We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms

Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms
Wellington Farm | Lamplugh Road, Cockermouth CA130QU, England
+44 1900 822777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 61 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Family Fare, Ice Cream, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2005 the cafe is open 10am to 5pm 7 days a week, serving hot meals, breakfasts, freshly made sandwiches & panini's, homemade cakes & tray bakes, afternoon teas, milkshakes (using our very own Jersey Ice Cream), local beers, wines, ciders, our our own home made Wellington Jersey Ice Cream. All of which can be eaten either in our lovely cafe or outside on our terrace which has stunning panoramic views of the Cumbrian Fells. We also have an animal enclosure which has free entry, a play area with outdoor toys and mini quad bikes (payable).
Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Great little place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Been here many times over the years, both for meals and just an ice cream, or one of their scones. The tea rooms have just been refurbished, giving more room for tables. We called in the day after it re opened, and it was a little busy to say the least, a 40 min wait for our meal, but it did not bother us too much. Glad to see they have a range of meals back on the menu, rather than just sandwiches. Food ( and the chips), lovely as usual, a bit to cold yet to sit outside looking at the animals and lovely view. Staff friendly, and can have a chat with them. Cant wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The home cooked food here is truly delicious while the ice cream is the best I have ever tasted.

My particular favourite is Turkish Delight but the varieties seem endless. To add to this are the amazing views over Lakeland and friendly helpful staff.

Every year I come to the Lakes and always visit this place........how could I not?!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Glorious views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We regularly have tea here after walking in the lakes. The view from the terrace is superb - a panorama of fells. They offer lovely cherry and almond scones and a range of tea time cakes, as well as a huge selection of ice-creams. We have had lunch here but most people coming through were choosing ice-creams before visiting the animal enclosures.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful jersey ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a little bit of heaven. On a sunny day you can sit outside and look across the fields and see the animals. I had a blackcurrant and liquorice ice cream which was delicious. The staff are friendly and the chips home cooked and crispy. Don't go if you want to diet, do go to treat yourself.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“all food made on the premises including Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

On a fine sunny day would be happy to sit and take in the view for hours.The staff all all friendly, and just off the big roundabout near the travelodge.about half a mile up a little lane, give it a try you will not regret it

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellington Farm Cafe & Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.