We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterwheel Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
Save
You added The Waterwheel Guesthouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 84 Ambleside B&B and Inns
manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

best b&b weve stayed in. couldnt get a better location, cosey well looked after cottage, spotlessley clean! couldnt get any cleaner. Gorgeous breakfast especially loved the crispy fried bread. lovely fresh coffee too. Loads of hot water for a big bubbly bath after long day out, toiletries included! Nice welcoming down to earth people, i would deffinatly recommend and go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
124
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Booked at Nigel and Julie's B&B because of previous reviews and we weren't' disappointed . They are charming and helpful hosts, the lovely rooms are spotless, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is central and after our first long walk, it was nice to come back to a glass of port and slice of chocolate cake, which is a nice touch. Definately recommend and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at the Waterwheel. We chose it based on the other excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we are more than happy to add our names to the list of satisfied customers!

Firstly, the location couldn't be better. It's right in the heart of Ambleside, so you are within a minute or two of all the wonderful restaurants, cafes, pubs and shops. Despite this, it is really quiet and perfect for relaxing after a long day of hiking. We stayed in the Stock Ghyll room, the one with a view across the stream to the waterwheel.

Nigel and Julie are excellent hosts. As well as starting your day with a fantastic (and filling!) breakfast, they provide lots of nice little touchs (homemade cake in the room on arrival, for example). They are also a great source of advise on the local area, whether you want tips on walks or where to eat.

There is no need to worry about parking, you will be provided with a permit for the main Ambleside car park (also only as minute or two away) for the duration of your stay.

Thanks to Nigel and Julie for making it an enjoyable stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frizington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Myself and my husband have just been on holiday for a few days to this quaint little guesthouse.
The position is perfect right next to the river and the waterwheel. Hosts were perfect. As we are in our eighties they couldn't have done more. Giving us blankets and sheets instead of a duvet, bottle of wine and perfect hospitality. We found our room slightly small BUT the bathroom was large which to us was better. It is a 400 year old converted twin cottages. Beautiful.
Handy for Ambleside and its many attractions. Ideal if you don't want to walk to far or have walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Any are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Stockghyll room and couldn't have been happier! The location was very central, but still quiet, and the room was charming, with a lovely view of the old waterwheel. There was plenty of space, and a huge bathroom. Nigel and Julie provided lots of little extras, like port and cake, and were superb hosts. Breakfast was first class too. This was a wonderful place to stay in a delightful town. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A beautiful grade 2 listed building. We stayed in the stockphygll room which looked out onto the river and waterwheel. We slept with our windows open and you could hear the running water from the river......magical. The owners are incredibly friendly and breakfast was delicious. The hidden extras included scrummy port and homemade cake, alongside a great selection of filter coffee and teas. Location was excellent, they give you a free free permit for the nearby car park. Don't expect to park your car ina central location at the doorstep of the hotel. We were recommended a local walk from Ambleside to loughrigg.....beautiful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay in the Stockgyll room. Lovely spotless room complete with home made cakes !! The room had a nice deep bath ideal after a days walking, with limitless hot water.
A warm welcome and great, friendly atmosphere. Julie and Nigel could not have been more helpfull with advice on walking routes and places to eat.
The B&B is in the centre of Ambleside but without any traffic noise.
Anyone looking for a place to stay in Ambleside could not find better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterwheel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterwheel Guesthouse

Address: 3 Bridge Street, Ambleside LA22 9DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterwheel Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Grade II Listed building sits on an ancient cobbled street overlooking Stockghyll stream. All the shops and restaurants of Ambleside are a short stroll. There are just 3 bedrooms, all doubles, each with a Victorian style iron bedstead. Each room has its own bathroom with a bath, under floor heating and heated towel rail. Victorian landscape prints, original slate floors and quality antique furniture all add to the historic and charming atmosphere. A parking permit for the nearby car park is provided.Please note, there is a 2 night minimum stay at weekends and 3 nights minimum on bank holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waterwheel Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterwheel Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.