We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay. Coniston Water.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wilson Arms to your Saves list
Wilson Arms
Torver, Coniston LA21 8BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Coniston B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“One week stay. Coniston Water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for one week in the Mews and had a great time.
Accommodation was very well appointed and catered for all needs.

Although self-catering we ate mainly in the Inn, choosing from the regular or daily specials menu. The meals (ingredients from local suppliers) offered very generous portions and were good value.
Three courses if you want plus bread and olives. Good choice of breakfast too.

For ale drinkers the Inn had a choice of four available at any time, all from local brewers. Two regular ‘house’ ales (Bluebird XB and Loweswater Gold) plus two ‘guest’ ales. Try Ulverston’s Fra Diavolo if you can.

The Inn has a ‘pub’ bit and a restaurant. It can get busy especially at weekends so it would be wise to enquire about booking a table if you specifically need the restaurant.

None of this would work without the staff, multitasking their way about the place with a smile and some cheery and cheeky banter.

Special thanks to Kathy, Katie, Natasha and Andrew for enabling our visit to be an enjoyable one.
Thanks also to the lads in the kitchen whose efforts were greatly appreciated,

Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    48
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
139
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were up for a nice (middle-aged!) stag break, actually staying at the local mountain club hut, but being looked after by the Wilson Arms - and "looked after" is the right phrase. With people coming from all over the country on the Friday, they laid on a delicious late evening feast that meant I for one was glad that they weren't expecting us for breakfast before 9 the following day. The breakfasts were scrummy (*top* sausages) and the bagged meal for our walk, generous. The owner or members of his team ferried the less mobile (and lazier!) members of the group to and from the hut too, and seemed cheerfully prepared to keep running the taxi service at our whim all evening and all day. From what we were charged, I can hardly believe that they made any profit out of us, but they just seemed to keep laying on service after service, and all with a smile and banter. Really warm hospitality from a family and team for whom nothing was too much trouble and who really seemed to care that our friend and *his* friends enjoyed his weekend.

Room Tip: Not applicable for us - but the mountain hut and Wilson Arms combi was brilliant for a large group o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
You definitely didn't need to mention the 'Middle Aged' bit in this review as such a dashing bunch of active, ale drinkers could never earn that title! We had a weekend as fun as yours and enjoyed it as much as you did!

Everyone is more than welcome to come back for a bit more 'banter' -- all 'Middle aged' Stag parties welcome!

Looking forward to seeing you for the next occasion!

Best Wishes,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned home from having a lovely stay at the Wilson Arms.
From the moment we arrived we were greated very friendly by Kathy behind the bar, who was very helpful and very knowledgeable with regard to advising me on which real ale i should start with.
I did work my way through a great selection!
The room we stayed in was very clean with a very large bed! nice shower and i liked the selection of tea,coffee, hot chocolate,biscuits and bottled water in the room,i was glad of the water in the night because i might have been a little dehydrated after all that lovely beer!
We were lucky enough to take advantage of a special offer that of bed breakfast with evening meal,you sometimes think that the establishment might give you smaller portions with this sort of offer, not at the Wilson Arms! the portions were massive! i had the gammon, it filled my plate and it was delicious, i would also recommend the pate starter, nicest i have had.
I think you would struggle to find nicer food at a top restaurant, it was that good.
I have to give Katie a special mention she was always chatty friendly and could not do enough for myself and my wife.
The Wilson arms is in a very good location in Torver,plenty of walks to explore and quite central to go further afield by car, i can not praise the staff and accomadaiton enough,i will be advising my friends to stay, i for one will certainly be coming back, thank you so much, the Wilson Arms!

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 4 it was the front of the pub over looking the carpark if you are the kind to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for writing us such a fantastic review. A particular thanks for the personal mentions they are very much appreciated!

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and extremely pleased you made such a good job of sampling the real ale selection!

We hope that you will be able to manage a return visit sooner rather than later!

Looking Forward to next time,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break at The Wilson Arms. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff who made us feel at home straight away. We stayed in room 6 which was lovely, comfy bed and great shower, even for me who normally prefers a bath, view from window was mainly obscured by low clouds, but still nice to have a little balcony. Food was really nice, good price and very filling, beer was exceptional, so my husband tells me and trust me he knows his Beer! I stuck to wine, good selection, just a bit too easy to drink!!! Breakfast was filling.
We would definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: room 6 really nice, not that big but has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your fabulous Trip Advisor words it is much appreciated.

We're really pleased that we made you feel at home and that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

Come back and enjoy as much Food and Drink as you can manage any time!!

Best Wishes,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

just come back from a 2 night stay, room very nice, just a little noisy, once the pub closed, it was very quite. food fab, staff are ever so freindly, a place i would go back to,once the refurbishing is finished it will be outstanding

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for writing us a review it is much appreciated! We're pleased you enjoyed yourselves and equally as pleased that you found the staff 'ever so friendly'!

Sorry if there were any noises that disturbed you.

Best Wishes,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked to stay in the Wilson Arms for two night. The place was clean and tidy with a very nice and modern room. Included in the package we booked was a meal on the first evening, this was of a small menu but enough choice to select from. This was fantastic with excellent service and large portion sizes. Based on what we had seen and tasted we decided to have a meal on the second night, this however was very disappointing. The place was majorly understaffed with us having to wait half an hour for Drink to be poured correctly. The food was still excellent but we waited 30 mins for someone to come and take out desert orders and when we complained little was done about it we also had to wait for ages to get the bill too. We were going to stay for more drinks in the bar but felt so let down by the service we went to our room instead. It was evident that they had not factored in the school holidays and were not prepared for the number of customers on the Friday evening.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, although some of your comments are not as positive as others, we take them all on board and try and learn from all opinions.

Thank you for commenting on your first evening we're pleased your break got off to a good start 'excellent service' and 'fantastic' food.

Easter Weekend is the first major influx of Holiday Makers to the area and although we were ready for the weekend, sometimes it can be 'all at once' with everyone wanting to join us at the same time. Although we can not use this as an excuse it is fantastic that we were very busy but on the other hand we are disappointed that this affected your stay. These evenings when people end up waiting are the exception rather than the norm so we hope you can come back and let us redeem ourselves!

Best Wishes,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Cottage that is attached to the Wilson Arms. The cottage is perfect and luxurious. There is not one thing that we could fault with it. The owners have paid great attention to detail whilst refurbishing the cottage. We were welcomed by great friendly staff and arrived to freshly made ciabatta, butter, milk and a welcoming bottle of wine. This most definitely makes a good start to a holiday. We were slightly apprehensive on how much noise we would hear from the pub in the evenings but we can honestly say that during our stay we heard absolutely no noise from the pub. The cottage has a hot tub in the garden which was cleaned and refilled on our first day of arrival, which was a luxury to chill in after a full days walking. We ate in the pub on our last evening and the food was superb. We will definitely be returning to this gem of a cottage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranMayvers, Owner at Wilson Arms, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for writing us such a superb review it is very much appreciated. Your compliments are fantastic about the cottage especially with phrases such as 'perfect and luxurious'!

Thank you also for commenting on the food in the pub - all in all we are really glad you wrote the review!

We hope you can come back and visit us again soon,

Best Wishes,

The Wilson's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilson Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Arms

Address: Torver, Coniston LA21 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wilson Arms is a family owned country inn sat snugly in the shadow of the world famous Old Man of Coniston and Dow Crag. An ideal stop off for those travelling the Cumbria Way, being one days walk from the beginning (or end depending on the direction) this charismatic Lake District inn is the perfect country retreat. The fantastic location means The Wilson Arms makes a superb base for exploring the Lake District. With the Coniston and Furness Fells or the beautiful Duddon Valley on your doorstep and Ambleside, Bowness-on-Windermere, Grasmere, Grizedale & Wastwater all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wilson Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Arms Hotel Coniston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.