfast. The hotel could probably benefit from a few more members of staff to help out at busy times but that said the new owners managed admirably and we wish them luck for the future. We would certainly stay again at the Yewdale.

Room Tip: room 6 is a family room which overlooks the main street and coniston old man. wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent hotel run by new owners who are really out to care for their guests. Stopped one night, had the evening meal which was again excellent, breakfast in the morning was a delight- yes I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Give them a ring !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

smashing location, clean rooms with comfy beds. the family that owns the hotel go out of there way for you, nothings any trouble. tasty breakfast, would defo go back, great stay, thankyou Yewdale hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We’d seen mixed Trip Advisor reports on the Yewdale but booked it based on some friends’ recommendation. And glad we were that we did!
We stayed for 3 nights and found The Yewdale to be a classic British Inn – wonderful hosts (Jeff and Susie Hart) with very friendly staff, great pub food (special mention for the excellent liver and onions and also the fishcakes), clean and comfortable accommodation and just about the best beer in the Lake District.
The “Y café” has been added to the premises this year and is great for breakfasts/coffee in the morning and to chill out during the day over a drink or light meal (the scones are to die for). The atmosphere is relaxed and informal.
The Yewdale has a lovely mix of locals and tourists who blend together like you were in your own village. And, of course, the location is perfect.
We look forward to future enjoyable stays at the Yewdale

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights over May 31st weekend. From signing in at reception to departing nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff. Top of my list when staying away is a comfortable bed and a quiet room, both measured up. The breakfast was served fresh and quickly to your order, much better than the hot plate buffet you get at a lot of hotels these days. Parking is limted and you need to book in advance. Ate there one night, the steaks were spot on and served within the 1/2 hour time we were told was the approx wait for food. We would definitely return to the Yewdale, especially in view of the fact the new owner excplained improvements were pending. Our only criticism was that the bathrooms were looking a little dated and tired, but hey, this is the lakes not a boutique city hotel. Cheers Geoff and team, a credit to you all!

Room Tip: Room 8 excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived for our stay on Sunday 2nd. The hotel looks lovely from the outside, but this isn't reflected on the inside. Its very dated. The gent owner was very friendly whenever we seen him, but during the morning breakfast when we saw the lady she was very dismissive, and not very friendly. She chatted with other guest but didnt bother with us. Also, the room was clean and tidy (however dates), but the bathroom floor was grubby. Having stayed in the lakes many times, I believe for the price (£65), there are nicer hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Decent enough, clean rooms, though noisy if other residents around... The pipework especially can be heard throughout. Ensuite was small and looked like tiles were put up in 70's.

Wifi was terrible, they need to put some repeaters in part way up the stairs.

Food - again could do better, £13 for the tatty pot was a bit much considering the veg was either over or under cooked depending on type. G/f haddock and chips was ok though.

Could do with a few more, better drilled staff. Overall everything felt a bit tired.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Hart, Owner at Yewdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly working to improve the quality of the food and your comment regarding vegetables has been passed to the Head Chef. We were experiencing issues with WiFi at the time while changing service provider. I am pleased to say this has now been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yewdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yewdale Hotel

Address: Yewdale Road, Coniston CA21 8DU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yewdale Hotel is a situated in the centre of Coniston and therefore central for the scenic delights of the Lake District. Built of local stone and slate in 1896, it was once part guest house and part bank. Eight centrally heated bedrooms with en suite, tv and tea-making facilities, provide comfortable, restful accommodation, and an excellent Cumbrian breakfast starts the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Yewdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yewdale Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yewdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.