We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swallows and Amazons Tearoom at Bank Ground Farm

Swallows and Amazons Tearoom at Bank Ground Farm
East of the Lake | Bank Ground Farm, Coniston, England
015394 41264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Coniston
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Swallows and Amazons Tearoom serves lunches, homemade cakes, luxury ice cream and hot & cold drinks. We also have a great selection of wine and local Lake District ale for you to enjoy with your meal.The view from the tearoom and beer garden across the Lake are sensational, it is no surprise that Bank Ground Farm inspired Arthur Ransome to write Swallows and Amazons during one of his stays.Easily accessible to both cyclists and mountain bikers. Many of Grizedale's routes run close by, so come and boost your energy levels and have a light lunch and cake!Bank Ground is on the edge of the lake, opposite the village of Coniston, so you can even arrive by boat!With a footpath on our doorstep, we are also accessible to walkers too, a mere 25 minute walk from the centre of Coniston! Opening times Monday: 12- 5pm (only open Bank/school holidays). Tuesday: 12- 5pm (only open during school holidays). Wednesday: closed. Thursday: 12- 5pm. Friday: 12- 5pm. Saturday: 12- 5pm. Sunday: 12- 5pm.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovley place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really wanted to visit hear after reading such good reviews, and as when we come back in December it wont be open :-( We were greeted by the male owner I think who told us about the lovely cakes on offer and the drinks menu, unfortunatly as we had arrived late there were no scones, infact we were glad they were still serving as it was nearly 5 and they closed then! Anyway wanted to leave a review jsut to say its a lovley place and were upset you wont be open in December as we would have loved to try the cakes...we will be back though!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake District, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband & I visited Bank Ground yesterday. We are local to this area & do know the Batty family who own the property but were unaware there was a tea room. Although the weather was rather dull we took afternoon tea out on the terrace. It was absolutely delicious, the cakes on offer are really homemade & the scones were just about the best ever! Our tea came in a silver teapot with white china cup & saucer. The price is excellent value for everything on offer.
The outside terrace overlooks the northern end of Coniston Water with Auld Man & Wetherlam behind The views are just absolutely spectacular. Inside there are several very cosy eating areas, with big comfy settees & chairs or formal dining tables ~ the choice is yours, a log fire was burning in one lounge yesterday so cosy & very comfortable.
We were doing a 'reckie' to show some friends the area who are visiting in September, but will not be waiting until then to return to take tea at Bank Ground as we will now be frequent visitors to this absolute 'GEM'

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Coniston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had been exploring Grizedale forest on the east (quieter) side of Coniston Water and spotted a small tea room sign outside Bank Ground Farm and decided to give it a try.

There is a beautiful lawn and garden outside the restaurant and as it was such a nice day we sat outside and ate a Smoked Mackerel salad and a Ploughmans served with delicious bread freshly baked on site at Swallows and Amazons! Stop off and sample the fresh fare washed down with a very welcome cup of tea!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A secret gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stopped in for afternoon tea today, after a much anticipated visit (my parents stumbled across the tearoom last year on holiday and were raving about it) and it did not disappoint!
Helped by the glorious sunshine, we sat outside on the picnic tables, the grounds and scenery are simply beautiful.
We ordered open smoked salmon sandwiches with horseradish (on freshly baked bread) for lunch, it also came with a salad and it tasted great. The best bit, was the homemade cakes on offer. Despite arriving quite late in the afternoon, they still had a generous display in their tearoom and you can even cut your own slice (excellent for those on the greedy side or those wanting a smaller slice to get the 'taste without the waist’)! We had banoffee pie and tea and it was delicious, and we’re hard to impress!
This is the kind of place you not only go to for the food, but also the experience. The staff were very friendly and it has a relaxed vibe to it. We will definitely return and recommend it to others, but shh, don’t tell too many people, it’s too good a secret to be shared with everyone!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Food was excellent and the staff were really pleasant and friendly, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swallows and Amazons Tearoom at Bank Ground Farm also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Swallows and Amazons Tearoom at Bank Ground Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallows and Amazons Tearoom at Bank Ground Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.