We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crow How Country Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crow How Country Guest House to your Saves list
Crow How Country Guest House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely guest house in a perfect and peaceful location. The owners have thought of everything and were very hospitable, friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and there was everything you could have needed including a selection of DVDs, games and books in the public areas. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of food and fresh fruit daily. Approximately 15 minute walk into Ambleside along a road with pavement (apart from the little lane to the house which had no through traffic). Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
170
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything about this Country House is top class. We stayed for four nights in the premier room (number 1) and it was just perfect. We could not find fault anywhere. Situation, cleanliness, food, accomodation, staff, comfort and facilities all deserve 10/10. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Ambleside during the Easter bank holiday weekend for some time away from home in a busy town. And it was lovely.
Crow How is a lovely hotel. If you are looking for traditional homely comforts in a quiet rural setting, look no further! The staff are so accomodating and will stop at nothing to meet your needs. For example, after booking we received an email advising us of our room number but after finding out this particular room did not have a bath, I emailed back and requested a room change. The same day, I received an email back telling me our room had been changed with an en-suit bathroom! I was very grateful because after walking/cycling around all day, a warm bath is just what you need! Room 8 was great with a huge comfy bed!
Breakfast is served between 8.30am - 9.30am and it is definately worth waking up early for! As well as options from a menu, you can help yourself to cereal, juice, fruit and yoghurts. I must also point out that on Easter Sunday morning, we found a Thorntons Easter egg on our table which shows how thoughtful the owners are!
The hotel shares a drive way with a neighbouring farm - including the sheepdogs which are loose. But the cows and sheep are just a nice reminder of the countryside setting and were no bother.
The hotel itself is a 10-15minute walk away from the town centre and I would suggest borrowing a torch from reception if walking to/from the hotel when its dark as there is no lighting on the driveway.
All in all, a lovely weekend away! Lovely location, hotel and people. It was my first time in the Lake District. Ambleside is just charming and close by to Windemere which is a bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which is a Superior room with a large 4 poster bed and bath/shower in the en-sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Crow How is one of the places to stay if visiting Ambleside. Situated just outside but within 15 minutes walk of the town, just far enough to be away from the busy little place, but within easy reach of the restaurants.
Nearly all the rooms have been redone to a high specification and Im sure all the rooms will be completed very soon. The rooms are large and fantastic bathrooms.
Well worth the stay.
Breakfasts are also worth staying there for.
We have stayed in nearly every room and will always come back to stay when visiting Ambleside.

Room Tip: Any room is worth staying in but try room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, everything is lovely from the setting to the fabulous room (room 4, premier room). We could not fault a thing. The bathroom is luxurious with the spa bath and the fabulous toiletries provided. The bedroom has a beautiful comfy super kingsize bed, bliss, and a fantastic view of the gardens and the surrounding hills, we really enjoyed watching the variety of birds visiting the bird tables in the garden and to make our stay even more perfect we awoke to snow on the Sunday morning. Fab breakfast to start the day, lovely warm, very spacious and comfortable room to relax in at the end. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Our review is, for various reasons, a little late as we stayed in June last year for two nights, but we wish to share our experience. The building is absolutely beautiful as is the setting. The setting is rural and our room, bedroom 1, a Premier room, had a superb view from the bay window over a very tranquil and very green countryside scene, complete with ducks, sheep, cows and rabbits, that is so much a part of this beautiful area. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and we were able to walk easily (15-20 minutes) into Ambleside for other meals and needs. There is a bar service available so you can take drinks to your room if you wish or have drinks with the hosts. There is also a beautiful garden available for a relaxing stroll. Overall, this is a very comfortable and impressive place to stay.

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 is large with a large bathroom and is very comfortable with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from this lovely guest house/hotel for my birhday weekend, I cannot recommend it enough! On arrival we were thriled at the location of the hotel.Set in the fells & very peaceful we were greeted warmly & promptly shown to our room. We had asked for a superior room with a bath & it was a lovely room. Spotlessly clean, everything gleamed & spacious. Lovely soft white sheets & ample fluffy white towels. A good range of teas, coffee & hot chocolate plus biscuits. It was a very cold weekend with light snow but the rooms & dining room nice & warm. After a mountain climb to return to the cosy room & a hot bath was just what we needed. Ambleside is a 10 min stroll to go & eat so perfect for us, although there is plenty of parking if you want to drive. There is a very cosy guest lounge with a log fire to return to, wonderful. The staff are more than helpful/ friendly & so welcolming & breakfast is superb! Will be returning! Thank you Crow How.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crow How Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crow How Country Guest House

Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crow How Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a stunning rural setting in the historic Rydal Valley amidst the fells, this grand Victorian building was built as a farm house in 1848 from the stones of ancient Rydal Hall, before being converted into a Country Guest House in the early 1930's. Set in our own 2 acre gardens Crow How has been sympathetically renovated to provide you with a perfect base to explore the beautiful Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crow How Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crow How Country House Hotel Ambleside
Crow How Country Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crow How Country Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.