We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Club Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice Club Indian Restaurant
25 Main Street, Cockermouth CA13 9LE, England
01900 828288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 58 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I took my dad as a treat and the meal was fantastic. The food was absolutely delicious and all the staff very welcoming and friendly. Decor is great too... with most indian restaurants you feel like you're sitting in your grandmas front room but this is all really clean and modern. Fantastic value for money too (40 pounds for popadoms, chutneys, 2 curries, 2 rice and 2 naans, plus a couple beers each).
Well worth the drive from whitehaven for, I wouldn't consider going anywhere other than here in future. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    59
    23
    10
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice Indian restaurant on the main street of Cockermouth. We hadn't booked but they managed to squeeze us in - though we only had an hour to eat! had lovely fish dish which I hadn't had before. Service was very efficient and waiters were curteous and polite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResearchTraveller
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very good indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

definitely well worth a positive review. Very welcoming, and a good wide but not excessive menu. On first glance it looked like a decent, but standard indian cuisine menu, but when it arrived, we reckoned it was a cut above other similar restaurants we'd eaten at. Really strong flavours and something about the way the dishes had been cooked - not as greasy as some curries can be, so we didn't end up feeling stuffed, and could enjoy how good it all tasted instead. Would definitely go back again if we are ever in Cockermouth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If you love a wide selection of Indian dishes this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our second visit to the area and here and it was even better than we remembered. Our first was just after the reopening in 2010 following the Cockermouth floods. The wide menu indicated the curry heat or the chilly level - we don't like them too hot so v helpful. I started with a King Prawn Puri - came in three layers of puri each filled with pawns and sauce - great. Janet had a Traditional Favourite Dupiaza and I went for a new one for me Zeera Peri - lovely chucks of chiken cooked with shahl cumin, spices and herbs. We both shared a Pilau rice and a Peshwari Nan. Portions were more than adequate and the freshly cooked food came nice and hot. Modern presentation on the table, Good selection of beers and wines and all staff friendly were well presented. They were nicely busy and looking around everyone was enjoying their evening. Lovely atmosphere - very good value. Definitely not for stag parties. Many thanks Jimmy and staff - a great family restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tastey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Best Indian food I have had in a long time so much flavour.service was fantastic and the restaurant was lovely.well priced and if you are looking for a great place to eat like we were then make sure you give it a go but book up as it can get busy and you won't be disappointed like the couple in front of us who didn't book and could not get in.trust me they missed out on a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Club Indian Restaurant also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Spice Club Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Club Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.