We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Coniston

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Coniston
Save
You added The Sun Coniston to your Saves list
Coniston LA21 8HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
West Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights, sunday to tuesday, on the 3 nights for price of 2 midweek deal. Room excellent, clean and tidy, big bath, powerful shower, comfy bed and a great view. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, although make sure they get the doors and windows open in the conservatory if its a warm morning! Didn't have an evening meal in the pub although it was busy every night. The pub/hotel itself is excellent with a traditional pub area, a quieter lounge area with lots of big comfy chairs and sofas, the conservatory and an excellent sitting out/garden area. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    34
    13
    32
See reviews for
32
65
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We (two families of three) stayed here for a long weekend. We were put in the family annex and it was very good value for money. We paid £250 for two nights for all of us - including breakfast, which was very reasonable I thought. The annex was great, ideal for what we wanted. It wasnt posh or even modern but it did the trick and was great for our family set up. The food in the pub was ok and vvvvv expensive (£90 for four adult meals that were small and only ok), eat elsewhere. The breakfast was pretty decent though and the pub is lovely. The staff are terrible, uninterested, dull, miserable and a bit dim to be honest. If they improved the customer service and lowered the prices on the menu this would be a top notch B&B. The one thing that really annoyed me though was the literature in the room on the Inn and its history. This was actually great but I took great exception to being told to ignore reviews on trip advisor as basically no one knows what they are talking about on here and it is all american rubbish anyway. All this makes you want to do is check out the reveiws on trip advisor...........

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had a really good stay here.
We'd eaten at the pub during an earlier holiday and thought the food was great.
Our room (room 7) was absolutely fine with a big comfy bed and a big bath with loads of hot water. We were on a walking holiday with our dog and this was just what we wanted. The decor is not wildly luxurious but clean and comfortable, and perfect for what we needed
Food was great, breakfast cooked to order, with lots of choice.
We'd stay again, and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

If you just need a room for the night then this place will be fine. The bed was comfortable and clean. If you want a meal and basic care then you will be disappointed. The staff lack basic training in how to care for customers. When we checked in the young lady at the desk could not find the reservation and when she finally found it she handed us the key and began to walk away. We asked her where we should go and she looked amused, pointed to the stairs and said - "Up there". We were there to participate in a tough 102 mile bike race which would start early in the morning. We asked about getting an early breakfast and were told "No. The chef won't be in then.There might be some cereals left out."
The dinning area is in the conservatory which has no blinds - so be prepared to be dazzled by the sun. Within the area is a "water feature" - water falling through moss & mold surrounded by half dead plants. The starter of goats cheese and figs was very good but the duck served with huge overcooked chips was overcooked in parts and then areas of cold - very unsettling. The plates were so hot the pasta stuck to it and the sauce dried up. The mushroom risotto was served with a Naan - very odd. This was not a cheap meal. Rolls Royce charges with Morris Minor service. English breakfast was very good but the croissants were re heated and very flakey. We would not go back there again.

Room Tip: Only book B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was a real mixed bag, room was small but we made late booking so expected to get least popular room and didn't mind, it was basic but clean with nice cotton towels and sheets, public rooms/bar clean and pleasant.but we had lots of 'niggles', mostly in restaurant, quality and presentation of food good if you could get what you ordered but menu had no 'lighter' options, no salmon, chicken or salad dishes The problem seems to be lack of management, food orders were done on an automatic till in the bar as in fast food restaurants, no head waiter taking orders just youngsters who did their best but had no guidance. There were only two desserts on menu and one evening the chef hadn't had time to make either, no apologies or substitutes. As they charge restaurant prices it seems reasonable to expect appropriate standards. There were crisp packets and general litter all over the lawn and steps, no litter bin and in 3 days no attempt by staff to pick it up, it looked really shabby which was a shame, this may sound picky but there were lots of other small instances where a senior member of staff should have stepped in. The hotel brochure asks that customers don't take too much notice of trip advisor and discuss any issues with the management, we would have if there had been any management around. We know this area well, it's a great location, such a shame as it could be so much better

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

i visited the sun on a saturday night with a group of friends for a meal, and i can honestly say the gentleman on the bar looked after us all night. we asked him for another bottle of wine and he did so, we asked for more biscuits to go with our cheese and he did. i didnt catch his name but he was a biggish lad and he is a credit to this place! the food was excellent apart from the kashmire lamb which i had was horrible. but i made the barman aware of this and he did apologise. all in all this was a brilliant night and would recommend the sun for anyone looking for a place to have a meal. i cant comment on the rooms etc as i never stayed over but if there anything like the service they will be faultless!!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Recently attended this venue for a good friends wedding, although we couldn't stay here (venue was fully booked - a good start for the hotel), the venue was fantastic for a wedding. The location overlooked the village, especially from the conservatory, the food was exceptional, the service matched and the beer was good. Good local ale to wash the food down. The google map shows the wrong location so don't be put off, the location is very good for the village, getting about and for various walks around the OLD MAN. Well worth a visit! Although we didn't sample the breakfast I'm told it was very good and if the normal food is to go by I would whole heartedly agree. A great venue, great food supported by a fantastic wedding, what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sun Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Coniston

Address: Coniston LA21 8HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sun Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Coniston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.