We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Trout Hotel to your Saves list
The Trout Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at this great hotel. We just wanted to get away for a night on our own without kids and dogs, we were not disappointed. Our room was executive, fairly large, with all the usual bits and bobs and two armchairs. Reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful. We decided to eat in the hotel's Bar and Bistro, as the main restaurant was fully booked. Bar staff were very professional and friendly, however, it did get very busy with non-residents using the facilities. We had to wait a while for a table, but enjoyed a couple of drinks whilst waiting. Once sat down, we were not disappointed. The food was freshly prepared, hot, tasty and plentiful. In all honesty, we probably over indulged as the portions are quite large. Had a good nights sleep. Room was on side of main road, but didn't hear any traffic. Breakfast was great, staff very friendly and attentive. Choice of juices, cereals and muffins, then choose from continental or full Cumberland, which was hot and very tasty. My wife likes her fried eggs massacred, the chef did this to perfection!!! On checking out, reception staff advised us that if we booked again, to ring hotel direct, as we may get special offers or free upgrades. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    100
    27
    13
    3
See reviews for
67
204
5
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Trout Hotel in Cockermouth after a 2 night stay. We had been so looking forward to a couple of nights away and our first impression on arrival from promising, the decor was lovely and day 1's reception staff were very welcoming. We were shown to our room and that should really have been all the there was to say! Unfortunately about 11pm that night we were woken by the sound of a water pump in the roof space that appeared to have a fault and caused the room to vibrate every 15-20 seconds, after 40 mins of hoping it would stop I went to see the night guard, he very kindly came to see our room and said it was best if we moved for the night, so at midnight in our PJ's we went to another room on the other side of the hotel and collapsed into the bed. We slept very soundly until 6.45 when an extractor fan kicked into life right outside the window, so we got up,went back to our original room and decided to go breakfast. Breakfast was superb, faultless and the staff very attentive. So a little bleary eyed we went about enjoying our day, having spoken to the reception staff we were persuaded to move yet again to another quieter room.

Our new room was much smaller, so we enquired as to if it was the same standard as the original room and told, yes! By this point the whole experience was beginning to grate on me, a rather crappy nights sleep, 3 room moves and thought of paying £100 a night for the experience, I was not impressed. I spoke to the receptionist, I explained that this was not really acceptable. We were not here on business, this should have been a rest for us, not to go home more exhausted than when we arrived. I asked for a partial refund on our first night and got the grand total of £20 off our bill and free upgrade if we come back! There is not a chance we will be back, £20 off our bill when all we wanted was a good night sleep, not much to ask for £100 a night room but at the Trout Hotel, and this member of staff, forget it!

Room Tip: Ask if your room is near any extractor fans or water pumps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night to access walking in the Lakes. The room was well presented and recently refurbished.
The breakfast was high quality and the standard of service was high.
Good value and worth a look if staying in cocker mouth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Took my wife away for her birthday without the little boy (he was at the inlaws). Hotel was recommended for the food and looking into it thought it was a lovely looking hotel.
Very pleasant. check in was a doddle and staff were happy to assist.
I asked for some ice for thr room and it was there within minutes, we arrived during a convention and it was really busy but staff were remarkable and this carried on into the evening when we went down to the bar/bistro for dinner.
Service was slower but more than happy to wait, food was good (recommend the nachos) and moderately priced, drinks on the other hand were a bit on the steep side (£5 for a Peroni)
Lovely comfortable beds and a great nights sleep.
Next day was spent exploring the west coast, make of this what you will!
On our return the was a wedding taking place at the next door church and reception in the hotel, again it was very busy, i asked for some ice, but it never came. I went back to reception as i knew they were busy and asked for it again and i waited this time so the receptionist didnt have to walk all the way back to our room.
That night the sleep wasn't as sound as the room above us was occupied and the floorboards are very creaky, so every movement was heard from 2 am onwards.

All in all a lovely hotel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have stayed at the trout hotel five or six times over the last couple of years and it is allways perfect the rooms faultless very very clean the beds pillows and bedding all wonderfull,Staff very good allways helpfull and polite and the food fantastic we have allways found the car park ok and have parked there every time and can not wait to go back very soon i hope well done to you all .ps i do miss the great breakfast !!!!

Room Tip: River view will be quieter but they are all good what we have stayed in .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Great exec room with post box views of the river through small windows 5 feet off the ground...would have expected decent windows to enjoy the view but alas no. That said the room was large and well equipped.

Car park was for sardines only, reception staff spot on.

The bed was absolutely awful...the bath was more comfortable. Thank god for the large TV....couldn't sleep on the concrete bed.

Can't comment on the evening meals as had a lovely meal at Carlins but the breakfast was pretty awful, the staff rude (how many staff at a supposedly high class hotel barge their way past guests ) and the breakfast arrangement poorly set out. the breakfast itself wouldn't have been out of place in a roadside caff...the ingredients were obviously high class but it was swimming in fat. My good lady had something a little different and it arrived literally just thrown on a plate...no presentation skills applied....might as well have come in a polystyrene box with plastic knives and forks.

Will we go again? Probably...everyone deserves a second chance and so many people recommend this place we must have been unlucky....but then again 1 in 20 reviewers agree....we'll see.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. We stayed in an executive suite and thought it was lovely. The room was spacious and very clean. The ensuite was spotless. The bed was so comfy we had the best sleep we've had in quite a while. Breakfast both mornings was delicious. Dinner in the Bistro on Saturday night was very relaxing and the food was lovely. The staff throughout our visit were very friendly and courteous.
The hotel was pretty full when we stayed - there was a large group of people staying for a "Bridge weekend" . In other hotels this might have meant bad service for the other residents but not at The Trout - we were looked after extremely well.

We will definitely be back - to the hotel and to Cockermouth itself - and Billy Bowman's music shop!! - what a character!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.