We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Luxury Cottage, Perfect Hostess! Nothing is too much trouble.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anns Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anns Hill
Save
You added Anns Hill to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Anns Hill | Bridekirk, Cockermouth CA13 0NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Luxury Cottage, Perfect Hostess! Nothing is too much trouble.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited Ann's Hill for our Mini moon and I have to say there is nothing Vanessa could do to improve her beautiful little cottage!
We had a fairly long journey of around seven hours and on the way Vanessa telephoned to find out our ETA, she was waiting for us upon our arrival to show us around the cottage and show us how to use the log fire.
Very friendly and helpful, absolutely nothing is too much trouble, she had with her a timer when we arrived and it was for the cake she was baking for us. A beautiful lemon drizzle.
The cottage is beautiful full of original features and immaculately clean.
The kitchen is perfect, it is fully stocked with everything you need and more if you wish to cook and prepare a meal from scratch.
The living room is delightful and the log fire very appealing, even if we did have some problems lighting it once or twice. Again it was no bother as a quick call to Vanessa and she was able to come and help us out.
Upstairs is a very large bathroom with beautiful bath and separate shower, you can even watch the tv from the bath which I found very novel.
The bedroom was lovely, with great bedding and very comfortable mattress and pillows.
Each morning a basket is left on the doorstep full of breakfast goodies including freshly made muffins, juice, jam, cereals etc, something a little different each day and a great touch. Vanessa will leave the basket outside at the same time each day which you agree with her when you arrive.
All in all a beautiful stay and one we won't forget!
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for a short break, 17th-20th of May 2013. It really was a lovely place and after reading all of the five star reviews on Trip Adviser we were thrilled that Ann's Hill really did live up to its reputation! We stayed in the Cottage which has one bedroom and a huge bathroom! The living space was great to and very homely with a fabulous kitchen. So what made our stay so special? Not only was the Cottage lovely but it was all of the little things which Vanessa (the owner) does to make your stay extra special. Each morning we received a breakfast basket, there was chocolates and champagne on arrival as well as fresh flowers. We have a 4 month old baby and Vanessa organised a travel cot for us in the bedroom. We also enjoyed having a look around the farm and seeing all of the baby calves. The location is great as it is a good central location to explore the Lake District. Having visited the area many times before we decided to explore some of the places we had not visited and spent a lovely day at Conniston. Well worth a visit if you have not been and much quieter than some of the other Lakes in the area. I would recommend a visit to this area and to Ann's Hill. We have stayed at other rental cottages in the past and I have to say we have been disappointed but not with Ann's Hill. It was Superb and we would love to go back again in the future. I might add that it is well worth taking advantage of the beautician service whilst staying at the Cottage. I experienced the best facial I have ever had from Emily who comes to the Cottage on request.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Absolutely felt like a home from home. Immaculately clean, beautifully furnished, luxurious extras (bedding, hot tub, breakfast basket and complimentary kitchen goods especially lovely). We left feeling utterly relaxed abd chilled out - what a beautiful place. (We stayed in The Lodge...can't wait to go back and stay in the cottage some time soon!)
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any friend or family member.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in the Lake District, then this has to be the best avaliable. The accommodation itself is just gorgeous. The interior design is stunning and the Lodge contains everything you could possible wish for including the wood for the fire, a fully stocked kitchen, breakfast delivered each morning, board games, multiple TV's and DVD players, ipod speakers, restaurant and walking guides, magazines and books, and more. This place is more luxurious than any five star hotel could ever be. Every detail is designed for your pleasure. The beauty inside the lodge is only matched by the breathtaking landscape viewed from the patio area outside. In absolute privacy you can enjoy the hot tub no matter the weather with the chocolates and champagne provided by Vanessa who is a remarkable host; discreet, yet always avaliable for you and willing to do everything to make your stay memorable.

The location of the Ann's Hill has to be one of it's main selling points. Cockermouth is just outside the National Park, yet the lakes such as Windermere are easily accessible. If fact, being the less tourity part of the lakes is perhaps a welcome relief if you're not fond of crowds. Although Cockermouth has some great fien dining restaurants, I have to say the Fish and Chip shop is fantastic and well worth a visit.

Quite frankly I still miss those nights in front of the log fire and I will certainly return next year. One last remark - the price is unbeatable considering the level of luxury one can enjoy here. This has to be one of the best, if not the best honeymoon rental in England.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is our 4th visit, but 1st time in the Lodge. Don't know which we prefer as they are both fabulous, maybe the cottage has more character, but the Lodge wins on the views and extra space. There can be nothing better after a good long walk to come back to the warm, comfortable Lodge and soak in the lovely copper bath, then relax with champagne, chocs and strawberries provided by Vanessa, who cannot do enough for you. Nothing is too much trouble and her baking is fantastic. We even saw a beautiful barn owl which flew straight past the lounge window.
I can't praise this accommodation and Vanessa enough. We will be back very soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the cottage. It's not really a cottage but one huge wing of what must have been staff quarters many years ago.

You approach into a large courtyard and the accommodation is the left hand wing, with undercover car parking.

It's totally self contained and private with a small front garden (unless you count the young cattle in centrally heated stables opposite!!)

The rooms are huge. Lounge and bedroom face East so get the early morning sun and a little bit of traffic noise from the main road but nothing to worry about.

The kitchen and bathroom are equally vast, both overlooking the working farm and facing West so they were darker than the front.

You go upstairs via an old,quaint STONE spiral staircase (take care coming down).

As previous posts have said its very well equipped with a wood stove in the lounge (as much wood as you need)

Vanessa was the perfect host - always there but unobtrusive. The breakfast basket was a new one for us yet proved really great fun as every day there was something different in it - couldn't wait to open up the box every AM!

Cockermouth has recovered from the terrible floods and deserves a visit. Parking in the main street with a disc (from the cottage) . Brysons the bakers on the main street have lovely pies!

North Lakes are quieter. Keswick with the excellent Booths supermarket (free parking with purchases) and the Winlatter forest both worth a visit. We loved Buttermere and walked around the lake and also hit the tops, including Wainwrights Haystacks and Fleetwith Pike.

Worth a trip to the seaside: St Bees Head has great coastal walks and we really liked the tiny village of Ravenglass - seeing it get almost flooded by a VERY high tide.

Quieter but lovely part of the lakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What an amazing place. This was our fourth trip and it won't be our last. If you are looking for a self catering cottage with the feel of a 5 star boutique hotel then this is the place for you. We have stayed in both the cottage and the lodge and both are amazing. Vanessa is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble, she is happy to chat or leave you alone. You get breakfast delivered to your door every morning; croissants, home made muffins that are still warm from the oven, yoghurt and fruit. The biggest bathrooms and baths I have ever seen and the most enormous and comfortable beds you can find. There are lovely toiletries, milk, chocolates, flowers and champagne waiting for you when you arrive and lots of basics in the cupboards.
We cannot fault the place, although it will spoil any other self catering holiday cottage you ever go to!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anns Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anns Hill

Address: Anns Hill | Bridekirk, Cockermouth CA13 0NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Anns Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self catering. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anns Hill Hotel Cockermouth
Anns Hill Cockermouth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anns Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.