We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain walking weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Allerdale Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Allerdale Court Hotel to your Saves list
Allerdale Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Market Pl, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mountain walking weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed a Saturday night having walked/scrambled up Blencathra & Sharp Edge. Ideal location for walking. After 6pm you can park outside the hotel and Sunday is free, otherwise you will have find somewhere elsewhere to park...checking in was smooth with friendly polite staff who showed us to our rooom. We were in 225, which is in the front, it was a twin, however they had pushed the beds together but made the bed with king size bedding and neither fell in a gap that can occur !!! Spacious, spacious, spacious.....had everything from hair dryer to iron & board. Water & mints gratis & bathroom toiletries. Mattress comfortable, plenty of storage, spotlessly clean, everything worked !! plenty of sockets. Double sinks, corner bath and good shower pressure, no dripping taps !! Plenty of towels. Along with kettle tea & coffee only 2 milks, so only one drink each, had i realised would of asked for some more. If you are a light sleeper you could be woken by outside noise as only single pane glass !!! I would recommend & would stop again.

Room Tip: 225 (higher floor) no lift,is an Executive twin suite, overlooking the front, outside traffic/revell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    56
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
81
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here recently, we were made welcome from the start, rooms fantastic, breakfast fantastic, staff interested in making sure we enjoyed our stay and very helpfull at all times, we will be booking this one again ..

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at the Allerdale Court Hotel recently while visiting 'Woolfest 2012' and found the staff, food and room were excellent. The staff in particular went out of their way to make me feel welcome and although they were busy they made time to stop and make conversation. Thanks for an excellent stay, I will be booking again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

An absolutely excellent small pub / hotel. The building is interesting and quirky. The rooms generally fine (mine was absurdly small but this was reflected in the price). the food was very good and the staff were first-rate. We walked in at 7pm on a saturday night with no reservation and could not have been happier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We're just back from a lovely short break at this small family run hotel and we will return!

After an intial glitch over the room we had been allocated everything went very well. As other reviewers have said, the staff are all very friendly and efficient, and respond very quickly and positively to requests.

We ate in the retaurant both nights and the food was of very good quality and very fairly priced.
There is an excellent choice for breakfast and the eggs benedict are very good; at last a chef who can poach an egg properly! 3 choices of fresh fruit, and even a jug of smoothie.

It's good to be aware that not all the rooms have yet been refurbished and the first one we were shown was very drab, but we were quickly found a much better room , so all was well.
We booked via an on line booking website, but I suggest you book directly with the hotel as you are likely to get a better rate.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different so I suggest you check which room you are being offered to see if it mee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I was treated to a weekend break in an executive room at the Allerdale Court as a birthday suprise. We found the following positives;
Hotel staff very friendly.
Hotel clean and well situated
Room as described..light, clean, well decorated and equipped.
Food very good. We ate in the hotel on the Saturday and wished we had eaten there more often. Breakfast hot, quickly served and good selection.
We also found just a couple of small negatives;
Not enough towels, and towels supplied were just small. However when extras requested, brought to our room immediately.
Perhaps somewhere to put your shower gels and soaps as no soap dish in shower.
Overall we would recommend this hotel to all as the perfect place for a short break in the north lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedbergh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very convenient location in Cockermouth.
The room was very good although 'notascotsmiss' is right about the towels. The bar and restaurant were entirely ordinary. The locals recommended the nearby 'Bitter End' pub which we visited both nights.
The staff were the highlight. Really pleasant attitudes amde us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: 203 is the nearest and a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale Court Hotel

Address: 20 Market Pl, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allerdale Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.