We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, very warm hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lattendales

Lattendales
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lattendales
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 82 Ambleside B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, very warm hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Spent a Saturday night at Lattendales and secured their last room! Great welcome, lovely room with a great view of Loughrigg. Good breakfast and a comfortable night's sleep. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely: at the back of the house at the top. Good view, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MERSEYSIDE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

What a friendly little b and b in a fabulous central location ;once we parked our car in the near by car park with the free permit mike gave to us on arrival ;we never used the car again on three day stay . some fabulous walks from the town centre try the grassmere circular brill all in all would definately return .

Room Tip: all rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We like to visit ambleside at least once per year and its always Lattendales we stay, its a first class welcome we get, Doreen & Mike are always available to help, nothing too much trouble, great breakfasts and tastefully decorated rooms, position is ideal for all Ambleside shops/restaurants/walks and parking permits are part of the deal, next time we visit its going to be lattendales again, we know what we get and its quality

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lattendales is a great little B and B. I visited Ambleside with my partner and mother and we had two doubles on the first floor. Both rooms were tastefully decorated and were spotlessly clean, I had booked a single for my mother but was given a double with no extra charge as it was empty. The lakeland teas were good and the bath gel and shampoos were not cheap and nasty, cotton wool was also provided .There are hair dryers supplied, plenty of hot water and warm rooms.
On the down side, the bed was a tad on the cramped side for a 5ft 10 woman and a 6 ft 2 man although I was informed its a standard double, it was firm however. It was perfectly situated in the town centre close to two cinemas, a plethora of shops and oodles of great places to eat and drink. We can recommend Matthews Bistro only a stones throw away. It was a quiet April weekend when we visited however I can imagine in peak season its location may be a little noisy as it is on a small but main road into Ambleside. like most of the hotels in ambleside we had to book for 2 nights rather than one.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. We were given a Parking permit for the entire of our stay for a local long stay car park, this is a definite plus as there is no on road parking as it is all permit holders and resident parking.
Breakfast was hearty and consisted of local produce. A healthy option was available.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the street and it had a bath. The other double on this floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently stayed in the guest house and really enjoyed our stay. The location is superb as is the hearty full english brekkie which sets you up for the day! Doreen was extremely friendly and accommodating and gave us some really good advice when it came to walks and local restaurants. We had a lovely room (modern decor, extremely clean and modern en-suite bathroom) at the back of the guest house which offers a great view of Loughrigg. Overall, we would highly recommend a stay at Lattendales, it offers an excellent base for walks and in our opinion is very good value for money. Should we go back to Ambleside then we will definitely return to Lattendales!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We would thoroughly recommend this B&B as it is central to Ambleside, walking distance to restaurants, cinema and even Windemere lake.

Breakfast are great the full English was cooked to perfection and on the second day I opted for the homemade muesli and fresh fruit salad, gorgeous!

Clean and comfy bedroom with all the usual extras provided, ours had a bath, a rarity in B & B’s these days. A must for our tired legs!

Lots of help with maps on offer along with detailed information for walks, the recommendations were perfect for us (we’re not big walkers!!)

An added bonus was the use of the parking permit which we used in Ambleside and Grasmere, saved us a fortune!

It’s definitely one place we highly recommend. We’ll be booking again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in October and were very happy with the location, room, excellent breakfasts and helpful service from the owners, Doreen & Mike.
They even lent us a map and walking guide which we used to climb the hill (Loughrigg) behind the guest house, something we would not usually do, great views over Ambleside and down the lake!
Ambleside has loads of places to eat, Doreen sent us to Fellini's (vegetarian food and cinema) and the Glass House, both excellent.
All in all Lattendales is a great place to stay, one to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lattendales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lattendales

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lattendales 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lattendales in the heart of beautiful Ambleside.A small friendly guest house with en-suite bedrooms.We serve a hearty full English and vegetarian breakfasts or lighter options of muesli, fresh fruit and yoghurt.Centrally located and ideal for walking or touring. Many picturesque walks from the door step !Free Parking via permit for village car park. Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lattendales Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lattendales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lattendales to your Saves list