We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, bad reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Coniston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sun Coniston to your Saves list
The Sun Coniston
Coniston LA21 8HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, bad reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently stayed at The Sun and on the whole enjoyed our visit. The new chef is producing some excellent food and the Hotel is clean but needs decorating and the garden, especially some of the furniture needs attention.All the staff we met were very helpful and polite apart from the young man who was on duty when we arrived.He was very abrupt and when we asked him to repeat directions to our room he was quite off-hand.We were on the top floor up two flights of stairs but there was no offer of help with our luggage,something that has always occurred at other places we have stayed.Although we love Coniston we probably wouldn,t stay at The Sun on a future occasion.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    37
    14
    34
See reviews for
35
70
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Returning from a walk in Coppermines valley, you naturally want a nice drink in the nearest pub, which is The Sun. The beer is good, but the garden furniture is dangerously rotten. The attached photo showed what happened to me! No law suit for compensation on this occasion, but it was a nasty shock when it collapsed under me. Though it did amuse onlookers. A quick look at other tables and chairs showed that many of them are rotten.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from a 4 day break walking with 6 friends. Room and bathroom very spacious.
Landlord, bar staff, waitresses and maid very friendly. Special mention to Nathan the new chef who had started 2 weeks previously who went out of his way to provide excellent off menu food for us. Items off the specials board I can recommend are: belted Galloway burger, slow roast belly pork with crackling (melt in the mouth) and Balmoral Chicken ( stuffed with haggis and whisky, very tasty but not overpowered). Starters off the normal menu: hot smoked salmon and pork hock terrine ( watch out for the very hot mustard served with it). The food was so good we ate in every night rather than sample elsewhere in Coniston. Also worthy of mention are the well kept real ales (recommend Loweswater and Bluebird) and the wine list- we finished off the Murietta, well worth trying if back in stock.

Room Tip: Room 4 vey spacious with huge bathroom and corner bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been visiting the sun hotel for many many years & have always found the owners Sharon & alan to be very friendly, helpful & go out of their way to accommodate. the hotel is very clean & comfortable, the food is lovely & all made fresh to order, so waiting that extra few minutes isn't a problem. the staff are all friendly & bar is warm & inviting especially on a cold winters evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruaromg
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the worst place we stayed in in the uk. The bathroom was very grubby, there was mould all through the shower and the water glasses in the room had not been washed from the previous people! Went to turn on the shower and the hot water didn't work! The bed also had a funny smell. The owner also tried to charge us more than the quoted price. The food was ok, not great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Sun Hotel in Coniston and can only say how pleased we were. The Staff were very friendly & nothing was a problem,they were very helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean & comfortable.
The Bar area hosts an open coal fire, which added to the excellent ambiance of the Pub area.
The evening meal we had was delicious and very reasonably priced.
We would recommend staying at this Hotel to anyone, as we would certainly do again, and are looking forward to our next visit.
Well done the management & staff of the Sun, you are onto a winner, as we have experienced you have everything right !

Room Tip: Room 3 which we stayed in had beautiful views over Coniston village & the surrounding hills &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Called in here a few times whilst staying at caravan club site down the road , lovely pub selection of real ales and allow dogs in , the landlady was very helpful lit the fire for us and even charged my phone up x going back in April x see you then .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Coniston

Address: Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sun Coniston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Coniston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.