We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Front Room

The Front Room
2 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
01900 826655
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 58 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Telephone Number:- 01900 826655
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We live locally and have been planning on going to this restaurant for ages, has been a bit difficult to arrange due to the fact that they are only open Thursday-Saturday evenings and not during the winter, and when they are open they seem to be fully booked but it was WORTH THE WAIT! The food was fantastic, unpretentious and delicious! We really enjoyed the evening. I would recommend the chicken and chorizo one pot! Recommend you book in advance.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“small portions big price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Its the only restaurant I could say that I have been to that the portions was that small and the price was that big you did not feel full when you came out we had to make sandwiches when we came home what a disappointment

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet, Cosy, Friendly, All relevant descriptions to apply to this Restraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The menu is varied, the cooking is without complaint, mine host is not overpowering in what is without doubt a smaller venue. More than one meal has been enjoyed here, and though its always best to book, you may be lucky if you turn up on the night, but don't count on it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Worth a visit if your in Cockermouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Ticked all the stars as I could not find a fault with the place. It is what it is and does it well. Food was good, service excellent and the small selection of drinks was adequate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Small, friendly restaurant with very well cooked and presented food. Hard to resist 3 courses! A gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Room also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to The Front Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Front Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.