We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allerdale Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Allerdale Court Hotel to your Saves list
Allerdale Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Market Pl, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband & myself live locally & have had many meals here in the Carlin's bar & bistro.
Always very good food, very good service & the staff are always so helpful & friendly.
A great place for couples or families to stay.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    55
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
81
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Husband and I arrived in Cockermouth, looking for somewhere to stay, from the moment we entered this Hotel, there was a friendly atmosphere, so much so our one nights stay turned into two. The rooms were lovely, although slightly on the warm side for us, but hey it is difficult to get the temperature right even at home, when you live in the UK. The Food was lovely both at Breakfast and in the Bistro at night. If you are looking for a quiet evening meal, perhaps Friday is not the night for you, it was lovely however to see people having fun, ......... although perhaps a Tad noisy. There was a Big Bonus for us as we had planned to visit the Jennings Brewery, whilst there and discovered that it was only yards from the Hotel!! When we left I forgot to pack my phone charger, I called them a few days later to see if it had been found, it had and they posted it back to me. What a good service, very refreshing these days.

Room Tip: It is a little noisy if you are at the front on a Friday night, but lovely, well equipped clean room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Allerdale Court Hotel on the 24/08/2013 for two nights we enjoyed it very much ,friendly and helpful staff great breakfast sets you up for the day.The evening meal was very nice ,would suggest if you want to eat at the hotel book in advance.The hotel is very well located for touring the west side of the lakes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the street may be a bit noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The service and care given to our group of 12 was excellent. The hotel is ideally placed right in the centre of town. The breakfast is great! A more friendly bunch of staff you couldn't find anywhere. This is our annual golf trip to the lakes and we will definitely be booking the Allerdale Court for next year and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We decided to in Cockermouth for this years annual golf weekend and we weren't disappointed. Located right in the centre of town, very convenient for local pubs and restaurants. We ate at the Carlins Bistro which is part of the hotel, the service and value for money were fantastic. The breakfast is magnificent! I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hotel is right in the centre of Cockermouth town which is interesting to walk around and an easy drive to the Lakes. It was just right for us because as townies, we didn't want to stay in the middle of nowhere. My husband really liked the bar that you could sit and people watch and then go into Carlin's Bistro if you wanted. . It wasn't formal or stuffy, but relaxed and casual with friendly bar staff. All the staff were efficient giving you the impression that the hotel was very well run. Would recommend it to friends and stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are noisy at the weekend because of revellers but we had the window open on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We decided to have an overnight break in the lakes recently. We managed to get a room in this hotel at short notice and we weren't disappointed. The room we had was spacious and clean. It had been recently refurbished so all the amenities were of a high standard, including free wifi. We had dinner at the hotel because all the local restaurants were full. The meal was average but the service was good. The breakfast on the other hand was excellent. Parking was a tricky, although the bays outside the hotel are free in the evening and on Sundays. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale Court Hotel

Address: 20 Market Pl, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allerdale Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.