We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cottage Guest House

Rose Cottage Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage Guest House
Save
You added Rose Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We are a party of mature bikers who love to tour the wonderful country roads of the UK. Biker friendly places like Rose Cottage are a big bonus for us! Highly recommended ! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Were a family of four with two young children. Stayed here for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Cockermouth because of the Rose Cottage. Great breakfasts, clean and tidy rooms along with lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I love coming to Rose Cottage, when my husband and I visit Cockermouth we always stay!

Food is really really good! Be sure to make a reservation if you want Sunday lunch as its very popular. Breakfast is amazing, lovely table presentation, food excellent quality and great selection, try the Sunday lunch its one of the best ive eaten.

Room immaculate and loads of fresh clean towels. Owners lovely, all in all worth every penny, cant wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great location with ample parking and lovely clean rooms. Breakfast superb and just a 4 minute walk to Cockermouth high street. This was booked as a long weekend and we were not disappointed. Close to all amenities an ideal base for visiting the lakes and surrounding attractions. Well worth a stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Lovely, quiet little B&B set in a convinient location.

The owners were extremly helpful and friendly...giving a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the lounge and dining area.

Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and very tasty.

We thought the tariff was reasonable and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were recently booked to stay at Winderhall, however the heating broke down on our arrival and we were asked to move to a local B&B. At Rose Cottage we were given a delightfull double room, spotless, cosy & welcoming. Considering the short notice they were given, the owners made us very comfortable and we were reluctant to go back to Winderhall. I would definately go back to stay there, and if your looking for somewhere local to eat, we strongly recommend the Trout Hotel, Cockermouth, fabulous food.!! and the surroundings are beautifull. Treat yourself to a weekend visit to Cockermouth, lovely town with lovely people.

South Ayrshire

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a gem this place is! We only stayed 2 nights, wish it had been longer. I had a double room on my own and my daughter and husband had the studio flat with its own front door and kitchen. The rooms were spotless, also the en-suites. Beds were really comfy, had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was well cooked and plenty of it. Would stay again if in the area and would recommend it to anyone coming to Cockermouth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Guest House

Address: Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9DX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage Guest House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.