We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlin's Bar & Bistro

Carlin's Bar & Bistro
18 - 20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
1900 823654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 58 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: British
Description: Part of Allerdale Court Hotel but I can't review the hotel only the restaurant which is one of the best in Cockermouth. Any chance of a listing under restaurants for this lovely restaurant?
Restaurant details
Description: Part of Allerdale Court Hotel but I can't review the hotel only the restaurant which is one of the best in Cockermouth. Any chance of a listing under restaurants for this lovely restaurant?
Fife Scotland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Looking for lunch, we went into Carlin's which was empty. Eventually caught the attention of a lady and placed our order for food and drink, explaining that two of our party had food allergies.
The order was taken and we awaited the outcome. What a pleasant surprise we received when the dishes were presented.
Every one commented on the excellent portions, and content together with the presentation of the dishes.
We could easily had missed this as our first impression on arrival was not great. But the team were very welcoming and the food would certainly be worth going back for. First impressions are not always right. I must learn!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I've been here well over ten times, for my birthday, with friends and with my partner.

I can never fault it, the food is always delicious and well sourced.

The staff and pleasant and willing I explain some dishes to you.

I would highly recommend and definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckland Monachorum, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Carlin's has a fantastic atmosphere; it is a warm, welcoming place where the staff are relaxed - not so much that they are asleep, but enough so that they will smile and engage with you naturally. The food was presented beautifully and I can honestly say that it was the best steak I have had; perfectly cooked.

It really is good value for money, but with a high quality of food. Also...half price fizz on a Friday night is always a plus! Though we were there on business, I would recommend it for anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Popped in to have a drink with my husband while the kids were at a party. They weren't very busy but we were made to feel very welcome. We decided to have some chips and onion rings to snack on, the chips were lovely as were the huge onion rings. We will be back for a proper meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“restaurant review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

had a excellent dinner the food was good and the paella was excellent would go again some time.Is a good location in the town to watch people go by.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlin's Bar & Bistro also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Carlin's Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlin's Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.