We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Man of Coniston

Old Man of Coniston
Coniston, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Coniston
Type: Mountains, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
Carmarthenshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

It took us about 3hours from Coniston village and back. It is not too difficult. There were lovely views over Lake Coniston and some interesting mine workings on the way up.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    26
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Touch climb, but wonderful views from the summit. The remains of the coppermines are mildly interesting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Shame about the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Coniston water was my favourite lake as you could walk on the shore. When the Sun is out it looks glorious but when it isn't it has a very eerie appearance. The Old Man was stunning, stands proudly overlooking the area

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning scenic achievable family walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We set off from the Sun Hotel (parked at coniston station behind the hotel) and took the Coppermine route towards the YHA and quarry. Great gentle ascent towards the summit. Beautiful scenery. Little waterfalls and rivers which our dog enjoyed swimming in. Our two kids are 11 and 9 and we saw younger children doing this walk too. We took our time stopping off for a couple of coffee breaks along the way and made it to the summit in 2.5hours. 6 miles there and back. Stunning views over coniston and Windermere. Enjoyed a few pints in the Sun afterwards in front of the roaring fire.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This was our first family mountain walk, it was covered in snow and looked amazing. We all got to the top and the views are out of this world.
Wedding try to
Park in the field as far up as u could go, due to the snow we could only get so far up.
Wear the correct foot ware and clothing as it isn't a walk in the park and can be very cold. Well worth the effort though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Man of Coniston also viewed

Buttermere, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Old Man of Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Man of Coniston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.