We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly venue with very good food- compliments to the chef!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honest Lawyer

Honest Lawyer
2 Main Street, Cockermouth CA13 9LQ, England
+44 1900 824888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: English, French, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Honest Lawyer Restaurant provides a fusion of French Italian influenced English style cuisine. Cooked fresh on the premises by our chefs using ingredients that are locally produced and sources and served with a wide range of wines from around the world, beers ,spirits ,liquors and soft drinks etc.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly venue with very good food- compliments to the chef!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We came here for my birthday last night, we had a really nice evening. The staff were very friendly and relaxed. They managed the sittings so that they weren't overly rushed and this meant that they were able to provide good service. We arrived and were welcomed into the bar/lounge for a drink and to look at the menu. We chose starters of scallops and duck & apricot terrine. Our mains were daube of beef and penne arabiatta. We had sticky toffee pudding and vanilla cheesecake for pudding. All food was beautifully presented and very tasty. 3 courses and 2 drinks each came to around £65.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of Michelin star quality in Cockermouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's a while since we had a meal at the Honest Lawyer in Cockermouth, but on the recommendation of friends of friends we gave it another go and were not disappointed. In fact, the opposite, we were very impressed. The ambience was lovely, with a log burner, candles and relaxing music. The service was great - not too often but often enough! The food was delicious. I had the smoked fish chowder and husband had the duck and both were lovely, and we can definitely recommend the beef with tortellini and mash and the vanilla cheesecake was fabulous. We hope the chef stays as we plan to eat there regularly and only hope we can get a table!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless food & cheerful customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

After a nightmare experience in this restaurant 2 years ago, having read the recent comments regarding a take over & subsequent change of staff, we decided to give the Honest Lawyer another chance. So, so pleased that we did as the meal/evening was one of the best we'd had in a long time. We were greeted by Jimmy upon our arrival and ushered into the lovely, cosy lounge area with roaring log fire where we had our drinks and perused the menu. Service was excellent. When we were shown to our table the waitress carried our drinks through on a tray - little things like this go a long way in our book. Our 3 course meal was delicious: garlic mushrooms with home made rolls and a nice sliver of real butter (as opposed to the ghastly foil wrapped efforts of most restaurants around here), I had the braised daub of beef and my wife had the confit of lamb - amazing mains with beautiful desserts to finish. we look forward to our next visit to The Honest Lawyer and would recommend everyone gives this new venture a chance because food and service like this is rare to find in Cumbria. Many thanks to Jimmy and all the staff for a lovely evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george c, Manager at Honest Lawyer, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Wendy C
Thank you so much for trying out our new restaurant and for your lovely review. We are pleased you have enjoyed our service and food .Please do come back again and support us
Thank You
George,Jimmy and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A rare treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Two friends recommended the Honest Lawyer to us and we weren't disappointed. Lovely atmosphere with modern décor and simple furnishings. 1980's music (great for us!) and a cosy bar with a roaring log burning stove. The staff were attentive and Jimmy is a great host. Starter of duck terrine (packed with tasty duck) and the other was garlic mushrooms - good enough. Two veggie mains (we are not veggie but both were tempted with these) - mushroom risotto and butternut and sage stuffed ravioli. They both came with salad and veg so no extras to pay for those and we had a huge bowl of handcut chips. We shared a deconstructed cheesecake - slightly "savoury" but delicious, light and unusual. Good service, nice atmosphere, but we had to wait about 20 minutes to pay as the waitress dropped and broke the card machine and it took a while to be assembled! Definitely recommend this little gem!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george c, Manager at Honest Lawyer, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Judith C
Thank you for your lovely review
I am glad you enjoyed the food and found the service and ambiance good as well
We are extremely sorry about the card machine been dropped and stopped working
We will have a spare one soon
Apologies for having to wait to pay the bill.
Thanks
George and the Honest Lawyer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Use of Local Produce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just returned from an off -season break to the Lakes and thought we needed to recommend this restaurant, It is just recently opened ( or been taken over ) the décor is fresh and works well with the old building. It is situated by the side of the river which was in speight and very interesting to watch. In the summer I imagine this will be a superb spot.

On arrival you are asked to sit in the bar area where there is a nice log burner and you have a drink and your order is taken all very relaxed.

The menu choices are quite eclectic but does feature good use of local produce and names all their local supplier. each course was well presented and tasted delicious.
One minor point for improvement would be that the waiting staff are briefed prior to service what some of the items on the menu are so they don't have to ask the kitchen but this is very minor and our list of questions were handled well.

As visitors to the area we would be happy to recommend that you try this restaurant when in the area and if we are back in the area we will return, We had 3 courses each, a bottle of wine, coffee and drinks prior to the meal and the bill was just over £85 and we felt this represented good value. Additionally we have our own place and would like to wish the team at The Honest Lawyer well in their new venture.

Look out for the terrace in the summer with views over the river should be lovely in the outside seats and terrace.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george c, Manager at Honest Lawyer, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear HeidiOrr
It was a pleasure to have you at our place
Thank you for your wonderful review.we are pleased you have liked the decor ambience and the food . Yes this place would be an ideal spot to relax in the summer being so close to the river .
We have taken your comment on board about the food knowledge of the waiting on staff. We would make sure we train them well
thanking you once more
George and the Honest Lawyer team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honest Lawyer also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Honest Lawyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honest Lawyer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.